Waiting is the Hardest Part

xmashosppink

I am tired.  Very tired.  Marielle has been rushed to our local hospital by ambulance twice in the last 4 days.  Doctors are having trouble controlling her blood pressure and have admitted her to the hospital so they can adjust her medication.

In the meantime, the transplant hospital gave us the bad news that Marielle is slightly sensitized to her donor, my e-Bay friend.  Now normally, the doctors could do a procedure called plasmapheresis to remove the sensitized antibodies from Marielle’s blood and go ahead with the kidney transplant.  However, time has run out and it is no longer feasible to do plasmapheresis.

When I called my e-Bay friend to let her know, she was heartbroken.  And although she will not be Marielle’s donor, I will be forever grateful she came forward (even though she was petrified) to save my daughter’s life.  Talk about a true friend–there is no greater test of friendship.

So the transplant center continued testing possible donors and found one of my husband’s friends to be a match, too.  Final donor testing is being done as we speak.  The transplant center has booked the operating room and are planning to do the living donor kidney transplant the day after Christmas, December 26th–my deceased Grandmother’s birthday.

Nineteen days.  Just 19 days.  We just need our Sunshine Girl to hang on for 19 more days to receive the gift of a new life.  I know my girl can do it.  I’ve witnessed her strength so many times over the years.

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. this is truely dreadful news. My thoughts are with you. Hang in there, Sunshine Girl……

    all of you, keep your strenght up.
    From Holland, best wishes.

  2. hang in there just a little longer, Marielle! Thinking of all of you!

  3. Lisa, I am so sorry. This time of year is stressful anyway and you are still dealing with your daughter’s health. Of course, I also believe that this is a time of year where miracles occur, so there is still hope.

    Just a thought here–have Marielle’s doctors said anything about giving her magnesium to help control her blood pressure? I know that magnesium is sometimes given to pregnant women for blood pressure issues. I recently bought a magnesium gel to apply topically, but in Marielle’s case, perhaps the doctors could give her magnesium via IV, and maybe that will help get the high blood pressure under control.

  4. You’re in my prayers. and thoughts *often* Just hang in there!!

  5. You are in my prayers. December 26th is my daughter’s birthday and my husband’s Grandmother’s birthday
    I’m very hopeful that you will have a reason to celebrate that day too. Many, many thoughts and prayers are being sent your way!

  6. Oh Lisa and Marielle!! I’m thinking of your family. Huge hugs to you!!!

  7. oh no😦 I am so sorry Lisa

    I will continue to pray that the new potential donor is a perfect match for Marielle!

  8. what an ordeal you have to go through!
    My thoughts are with you all..

  9. Prayers are with you and your family! HUgs hun hang in there!

  10. We continue to keep you guys in our prayers. I have faith that everything will work out and Marielle will receive a complete healing. I hope all goes through according to plan. We can’t wait to see you guys at Christmas, even if Christmas is at the hospital. Love you guys!!!!

  11. Hoping the next 19 days come soon for you all! What a test of strength for all of you…certainly you all have proven your strength…prayers being said and always in my thoughts…

    ((HUGS))

  12. keeping my fingers crossed for you. it will be a long 19 days, but you can do it.

  13. OH Lisa! I am so sorry about everything you and Marielle have had to endure. I was so glad to hear about your eBay friend being a match and now THIS?!? Well, I am glad they found someone else. I am hoping the agony will be soon over for all of you! Keeping you in my thoughts always!!!

    patty

  14. What an emotional roller coaster ride right now. I am so sorry your friend was not able to be her donor, but I pray your husbands friend can be!

  15. My prayers are with you and your family, particularly your little Sunshine Girl. I pray for peace for you to make it through such a difficult and heartwrenching time. I pray for courage for Marielle and the donor. I pray for a successful transplant and a happy new year for you all. You are such an incredibly strong woman. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. We are truly the blessed ones to see such an example of strength and love. My heart goes out to you.

  16. Lisa – I’m so sorry that the first donor isn’t going to work out – but thank God there is another potential match. I pray this one works out perfecly and that things can proceed as planned for 12/26.

  17. We are thinking of your family here in MN. Also keeping our fingers crossed for you.

  18. Hang on, Marielle! We’re all pulling for you!

  19. I am so thankful that there is someone that is still a match for your beautiful Sunshine Girl.
    I too am counting down 19 days for you and your family but Christmas is bringing our family this year my brother to Kuwait. This is his third consecutive Christmas in Iraq and him going to Kuwait is the first step in his coming home to us in February.
    We have been following and praying for you and your family to stay strong.
    May God bless you all this Holiday Season,
    Michele

  20. Praying, praying, praying.

  21. Hi there,

    I found you through Twitter, and am truly heartbroken for you. I went through this with my Mom and her sister, and it is agonizing and draining to say the least.

