Confessions of a Diva about her Favorite Craft Addict

Let me tell you a story about my favorite craft addict…

MARYMANNEQUIN

It all started more than two years ago.  I was searching out fellow sewing bloggers and came across this girl who was too much like me, except she was more productive and even more organized (go figure?).  She had qualities I longed for.  Yes, I could sew in the same circle as her.  However, she would sew so much more than me.  It wasn’t that she had more time than me…no, in fact, quite the opposite.

magicbox

She was the winner of The Magic Box on my blog—a sewing box filled with goodies.  I was tickled that she posted about this Magic Box on her blog.

We became fast friends.  And little by little, I let her into my inner circle…heck, she was hanging out with MY old friends, Lady M™ and Sheree in my absence (WTH?).  We finally invited her into our little e-Bay SWAP group, to sit at the cool table…and lucky me, I was the recipient of her Valentine’s Day SWAP!

 mary'snewbook

Mary actually told me about her upcoming book, Little Girls, Big Style, even before she told her husband.  Yes, I was the first keeper of “the secret project.”  I was so excited…but at the same time, scared for her.  Writing a book would be a major undertaking.  And most importantly, I wanted her to succeed.  I wanted her to stand out from the rest.  I mean, she is THE CRAFT ADDICT…and I don’t hang out with losers.  Just saying.

marybackcover

Although it would be an enormous undertaking, I knew if anyone could do it right, it would be Mary.  See, she had the qualities needed.  She was focused, determined, and asked the right questions.

So many times, my fellow sewing friends would produce sewing patterns that were ill-fitted and/or lacked clear sewing instructions.  But not my Mary.  Nope.  Once she completed her patterns, she had them checked by professional pattern makers and drafters.  And then she had all her patterns tested by real people who sew.

I have read the book from cover to cover and back again. All 23,000 words.  It is by far, the best book for sewing children’s clothing I’ve come across.  I’m sure you’ll agree.

I am anxiously awaiting the book’s release in November.  I’ll be the first in line and hope to get her to autograph my copy (hint, hint).  In the meantime, come join the book’s Facebook page.  And as soon as you get your copy, start sewing and post your photos on the book’s Flicker Group page.

Wishing my favorite craft addict lots of success!  Ok, now let’s get started on the next book, Mary…LOL!

 lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. Yay Mary! I CANNOT wait to get my hands on this book and my girls aren’t even little any more. I can’t imagine anyone doing a better job at this kind of book than Mary! Although I’m kind of ticked that Mary didn’t tell me before her husband and then she made me guess and then I couldn’t guess because apparently I’m too blonde so she had to tell me but I’m still glad. Whew.

  2. I just love Mary to pieces!! She is the one who gave me the bug to start sewing for my girls again, and she has been supportive every step of the way. It didn’t matter how busy she was, she always made time to give me advice when needed.

    I know that whatever she puts her hands to do is going to turn out beautifully. This book will be just the beginning of great things, I know it!!!

  3. Awww. Isn’t it fantastic when you find a like minded crafting buddy that you just click with and they become true friends.

  4. I am DYING to get my hands on this book! So when I saw that you had posted it, I was hoping the release date had been moved up. I want it so much!!

  5. I had to chuckle, you “LET” her into your inner circle!
    You ‘let’ her?? LOL
    She is incredible and not many people can hold a candle to her.
    I can’t wait for the book

  6. As a mother of two girls I am so thankful and looking forward to this book.

  7. I see you have the same sick addiction as me. LOL
    At least ours is a healthy one.

  8. you seriously made me tear up when I read this! OMGosh, so not fair!! i can’t even begin to thank you for all that you’ve done to help my little dream become a reality. I am the luckiest girl in the world! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

