New Alexander Henry Fabrics and a Fabric Dilemma

While at the LA International Fabric Show (TALA), I stopped in the Alexander Henry Fabric Suite and snapped some photos of their upcoming line:

ahcars

 AHskulls

ahcottonbuds

ahdots

AHdressforms

ahsewing

ahseamstress

I think I preordered these:

AHchains

AHexclamgreen

ahexclamorange

ahexlamblack

And here are some photos of the yarn dye bottom weight fabrics I was talking about.  They come as the lightest color in the photo and then I have to over dyed the fabrics to the various colors I’ll be using:

yarndyecorfu

yarndyehoundstooth

yarndyepreppy

Guess what?  I located that cool skateboard print in both color ways:

SkateboardTricks0862.spo000196

skateboardunknown

It’s a print from last year by a company out in California.  My dear friend, Carol (aka JustKidd’n) called her friend at the company and they have 200 – 300 yards left of each.  It obviously will not be reprinted.  Not sure what to do.  When buying fabric for production (manufacturing), you are only supposed to buy what you have orders for.  You purchase your sample yardage (usually 5 to 10 yards), make your sales samples, take orders at the trade shows and then order fabric based on what you took orders for…get it?

So what do you do when you come across a discontinued print you MUST HAVE?  Do you take it all (200 – 300 yards of each color way) or perhaps 100 yards of one color way?  And do you buy BOTH color ways? Ugh!  Any thoughts?

I’ll post tomorrow about my AWESOME day as an audience member of the Martha Stewart Show…boy, it was a BLAST!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. I just had to deal with this issue myself. And, I was at the Textile Show too – but what’s with all the Alexander Henry fabrics that they were showing, but have been discontinued? Why do they still show them if they are out of print? I was so aggravated with them I didn’t order anything – I don’t feel like they are reliable at all.

    Anyway, back to your dilemma: I had the same issue with some fabric I fell in love with. Personally, I moved on to something newer and safer. BUT, I did consider buying all that was left of it to make a “limited production”, and that’s something you could do if you only wanted 100 yards or so.

    I don’t think there’s a right answer – it’s all about what your comfort level is!

  2. I love AH fabric!🙂 I am envious that you were in the original ‘Diva’s’ audience! Glad you had a great time!

  3. Well, if you simply must have the discontinued fabric…buy it all!😉

    Glad you had a good time at the taping of Martha’s show.🙂

  4. Here is what I do: I say it takes about a yard per garment (of course this isn’t actually true but it works for me). Then I try and figure out how many units of that garment I might sell. So lets say you were making shirts out of that garment and you have 7 sizes. So if you sold 70 units (10 of each size) you would need 70 yards. Personally I buy 150 yards and cross my fingers. This gives me enough for samples and some orders and if it sells out, then I think it looks good to buyers and lets them know they need to order your line sooner then later ’cause the good stuff goes fast.

  5. Ohhhhhh. Those prints are so fun. I’m going to have to get my hands on a lot of them!

  6. Thanks for sharing the pics.
    There are a few of those I would really like to get my hands on.

  7. HEE..Heee.. I just read your other post. Cidell and I must be on the same lines of thinking. I wrote almost the same thing before I even hers.🙂

  8. Lisa,
    We have come across this this many times…and…if you really love it, and the price is right, I would buy it and put it in your line as a “Limited Edition”…I find these things can go either way…. they either sell out and leave buyers wanting more from you next season….because you are Oh SO Awesome! ….or you get stuck with it. I would make sure that no other kids line had it this year(or it will be perceived as “old”), and go from there…of course if you have a Crystal Ball you can use that(and I’d love to borrow it when you’re done…LOL). Sometimes you just have to go with your GUT….although my DH hates that….even if I’m usually right(men don’t get the “gut” thing….I think they use up their energy in other places!).

    Hey did you decide if you are doing the aug Childrens Club? I posted on that a while ago…not sure if you saw it. We’re doing the Las Vegas show….it was much better for us last year.

    Good luck! kim

  9. I am doing my sons room in a skateboard theme and there are very few prints to choose from. He really liked the blue and black color print you have. anyway I could buy 10-12 yards from you?
    Cheryl

  10. Kim…I really must give you a call, cause I’d love to chat with you. You have a fanastic company!

    Cheryl…here ya go: http://cgi.ebay.com/8-66-yards-Skateboard-Skateboards-Sateboarding-Fabric_W0QQitemZ120278077909QQihZ002QQcategoryZ71211QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    with friendship,
    Lisa

  11. Hi,

    I just love that skateboard print. Do you know of anywhere I could get just a yard of it? Thanks!

    Crystal

  12. How do I get some of the blue skate board print. Or if it is in green would be better.

    Janie

  13. I was able to get both Out of Print colorways several years ago. It’s impossible to find. I think Hoffman made it.

Leave a Reply

