Sew Another Pillow

josiepillow7

Don’t laugh…I’ve got my sewing mojo back.  I just have to keep going or I’ll never get done with my Godchild’s new bedding.

josiepillow3

I found this baby pink ruffle knit fabric in my stash and thought it would make a cute pillow.  This pillow would be 16 inches and knowing it was very stretchy, I cut the fabric 15 inches by 30 inches.  Now, you’re wondering why I didn’t just cut two 15 inches squares, right?  Well, I want to make it easier to line up the ruffles.  So it would make sense to just fold the fabric in half width wise, run just one side seam.  Wouldn’t it be easier to only have to match up one side of the fabric?  Does that make sense?

josiepillow4

First I wrapped the fabric around the pillow form and pulled it tight to double check my measurements.  I have a habit of screwing things up by a few inches.

josiepillow5

Then I placed the right sides together.

josiepillow6

Next, I pinned each individual ruffle together in hopes of them lining up at the seam.  Go luck with that.  LOL

josiepillow8

Then you serge your seam and don’t realize your serger needle unthreaded until you go to sew the next seam.  Then you spend the next 20 minutes trying to rethread your serger needle, because you’re left-handed and half-blind.  Crap.

josiepillow9 

Turn it right-side out to check the fit.  Guess the point of pinning each individual ruffle was in vain.  Such is life.

josiepillow11

Now turn in inside out and pin the remaining open edge.  Stitch a straight seam leaving at least 3 5 inches for turning and pillow form insertion.

josiepillow12

Insert pillow form and stitch up the opening.  Done.

Now onto the doll cradle bedding…

lisa

Comments

  1. That’s the way I do it all the time!!!! ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I had a wee giggle when I saw the unmatching bits. I have some very similar fabric and did the same thing, pinned it all so well, and out it came mismatched.

    But oh my gawd, what an absolutely BRILLIANT idea. I’d never thought of using that type of fabric for cushions. Can’t wait to see the cradle bedding.🙂

  3. I LOVE it! I can’t even imagine your sewing not being 100% dead-on perfect – thanks so much for sharing that, it made me LOL & feel a bit better about my own mismatched seams.🙂

  4. So cute!

  5. Totally in love with that pink fabric! And it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who sews like that. Pillow looks fabulous, as always. Lucky, lucky girl!

  6. Hi
    Great project, AMAZING blog. Hope it’s ok but I referenced your Sewing Library post on my blog. It’s just brilliant.
    Kindest regards
    Miss P
    xxx

Trackbacks

  1. […] So far, I’ve only completed two throw pillows (a ruffled one and a print one) and some doll bedding.  This week, I managed to cut, serge and sew all 14 […]

Leave a Reply

