Sew Gifts for a new Baby Boy – Bibs, Burp Cloths, Blankets, Clothing and More

BabyGarritano

Sewing for a new girl is so much easier than a boy.  So I figured I’d share some ideas on simple sewing projects to put together a great baby boy gift basket.

Boy Fabrics

boyprints 001

Gone are the days of being limited to bright primary colors and clown prints for boys.  When making gifts for a new baby boy, I choose either a base color of black or brown and then pick fabric prints to coordinate.  Here are some great prints I ordered online at the recent Fabric.com children’s print sale.

boyprints 004

Black Color Base

 CX4867_Charcoal CX4871_Black geeksgonewildpacman geeksgonewildspaceinvaders  CX4061_Black CX4388_Spice MMDC3893_BlackPPKAHERGYEMMCX4061_LagoonMMCX4388_TurqMMCX4305_TurqMMCX4376_Lagoon  MMCX2897_LagoonMMCX2897_Gray MMCX4253_LagoonMMCX3137_LagoonMMCX3755_StoneMMDC4133_LimeMMDC3890_AquaPPMMDC4159_Blackpp MMDC4151_BlackPPMMDC4153_GrayPPMMDC4153_BlackPP MMCX3745_Clementine CX4759_Brown CX4767_Black CX4892_Haze CX4869_Haze gail-c8397-multi  ETK-11005-49

Brown Color Base

AAK-11270-237 AAK-11271-167 ACY-10753-169 ALP-10770-169 MMCX1500_SpaMMCX3295_SkyMMCX2732_AquaAAK-10392-167 RKAMN-9873-193Z RKAMN-9871-193Z  CI2897_Boy KNIT CX4528_Linen  AAK-11271-167 EIP-11018-215CX4529_Linen EIP-11174-167 AIT-11860-169 ALP-11341-192 AKQ-11539-16 AKQ-11547-16

So, let’s start by figuring out what type of items to put in your baby boy basket.  The possibilities are endless—you’re only limited by your fabric stash and your time.  Here’s some ideas:

BURP CLOTHS

millie7

There are a several different kinds of burp cloths you can make.  I’ve made them all.  However,  this tutorial is by far my favorite.

Bottom Band

Crap I’ve Made Boutique Burp Cloth Tutorial

Fabric Covered

Prudent Baby’s DIY Burp Cloths

Center Band

Chickpea Sewing Studio Burp Cloth Tutorial

Diary of a Quilter Burp Cloth Tutorial

Just Another Hang Up Easy Burp Cloths

Fat Quarter Burp Rags by Diamonds, Fur and Laundry

burpcloth

A while back, I came up with an idea for a better burp cloth.  I drew out the pattern, but never tried it.  I’m lazy like that.  Perhaps you can use it and then patent it.

bucketburpees

Oh, and how clever is See Kate Sew’s Bucket O’ Burpees?  Love it!

BIBS

jakebib1

Bib come in so many different shapes and styles.  There are small teething bibs, large square bibs, and appliqué bibs.  Also there are several ways to fasten bibs—tie strings, snaps, buttons, and Velcro.  Or you can simple make one that slips over the baby’s head with either ribbed knit fabric or enclosed elastic.  When I’m pressed for time, I just embroider cute sayings on purchased blank bibs I pick up at the discount children’s store.

bibtatted2 

However, when I have to do something for a special occasion (such as a Christening), I take out the silk shantung fabric…even if it’s for a boy…LOL!

Tipnut’s Baby Bib Patterns and Tutorials

appliqued-baby-bibs-free-pattern 

Appliquéd Bibs from a Spoonful of Sugar

bib 

Lots of Pink Here’s Boutique Style Bib Tutorial

bibtut 

Sew She Sews Bib Tutorial

Zaaberry’s Scrappy Bib

Just Another Hang Up’s Pocket Bib

Catch-All Laminated Bib by Make It and Love It

Bapron (Baby Apron) from Craftiness is Not Optional

Easy Make – Easy Clean Bib from Sew Can Do

Fold n Go Travel Bib from B is for Boy

BLANKETS

Three Blankets from Sew4Home

Simply Blanket from Feathered Nest

Monogrammed Baby Blanket with Mitered Corners from Pink Suede Shoe

CLOTHING

Crap I’ve Made Appliqué Onesie

Baby Sleep Sack from Running with Scissors

Perfect Diaper Cover from MADE by Rae

Little Gentleman’s Faux Vest Onesie from B is for Boy

DIY Necktie Onesie from Haute Apple Pie

Newborn Overalls from Mad Quilter

Top Knot Baby Hat from Prudent Baby

DIY John John from Growing Home

Reversible John John from Growing Home

Baby Kimono Wrap from Bettsy Kingston

ACCESSORIES

Binky Clip Tutorial from Baby Night Night Boutique

Binky Clip Tutorial from Creations by Kara

Binky Leash from Sew4Home

Pacifier Clip from MADE by Rae

Changing Pad Cover from Prudent Baby

Changing Pad and Wipes Holder from Cluck, Cluck, Sew

Simple Changing Pad from Blissfully Content

Infant Scratch Mittens from Home Sweet Homebodies

jakebasket

Hope this gives you some ideas for the boys!  Now get sewing!

With Friendship,

lisa2

Comments

  1. That’s a great idea!

  2. Lisa, this is so timely for me right now. My brother just told me that he and his wife are expecting, and they think it’s going to be a boy – which could be wrong of course, but had me worried because I normally only sew for girls. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Hey Carol! Congrats!!! There really is so much you can make for baby boys. So when are you coming back to NYC…I’m missing your delicious cream puffs!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  4. I’ll have to express you a box, I won’t be back soon enough to satisfy your cravings, LOL!

  5. Woo Hoo!!!

  6. I just made an adorable pair of baby shoes, like Robeeze style, from a tutorial at starlightshoes (I think; I don’t have it bookmarked on this computer). Adorable!
    I also think baby slings/carriers are a great “boy” gift; a ring sling or mei tai is easy to make and so useful!

  7. Awesome Tracy! I’ve used (and linked) Starlight’s shoes tutorial a while back! Great tutorial! Great idea about the slings…super easy to make and every new mom loves them! Happy Sewing! With friendship, Lisa

  8. they are super cute…

  9. I love the pattern. These are really great gift ideas. Thanks for sharing, I appreciate it.

Trackbacks

  1. Bought A Diva Babies Bib Sewing Pattern

    […] occasion (such as a Christening), I take out the silk shantung fabric…even if […]

  2. […] Sew Gifts for a new Baby Boy – Bibs, Burp Cloths … – Sep 23, 2011 · Sewing for a new girl is so much easier than a boy. So I figured I’d share some ideas on simple sewing projects to put together a great baby boy gift basket…. […]

  3. […] Sew Gifts for a new Baby Boy – Bibs, Burp Cloths … – Sep 23, 2011 · Sewing for a new girl is so much easier than a boy. So I figured I’d share some ideas on simple sewing projects to put together a great baby boy gift basket…. […]

Leave a comment