Sew Strapping

Sew Mama Sew’s Handmade Holiday starts our Saturday off with Day 10 – Ties and Belts!  Head on over there and get sewing!  Hmmm…being that I will have some nice button-down collared shirts in my upcoming wholesale boys’ clothing line, now I’m wondering if perhaps I should also add a few neckties…

Belts are a whole ‘nother subject…when someone says, “belt,” I immediately think of the threat of a Cat o’ Nine Tail.  Never was I the recipient of such a beating (nor did we own one).  However, as a child, my parents’ threats kept me in line (well, most of the time).

Additional Tie and Scarf Tutorials

tiesamhober

Sam Hober’s Necktie Instructions

tieben 

Ben Fold Seven’s Tie Tutorial

scarfnoknit

DIY’s Machine Sewn Scarf

scarfwoven

DIY’s Woven Scarf

scarfshaggy

DIY’s Shaggy Scarf

scarfscrap

Family Girl’s Scrap Scarf

Additional Belt Tutorials

beltjcaroline

J. Caroline Creative’s Grosgrain Ribbon Belt

beltgold

Bellalugosi’s Quick Elastic Belt Idea on Craftzine

beltfabricflower

Benedikta’s Fabric Flower Belt on BurdaStyle

beltbutton

Craftlog’s Button Belt

beltribbon

Needlebook’s Ribbon Belt

And for the Indie crowd:

beltseat

Industructables’ Seat Belt Belt

How to Make Belt Loops from eHow.com

Back to the Sewing Room

Today I’m going to skip the idea of making any belts or ties as I have other requests from my unrelenting darling son…another Jedi cape–of course with hood and sleeves!  Oh, and I thought the Star Wars’ figurines were 5 inches…but no…they’re only 3 3/4 inches…ugh, ugh, ugh!!!  After that I plan to finish a waistband on a skirt and perhaps revisit the dreaded silk baby jacket.  And tonight I REALLY need to tidy up my sewing room–or else Clean Sweep will be making a visit!

Happy Sewing!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. Thanks for all the additional tutorials. This whole thing is such a great idea!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Scroll down to the very end. If you’re interested in how to make neckties, here’s what she found. Neither method is the way I do it. I don’t, officially, know how to make them, just what […]

Leave a comment