It’s OK to Laugh

Whoops!  I forgot to post this last night…

Under Pressure

mariellenov

Only home from the hospital for a mere 72 hours and things at the Diva household are back to normal…well, normal for us at least.

Yesterday morning started out with a big scare.  Marielle has struggled with high blood pressure for months since her kidneys started failing.  But now we have a new problem…intermittent low blood pressure…ugh!  She woke up Saturday morning with a blood pressure of 90/50–a big difference from the 180/120 a few days ago.  And low blood pressure is just as dangerous as high blood pressure.

Trying to get a doctor on the phone on Black Friday is like trying to find the door buster deal (my Pink Dyson vacuum at Target), KWIM?  And when we did, the doctor suggested I take Marielle to the local emergency room.  But Marielle begged me to wait–so I filled her up with caffeine and salt.  Then an hour later, she was back to normal.

Well, that was until today.  Now she’s running high blood pressures and we are crossing our fingers that we can get through the next 48 hours without a trip to the hospital.

And So It Is Christmas and Look What You’ve Done…

I “borrowed” my daughter’s girlfriends last night to help me get the 32 boxes of Christmas decorations out of the attic.  Karen aka Latte Lady reminded me there is no law which says you must use all your decorations.  Umm Karen, don’t you know it’s all about EXCESS?  My daughter reminds me our household is partly responsible for global warming.  She has a point.  It just seems silly not to display everything as I’ve spent years making and collection my holiday treasures.

cakecheckerboard

Exhausted and sore, we all enjoyed a yummy checkerboard cake from Pasticceria Bruno–true bliss!

I will spend the next week in a Christmas decorating frenzy.  So much to do and so little time.  Oh why, oh why do I do this to myself?

Those Where The Days My Friend

 

mic

Little Jedi was promised a new PlayStation 2 video game by Mr. Diva™ which comes with a microphone.  When I showed Joey how we used a regular hairbrush as a microphone when we were kids, he looked at me strange.  And we didn’t need a Dance Revolution mat to dance–we just danced, right?  Kids!  Whatever happened to imagination?

hairbrushdivas

Anyway I just wanted everyone to know it’s ok to laugh even though my world has been turned upside down.  I find laughter to be a great stress reliever.  Most days things are so serious.  Every waking moment doesn’t need to be devastating or sorrowful.  So please, if you see me, don’t look sad.  Instead, tell me about your crazy family or some mischief you’ve gotten yourself into.

With friendship,

Lisa

dangerous_www-txt2pic-com

Comments

  1. Lisa, I’m so glad that you can find some humor in your life during this very stressful time. I completely understand because when my dad was in the nursing home, I always found that on the days when there was laughter, everybody felt better.

    You keep laughing and finding humor where you can because I believe that is part of your strength and your amazing ability to cope with such a stressful situation.

    Hugs to you and your family

  2. Hey Lisa,

    A fellow Lisa here. I have just started reading along with your blog and praying for you and your beautiful daughter (and family). I think laughter is a wonderful way to relieve stress and get through hard times!

    Hope Marielle’s week gets better quickly and you all have a wonderful week. I’m reading along.,

  3. waiting for a pic of your wonderfully decorated home!

    praying for Marielle’s health and you.

  4. I’m really glad to hear that things are moving in the right direction for you and Marielle. We’re still thinking good thoughts for her over here.

  5. Lisa,
    You are such an inspiration!
    And so, in the spirit of your request for laughter, I hope this post will inspire a laugh for you!, it certainly did for me!!
    http://beccasfreshfruit.blogspot.com/2008/11/ummmmmmmmmmm.html
    Our prayers are still with you and your family everyday!!
    Take care!
    Becca

  6. Lisa,

    I”m just another one of the many people who have recently found your blog and wanted to tell you how humbled I am by your character and attitude. Your family is lucky to have you (and vice versa, I’m sure).

    Happy Holidays to you all,
    Kim

  7. Thank you for the updates on Sunshine. I pray for her often. She is one strong girl. I hope her blood pressure will stablize. I drink a chinese tea for mine.
    God bless,
    Angy

  8. Lisa the very fact that you are on here and posting , means that you are a woman of extreme strength. You are truly a super woman and able to cope with any situation that is sent your way. Praying for your family🙂

  9. Lisa, laughter is not only a great stress relief but also exercises all your inside bits!! How great that you can still laugh while your world is on it’s head – although as I have read your blog over the past few months I am not surprised! You obviously have a great strength and I imagine that will help everyone around you too. So glad that Marielle is holding her own (albeit up and down at the moment!)

    Thinking of you all and checking in for regular updates!

  10. Lisa–we lost my brother-in-law and father-in-law in the past two years. If we didn’t all have our collective sense of humor, I don’t know how we would have made it through. Laughter is a medicine. I wish I knew where you lived….my family and I would like to do something for your family if possible this holiday season. are you in the NYC/NJ area?

  11. Awww…Lisa…you have no idea how much you make me smile…I thought I was optimistic…

    Hope Marielle’s blood pressure returns to normal soon…

    Happy Decorating! I know deep down it makes you happy!

  12. a Merry heart doeth good…it says so in the bible in proverbs I think. I learned to laugh during great stress, when others look at me funny for laughing, I just tell them I laugh to keep from crying.

    As always your Sunshine Girl is beautiful, I do so enjoy your posts and glad you’re keeping us updated.

    Hope to see some of your decor while we wait for more news . . .

  13. Hello ma’am. My name is Jenn. I don’t know if there’s any way it would still be possible with a different blood type (I am B Pos), but if your eBay friend does not go through, and they can use my kidney, I am more than willing to donate. I am in generally good health, I do smoke, but I am considered a “light” smoker. I’m 20 years old. I will admit I have drank on occasion, but not often or in any excess amount. I have a generally healthy family, with the exception of my grandfather who was diabetic. However, it was type II, and I have been tested and retested, resulting in nothing. Also, I do have medical insurance (I’m in the military). The only issue on my end is making sure that the military is okay with me taking the time off that I will need (which they should have no problems at all with). That being said, I also have not yet been overseas, but my immunizations are all up to date. If I can be any help, please contact me. As I said before, my grandfather was diabetic. He too needed a kidney, and he had to wait too long on list after list. After all he went through, I’m a pretty big advocate for kidney transplants. Good luck!

  14. Thank you for the updates! I am thankful for the donor and thankful for such a wonderful internet community.

    Now for some Grinch: I thought you would like to know how I really feel about some aspects of the internet community regarding this and this blog post sums it up:

    http://www.youruinedmychildhood.com/blog/2008/12/2/whats-the-f-ing-point-of-social-media.html?lastPage=true

  15. Very wise to always have a positive outlook. It is always the best feeling in the world to know not only do you have all these physical friends-near and far to lean on…but you have Jesus….who loved you before you were in your mothers womb, and you daughter before she was in yours. He has plans for all of you….and to strengthen you….I have been through some great medical stuff-continuous…and I lean on Him. He does answer Prayers when directed to Him, knowing He will answer…He loves you both so much…I do….and I don’t even know you! May He keep blessing you both, and hold you in His arms….give her hugs from me and my daughter Tory!
    Love,
    Heather Siebens

Trackbacks

  1. […] It’s OK to Laugh « THE DOMESTIC DIVA’S DISASTERS™ […]

  2. […] Marielle’s condition continued to deteriorate but we later learned from Lisa that a donor match was found and an update earlier this week reports on Marielle’s adjustment and recovery progress. […]

Leave a Reply