    It sounds like your family is strong beyond belief and can get through this. Many people are praying for you and your daughter!

    Stefani Newman

  22. My dear Lisa…hang in there! I know this will all work out. God is watching over the Sunshine Girl and her family.🙂 Lynn

  23. I’m crossing my fingers that all goes well and that thiese awful 19 days shall pass safely!
    My thoughts are with you (although I’m commenting here for the first time)…

  24. Oh Lisa!!! :’-( I am so sorry. I am crying from the horrible ups and downs, I can’t even imagine what your family is feeling. I know you and your Sunshine Girl will both come through this with your wonderful spirit soaring though.
    Praying ’till she’s well again!

  25. PRAYING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  26. Hang in there Marielle, I’m praying for you all xx

  27. Lisa, it is so hard to know what to say. My heart aches for you and for Marielle; it must be hard and so frustrating for her, to feel so weak and helpless.

    I will continue to pray, and as others have said, I believe that you will see a miracle. Many blessings to you and all your family.

  28. So sad about your friend not being able to donate – but how great that there is another match! Thinking of you all over the Festive season, you are holding it together so well, not long to go now! Thoughts are with you all, hope you all get to relax a bit over Christmas, although I am not religious – Marielle’s situation has made me want to pray for her!

    We will all hold our breath and wait for news – I know it will be good news! You are both very strong x

  29. Lisa, we’re praying for your sweet girl. Hugs to you and your family!!

  30. Sunchsine and Lisa,
    you are tough ladies and I have no doubt everything will work out. Just hang in there, try to get as much rest as you can. know that ll your friends are praying for you.

    Angy

  31. 19 days will come in a blink of an eye. She will make it, you will have your very own Christmas Miracle – one day late. We will pray for you all!

  32. I am so sorry that you are having to go through so much right now! I’m praying for all of you. 19 days. 19 days of prayer!! You have so many people saying prayers for your precious daughter. Just a little while longer and she is going to be on the road to recovery!!

  33. I cannot imagine what you are going through. You have shown such strength during this. I am thinking of you.

  34. I am praying that everything works out this time. You are an amazing woman and mother.

    HUGS,
    Jacqueline

  35. My prayers are with you two – Hopefully these next 19 days pass quickly.

  36. My thoughts and prayers are with Marielle!
    God Bless you all!

  37. Many thoughts and prayers. We will be counting down the 19 days with you and looking foward to a happy day on the 26th.

  38. Brenda Erickson says:

    We are still praying for your family and Marielle. I am sorry to hear about the first match but thankful that someone else is a match-sounds like the hospital is doing wonderful work with the testing of possible donors. I will be thinking of you the next few weeks. Thanks for keeping us updated. HUGS

    Brenda

  39. My prayers are with you and your daughter!

  40. I am praying for you and your sweet daughter. What a Christmas gift this could be!

  41. I offer my continued compassion and prayers–may you find the strength you need to get through the next 19 days and a fairytale “new beginning”-

  42. I can’t believe I didn’t see this update in my RSS feed! I’m thinking good thoughts for you and yours and we’ll be frantically refreshing the blog throughout the 26th.

  43. Lisa – I’ve marked my calendar. I’m counting down the days.
    You know I’m thinking of you guys CONSTANTLY.
    Hang on!
    noel (from FI)

  44. My friend Heather has been requesting prayer for your family continually and keeping us posted. I wanted to come check out your blog myself and let you know that you’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  45. I found your web site quite by accident and want to pass along some encouragement. I know waiting is very difficult – My husband received a liver transplant 2 years ago and there were times that we weren’t sure we’d make it, but with a lot of prayers and support we survived. He’s now enjoying life and is in better health that he’s been in years. I believe that the donation of an organ is a very selfless act – it’s truly an gift of life. I will be praying for your family. Hang in there!!!!!

  46. Still thinking of you all everyday! I hope these next 19 days pass quickly. You and Marielle, and in my prayers everyday! Hang in there!!

    Trudi

  47. Hang in there hun! We are all praying for you and Marrielle. She’s a fighter that one!

  48. Praying hard for Marielle, as always…

  49. Thats terrible, I am so sorry to hear that but your daughter is a survivor and I am confident that she will pull through this. There is a donor out there for her and the donor will be found in time. Be strong ( as you already are ) my prayers are with you and your daughter.

  50. What a shame that your friend could not donate after all. This new donor sounds promising though. These days will fly by and before you know it all will be well again. Bx

  51. Sending positive thoughts & HUGS!

  52. Lisa,
    I am praying for Marielle and our family will pray for her too. God can & does do miracles and that is what we’ll be asking for! May His peace reside in you and His protection be on Marielle =)
    Love in Jesus,
    The James

Leave a Reply

