All I Want for Christmas is a Kidney

kidney-plush-toy-2

Kidney Plush – When URINE Love by I Heart Guts

All I want for Christmas is a kidney for my 15-year-old daughter.  I don’t want any fancy sewing machines, big diamonds, or two front teeth.  I’m not the only mother wishing for a kidney.

Just when we thought it was ok to breathe for a moment.  We received the news that my daughter’s kidney transplant has been canceled.  Mr. Diva’s dear friend (and my daughter’s kidney donor) flew in from Las Vegas to New York City last week and went through all of the living donor kidney evaluation tests.

Doctors noticed he had high sugar levels.  They were puzzled as his original sugar test he took in Las Vegas was fine.  Not to mention, every other test the doctors gave him here in NYC came back normal (kidney scan, EKG, complete blood work, etc.).  So doctors tested his sugar a 3rd time and determined he is pre-diabetic disqualifying him as a suitable kidney donor.  Although he can know be put on medicine to lower his sugar and prevent future diabetes, he is heartbroken as he so wanted to help save my daughter’s life. We will be forever grateful for his kindness.  He symbolizes true friendship.

We are all devastated.  Everyone thought it was a “done deal” as the doctors had already booked the operating room for January 2nd.  But all hope is not lost.  The transplant center told us they have an altruistic kidney donor who has been tested and is a perfect match for Marielle.

However, in order for Marielle to receive this altruistic donor’s kidney, someone from our family or friends needs to also donate to another in need of a kidney transplant in their Donor Exchange Program.  The hospital has performed a Three Way Kidney Swap and even a Four Way Kidney Swap.

Also, the transplant center wants to retest my siblings to compare their antibodies against Marielle’s again.  The doctors feel if it is only one antibody in question, they will consider doing plasmapherisis to Marielle’s blood.

Over the next few days, our family will discuss these two options and make a decision on what we feel would be best for Marielle.  We are hopeful we will come up with a solution.  Please continue to keep our Sunshine Girl in your prayers.

Wishing everyone a blessed holiday!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. thinking of you and sending you strength to make the difficult decisions you are faced with. hope you got that tree decorated. after all, it is the few things in our life that we can control that keep us sane

  2. i am praying for your family at this time! ((Hugs)) lisa

  3. it is a great blow to all of you, indeed including friend who was more than willing.
    My thoughts are with you still.

  4. Marielle is always there in my prayers and all hope is not lost. I waited for 3 years before I got a kidney and till date I bless that moment of miracle when my life continued peacefully just with one kidney. Life rushes through bad phases but good things are in for store. Believe me, I have been there and that too in a bad way. Marielle will be blessed soon and we will see her blogging about her experience.

    Merry X’mas… God bless you all!

  5. Best wishes to Marielle and your family. I will be praying for her and a wonderful outcome. Merry Christmas.

  6. I AM WILLING! I AM WILLING! I filled out the initial donor evaluation form …

  7. Many hugs and prayers going your way on this blessed Christmas day!! May God bless and keep you and your Sunshine Girl close to His heart at this time of decision making. You both are such an inspiration to so many!!

  8. Oh dear Lord Lisa…. I was so stunned to read this. I’m so glad you have other options ( although I’m still angry with CHOP on your behalf, THEY should have moved on all of these long ago!)
    I’m just praying “ENOUGH ALREADY!!” May Marielle be fully healed SOON and may 2009 bring nothing but JOY to your family!!

  9. I don’t know you all personally but am always thinking of you all….will put my best thoughts towards a match and a good transplant

  10. Prayers sent! Our son recieved a kidney from my husband last Christmas when he was 2. I know all the hoops and hurdles you have to go through… it takes alot out of you.

  11. Oh Lisa, I’m so sorry for this setback. I’m still praying here.

  12. My family is praying for you. I donated a kidney 6 months ago (to my wonderful brother) and life goes on. Healthy wishes. Meditation helped us both.

  13. LIsa – I am so sad to hear that this donor will not work out – it just seems to be one thing after the other – but at least there are still a couple of options to consider. I will keep your family in my prayers, as always, and I just wish you the best in making this difficult decision. Just take it one step at a time – and know that your heart will lead you to the best choice.

  14. My prayers are with you and your entire family!

    God Bless

  15. I’m so so sorry that it didn’t work out with this donor. My prayers are with your family.

  16. Oh Lisa… I´m so sorry things are going so wrong. I hope to God you find another donor.

  17. What a lot to go through! Warm wishes and prayers are with you today and in the New Year.

  18. I will keep all in our prayers

  19. All these obstacles, Lisa. I wish I could make them all disappear.

  20. Lisa, I am so sorry that you had another setback, but hopefully, the new kidney donor will work out. Bless your heart, you are always in my thoughts!

    I know that both you and Marielle possess amazing inner strength.

    I am on the road right now and have limited computer access, but I check in here every time I have a chance to get on the computer.

  21. I found out about your situation via a friend of mine’s website. I have been praying for your daughter. Are you still accepting applications for donors? Hopefully the match they found will work out…..will keep praying. God bless you and your family!

  22. Lisa, My name is Javier, I have the “A”(+) blood type. I’m willing to be a living donor, for you, and/or someone else that need a kidney transplant. I’m 38 years old, I don’t smoke, drink or use drugs: I’m a clean healthy man.
    I wish you and your family the best, and only the best.
    If you, or somebody need a blood type “A”(+) kidney donor, HERE I AM.
    GOOD LUCK!!!.
    Please contact me at:
    javier79m@aol.com
    jiocorpeast@yahoo.com
    javierelargentinisimo@yahoo.com.ar

Leave a Reply

