All in the Family

010609b 005

I’ve been missing.  I can explain.  I woke up in the middle of the night with pain in my abdomen.  Made it half-way across the street to the U of Penn Emergency Room before passing out.  Hours later the doctors tell me I have TWO KIDNEY STONES!!!  No way!  How can that be?

Mr. Diva has suffered from severe kidney stones for years and Little Miss Sunshine just got a new kidney.  I think between the two of them, I caught kidney sickness.  Just saying.

010609b 011

Marielle continues to do great after receiving her new kidney last week.  She still has a lot of pain, but she’s a trooper and finds things to distract herself…

010609b 014

and yes, she’s the Queen of the Craft Room…making everything from crepe paper flowers

010609b 016

to cool cut-out thingies…LOL

010609b 017

And yes, of course there’s a bow on her door…

010609b 018

oh and check out what Lady M sent her…

010609b 019

a Little Miss Sunshine necklace (thanks Myrinda)!

Miss Marielle is finally out of ICU.  We are hoping to return home to NY early next week.  Doctors are just adjusting medication doses so she’ll have a smooth transition. Can’t wait to be back in NY!

With friendship,

Lisa

 

Comments

  1. She looks wonderful!! It is so nice to see her smiling and looking so well.

  2. Don’t ever let anyone say you don’t have FLAIR mi-lady! My goodness, I can’t believe it’s got you too! Marielle looks fabulous and I am so happy to read of her continued improvement. Hugs to all of you and please take care of you while you’re taking care of everyone else. God Bless You all!

  3. I was just thinking that it had been awhile since we heard from you! I’m so glad everything is going so well with your daughter! I hope everything continues to go well.🙂 I also hope you feel better! That’s no fun! At least that’s all it was though.🙂 God Bless

  4. Look at her! Just her color and her face say so much about how much better she is feeling! And what a crafty girl she is. I’m so impressed.🙂

  5. What a strong little girl, I’m praying her pain will subside. She’ll do great at home, I didn’t expect for her to be able to go home that soon, awesome!

  6. I have a little something for Marielle…could you please email me?

    Thank you,

    Cristy

  7. Oh Lisa! You are the kidney family, aren’t you?! I’m so happy to see Marielle looking chipper!

  8. Oh my! So sorry about your stones! Make the next ones diamonds, okay?

    Marielle is looking beautiful and healthy!

  9. holding breath, long sigh, the wait was worth seeing the smile on the sunshine girl. Take care of yourself too!

  10. @….Diva just showed up on my twitter feed, mentioned by someone I’m following, just before the donor was found. I’ve been following you since. Thrilled for everyone.

    I am living on one kidney too. The big difference is I had to donate one to “pathology”, my remaining one is 100%. Marielle will be there soon.
    My 27 days of “excitement” of the accidental discovery and surgery is chronicled at cwordandme.wordpress.com. My best to everyone.
    Charlie

  11. Your daughter looks wonderful. Praise the Lord!!! Now, it’s time for the caretaker to take care of herself some. God bless.

  12. She looks great and I love her crafts!! Please take care of yourself lady and I hope both of you will be feeling better soon and back to home!

  13. Thank God for healing ….. for Marielle and for you!
    Bless you all!

  14. I am so sorry to hear (read) that you haven’t been doing so well. Get better real quick. I have just checked in after christmas and see your girl had her transplant. YEY!!!!!!! I am so pleased for you.

  15. That’s wonderful Lisa! We’ll definitely talk about the update on the show. We’re glad everything turned out okay!

  16. I have been checking in a few times each day to see if you are all okay. Hate to say I’m relieved that it was YOUR kidney stones and not Marielle’s new kidney that kept you away.

    I want to thank you so much for the extensive post on CPSIA. I was totally unaware until I read this and your links. Thank you!

  17. Hope you are feeling much better, Lisa! Marielle looks fantastic and love her creativeness, it’s awesome! Hope you can make it back to NY very soon. Continued prayers going your way.🙂

  18. So glad to see your beauty doing so much better!
    –Steens

  19. We were scheduled to come to CHOP today and were planning on leaving a little care package for your daughter. We love CHOP and all they do for the kids, but a care package is always extra special…even from a complete stranger!! We were headed for a GI appointment today, but my little guy didn’t feel up to traveling. He is of all things – also passing another kidney stone! What is with the kidneys?? So attention hungry?!?! We didn’t make it todayand it sounds like you will be gone before we get there again. I am happy to hear that for the most part, everyone is doing well. Good luck on the next steps to home.

  20. oh she is looking GREAT! It’s so nice to see a smile on her beautiful face!

    and I have that SAME paper fashions book! lol!

  21. She looks beautiful!

    Now she can claim that her kidney problems are genetic, right? She can blame you and her dad.😉

    Continuing in prayer for all of you.
    Cathe

  22. OMG, glad to have you back. Hubby just had a kidney stone and it was terrible (it was his first). I am glad that Miss Sunshine has left the ICU and love her room decorations.

  23. I just joined I Love your blog.
    I hope you are feeling better. Take good Care of yourself.

  24. So glad Marielle is doing well. What a blessing. I’m sorry you’ve been stricken with kidney stones, though. Who knew those were contagious! j/k

    I hope you are feeling better now, and continue to pray for Marielle’s full recovery.

    Hope your little guy is doing well through all of this, too. It must be hard for him to see his sister go through such a hard time.

    Many blessings to all of you. You are in my prayers

    ~ Jane

  25. {{{{{HUGS}}}}} Lisa… You always keep it INTERESTING don’t you??? I can not believe you had to bear the pain of Kidney Stones… They are NOT pleasant, unfortunately I know from personal experiences too. So happy to hear you are feeling better though. 🙂

    And…. that Sunshine Girl of yours… BEAUTIFUL!!! She is looking AMAZING!!! I am so happy for all of you. I’m always checking in hoping for GOOD updates. 🙂 Hope you get back to NY soon.

    *HUGS*,
    Heather =)

  26. Lisa,
    So great to hear Marielle is doing so well. Continued prayers for a swift and easy recovery.

  27. OUCH!!!! I have never had kidney stones, but I have heard from some really tough people that they are unspeakably painful! I’m so sorry you had to go through that!😦

    So glad to see your beautiful girl looking so good!! What a wonderful ray of sunshine.

  28. I rush to my computer everyday hoping to hear that your beautiful daughter is doing well!! Thank God for her blessings, I pray for her every night!! She sure looks good with some color in her cheeks. Can’t wait to hear how she is doing now. Hope you are feeling better!!

  29. oh my wow – I can not believe how happy I am for your daughter and your family. Big big big smiles for her. This is the best news I read all day. Can’t believe it took me this long to see it, but *yeah*.

    I can not even imagine how happy you are.. except the kidney stones, of course.

  30. I’m so happy for Little Miss Sunshine! She’s been in my prayers.

  31. I am so happy for your family. I will continue to keep you all in my prayers!
    missy

Leave a Reply

