Sewn Baby Gift Ideas and Tutorials

My blog friend, Tracey, asked if I had any ideas on what to sew for a new baby.  Although I have lots of ideas for great gifts, I have to keep it simple as there are not enough hours in the day to keep up with all the new babies being born around me…LOL!

When I have to make quick baby gifts, I tend to do a lot of embroidery and embellishing.  I’ll do lots of onesies, burp cloths, bibs, diaper covers and blankets.

autumn1 

DCBPa1

laceset2i

bibtatted2

laceset1j

bibcupcake1e

burpdiva1b

retroblue1d

hpt1

dcpumpkin3h

 

000_2197

CIMG0834

madidots2

georgiaheadbands

georgiaburp

sara3

li6

panttutorialmain

Baby Gift Tutorials

childtop

Child Top Tutorial from JCarolineCreative

finishedstocking

Christmas Stocking Tutorial from About.com

Baby Shoes from Stardust Shoes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Floppy Hat Tutorial from Everything Sewing

twirly

Twirly Skirt Tutorial from Going Sew Crazy

Booties_07

Heather Bailey’s Bitty Booties Tutorial

sheet01

Fitted Sheet Tutorial from And Sew It Is

Bib, Booties and Blanket Tutorials from New Conceptions

softshoes

Soft Shoes Tutorial from On Pins and Needles

onesiedress

Onesie Dress Tutorial from Bellaluna on Craftster

reversiblebonnet

Reversible Baby Bonnet by Ammasmama on Craftster

ruffleypatchwork

Ruffle Patchwork Dress Tutorial by Tuff as Snails on Craftster

handmadedress

Handmade Dress Tutorial from MamaCaffee

peasant

Peasant Shirt Tutorial from Just Tutes

babyhatfeelers

Baby Hat with Feelers from Alisek on Craftsters

easiestbabyhat

Easiest Baby Hat Ever by Kakariki on Craftster

hoodedtowels

Hooded Towel Tutorial by MyLovelyBabyBump on Craftster

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hairbow Tutorial by SRKmoore

More Hairbow Tutorials

Lots of Free Baby Patterns

DiaperBagPattern-1

Diaper Bag Tutorial from Bundles of Love

babyquilt

Baby Quilt Tutorial from Burda Style

Guess I better get back to work on the many baby gifts I need to get finished…LOL!  Happy Sewing!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. OH WOW! Okay, I don’t know where to start. I want to do them all. It’s a good thing I have four (yeah, that right, I said four) embroidery machines; and I will be running them all at the same time. I probably should have waited until I got home to look at your blog, because now I want to leave work and start sewing. Thank you soooo much Lisa. I really appreciate your gracious generousity.

    Tracey – helping to mold the next generation of divas.

  2. nice!

  3. Lisa–you are a fountain of knowledge! I love making baby gifts and I love reading your blog. I’m officially delurking! I saw you post it a while ago on an ebay board so now I’m officially letting you know that I’m a faithful reader in South Carolina! Thanks for always sharing the tips and tricks that you and for sharing the coolest stuff! I have a long list of baby stuff that I need to make in the next month so I’ll be bookmarking this entry!
    Anne

  4. Glad you like it Tracey! Enjoy!

    Hi Anne! Welcome! Don’t be a stranger!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  5. i love the gift items you have posted here! 🙂 i want to try making booties and underwears with ribbons… they’re just too cute 🙂 how did u start sewing? i want to learn as well 🙂

  6. Hey CJ…I started sewing about 5 or 6 years ago. Even though my mom has sewn all my life, she moved away and I ended up teaching myself. The most important thing I can suggest is to READ, READ and READ some more.

    There are great sewing instructions on the internet and in the bookstore. Take a look at Sewing for Dummies and the Reader’s Digest Sewing Book…both are wonderful books to get you started. Good luck!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  7. I am soooo happy that I found this site. I am just starting to experiment with different patterns and such and just love this site. Thank you sooooo much!

  8. I would love to know the origin of the monogram design for the Bella panties. I have never seen this and it is very cute. Thanks for all the great info on your blog. pewa

  9. Pewa…here you go:

    Valentine’s Day Machine Embroidery

    HTH

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Trackbacks

  1. […] came across this post – Sewn <b>Baby</b> Gift Ideas and Tutorials – and thought it was worth sharing. I hope you find it interesting too and take the time to read […]

Leave a comment