Martha Stewart – A True Domestic Diva

Yesterday Diana and I drove into the city to be audience members at The Martha Stewart Show.  Well, the things that can go wrong usually do whenever I make plans.  First, Mr. Diva wakes up sick with a bad sinus infection, then my daughter’s school calls to tell us she has another migraine headache and needs to be picked up and lastly, I can’t find Mr. Diva’s secretary to pick up my son after school…UGH!

martha1

Nothing was stopping me (and lucky I found Mr. Diva’s secretary and she took care of everything…yeah Carol!)  With traffic and potholes, it took us less than 30 minutes to get there from Staten Island (one of the 5 boroughs of NYC).

martha2

Martha’s studio is right around the corner from The Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT).  I’ve been meaning to sign-up for some Continuing Education classes this year, but keep forgetting!

martha3

Well, to say Martha Stewart is larger than life is an understatement!  She’s a brave woman to do a huge billboard of herself.

martha4

Anyway, after waiting outside the studio in the cold rain for more than an hour, we get our show tickets and are upgraded to VIP Seating as promised (notice the blue line?).

martha5

The staff put us in a Briefing Room where we are given questionnaires, releases and raffles. 

We were asked to come up with questions specific to the Mother’s Day theme they were filming.  There were bottled water and homemade cookies for us, but for some reason no one would dare touch them.  So, in typical New Yorker style, I got up and helped myself.  Soon the heard (other audience members) followed my lead.

My question was, “Martha, as this will be your first Mother’s Day without your Mom (her Mom passed away in November), how do you plan to keep her wonderful memory alive?”  Well, my question got me a “star.”  A star would mean that you were selected to ask Martha your question on camera.

Diana, not to be outdone by me, also got a star for her question:  “This will be the first Mother’s Day my Mom and I are living in different states.  How can we both celebrate Mother’s Day?” or something to that effect.

marthajoe

More entertaining than any of Martha’s guests, was Joe of Crowd Control.  He was simply a riot!

martha6

Martha’s Craft Studio was beautiful (but much smaller than my studio).  However, I noticed she copied my pink boxes (see below).  I spoke with one of her staff about this and they laughed as they knew it was probably true.  They admitted the pink boxes were most likely empty and just used for stage props.

marthapinkboxes

First Martha and Melissa Errico made Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake (she gave us her new CD, Lullabies & Wildflowers…if you want it it for free, just post in the Comments section below and I’ll mail it to you).  She’s the wife of tennis star Patrick McEnroe (who also made a guest appearance).  Melissa was adorable…a definite disaster in the kitchen!

martha7

Jacques Torres then made an incredible chocolate purse filled with chocolate shaped lipsticks, makeup compacts, etc.  Pretty cool! (Jacques, feel free to send one to my Mom…she’d just love it!)

Diana and I never got to ask our questions (my question was completely forgotten about while Diana was prepped by the staff to ask her question) as Martha got a bit weepy when they showed a tribute to her Mom at the end of the show.

I must say that Martha Stewart is beautiful in person.  She looks years younger than her age.

Diana and I had a wonderful time.  But the best of all was every studio audience member was given a Flip Video Camera and some delicious Jacques Torres’ chocolate!  I’m already playing around with the video camera as it is so easy to use!  Soon I’ll be the You Tube Diva…haha!  And half of the chocolate is already gone!

oh, and I thought my fellow fabric hoarders would find this amusing:

Martha organizes her Fabric Stash

Hope everyone’s day is off to a great start!

marthadiva

(only kidding Martha!)

lisa 

Comments

  1. Oh how funny! Martha organizes her fabric just like I do!

    HA! I won’t even go there….

  2. Oh, Im jealous. Ive been sporadically applying for tickets to her show since it started and I never get them. Come on now, Im a crazy Marthaphile!

  3. Oh I’m so jealous! Sounds like you had a great time. Maybe I’ll tell my husband that’s what I want as my present. Tickets to Martha. I would love the CD if it’s still available. I think my daughter would love it.

  4. Oh, I’m so envious!!! I love Martha and would love to go to her show. My boss and I have talked about it, but that’s about as far as it has gotten.

    Thanks so much for sharing your visit and your pictures. 🙂

  5. no kidding, Carrie? ROTFL

    Mrs. L…they’ve stopped giving out tickets until August for the next season. Just keep applying. I didn’t have any trouble getting tickets.

    Kim…just email me at domesticdiva@si.rr.com with your full name and mailing address so i can pop the CD into the mail for you!

    Waving at my beloved gal, Lynn…oh please come visit!!!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  6. i would love to hear the songs please, i like to watch martha, i was behind her 100% all the way

  7. I’m glad that you had such a good time at the taping of Martha’s show. It’s always nice to have a fun day. 🙂

  8. What fun! I’m glad all the crises were taken care of and you were still able to go! Have fun with your new toy!

  9. Sounds like you had a fun day!

  10. What an amazing opportunity!

  11. justmyrinda says:

    oh how fun Lisa!!! I have one of those flip cameras-LOVE IT!
    And whatev Martha on the fabric…I guess it’s easy to organize when you have a live in housekeeper, an assistant and a huge roll of butcher paper 😉

  12. How much fun!!!!!!!!! Love the pics!!!!!!

  13. Seriously Lisa you should have your own show ……..you should call it ” the Domestic Diva Experience ” . I bet you could get Martha AND OHHHHPRAH on ……at the same time !

    I might come and do a little nutso couch jumping ….
    🙂

    Sue

  14. OK I have to know …what are these little boxes next to our posts …….are they like secret Diva code language in favicons ?

    If so , what does my favicon say about me ?

  15. YEP that must be it , since Im getting the same one ….time after time .

  16. Okay then why is MY favicon the only one with EMPTY BLOODY SPACE IN THE MIDDLE ???

    HUH ? WHat are you trying to tell me ?

  17. Oh, I wish I could have accompanied you!!!! I would have had to ask her where she came up with the idea of the beautiful pink boxes..hehe..
    Michelle

  18. It’s truly enjoyable reading about your experience at the recording. I’ve always been wondering about all that behind-the-camera happenings.

  19. Oh I’m so jealous! Sounds like you had a great time. Three years ago.My daughters and I would love to get to go. I would love the CD if it’s still available.

Leave a comment