Happy Halloween

Missing My Clique

myrindadiva

All my sewing buddies went to the Houston Quilt Market this past weekend.  I was teary-eyed when I received a call from Mary, Lady M™ (pictured above next to a DIVA license plate…LOL) and Sheree.  I’ll definitely be joining up with them at the next market!

I even missed my buddy, Diana’s, wedding the weekend before.  While she and Anthony exchanged vows on a boat cruising the New York Harbor, I was sitting outside the Children’s Hospital in Philadelphia hoping the helicopters landing on the hospital roof might be the kidney my daughter so desperately needs.

I Can See Clearly Now

We made it back home early Tuesday night.  We drove about 100 miles back to our home in Staten Island, NY.  We started off at Exit 3 of the NJ Turnpike where there was a torrential downpour.  I got off at Exit 4 wondering how in the world I was going to drive in the terrible rain.  Marielle convinced me to get back on the Turnpike to beat the rush hour traffic.  When we got to Exit 5, I noticed the lighted driving advisory–CAUTION – SNOW AHEAD.  WTH?  Yep!  Here was heavy SNOW driving through PA and NJ.  Finally when we made it to our Exit (#10), the snow had turned back into rain.  What a LONG drive!

Still No Match

DSC_0261

Yesterday we got the results of my youngest sister’s kidney donor testing–NOT a match.  To say we were all disappointed is an understatement.   I’m so proud of my sister as I know she was terrified at the thought of donating her kidney, but still was willing to do so.

My nephew is the next to be tested.  He should have his blood test tubes arrive by Monday.  Would you believe he just received his kidney donor evaluation package TODAY?!  He had requested it on October 9th!!!  The hospital admitted to sending it on October 17th.  Really?  You’d think they would speed the process along considering my daughter is in the final stage of kidney failure (she has just a mere 6% function left!!!).  Don’t they know how to use Federal Express?  Heck, what about USPS Priority Mail?  Guess not.

BOO SWAP

Moving along to happier things…When I returned home, I found a big box from Traci of Bloom Design filled with treasures of our BOO Swap!  YOU ROCK TRACI!  She sent all of my favorite things…

boo1

My first love….PEEPS and my 2nd favorite, DOTS!

boo4

Check out this awesome EYEBALL Truffle Lollipop!  ROTFL!

boo2

She even sent me a beautiful Halloween coffee mug…

boo3

and the coolest Skeleton Brew (aka Hot Chocolate)!

 boo6

I laughed so hard when I saw the Potion Powders in 3 frightful flavors-Crushed Toads, Potion #13 and Eye of Newt!

boo5

But oh my!  The Lindt Chocolate Truffles filled with White Chocolate are too delicious to share!

boo7

Speaking of Halloween, because my daughter was hospitalized for a good part of this month, I never got around to putting out all my handmade ceramic Halloween decorations.  Not a single thing.

halloskel

Mr. Diva™ offered to take the 5 huge Rubbermaid crates out of the attic and unwrap all of my precious decorations.  However, I’d cry if he broke any of them, so I passed on his offer (see last year’s disaster below).  This will ensure I will still have my complete collection of Halloween decorations next year, KWIM?  And the other good thing is I don’t have to pack them all back up tomorrow!  Perhaps I can get an early start of Christmas decorating…LOL!

hallobroken 

Hope everyone gets plenty of sweets for Halloween!

lisa

Comments

  1. I am truly sorry to hear that there’s still no match for your sunshine girl. I despair, why not test in one go.
    best wishes.

  2. Thanks Josee. Unfortunately, insurance and hospital policy only allow for one donor to be tested at a time. We are in a race against the clock and this whole donor evaluation process is disheartening to say the least.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  3. Oh Lisa, what fun and lovely presents!!

    I am so sorry and saddened your sister is not a match. :o( Hopefully your nephew or someone else is a match and that is discovered soon, and next BBQ you have a vibrant and healthy Marielle! Of course her photos always show what a beauty she is, but hopefully her health reflects that too and she is able to proceed very soon with a healthy and very long life ahead.😀

    Hugs to all of the Diva family and Happy Halloween,
    Pamela

    P.S. Stupid question here, but if you are on a list as needing an organ transplant, wouldn’t your family be contacted (or a family like your own) if there was a match and Marielle was #1 on the list? I HOPE and PRAY this is so, because I agree the system in place seems terribly frustrating and slow how you describe it.

  4. thanks Pamela. Yes, Marielle is on the top of the list and we’ve even received 3 calls from the hospital for cadaveric donor (deceased). However, none have matched.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  5. I just finished a box of dots, and now they’re on my favorites list. Hate chocolate. Keep your hopes up. I’ll keep mine up for you.

  6. check your email girlfriend and email or call me!

  7. We enjoyed talking with you and then about you.🙂 you and Marielle were very much on our minds.

    That Traci knows your tastes, for sure. Great swap package!

  8. I felt compelled to write a note here. Hang in there as I believe that she’ll get the kidney she so dearly needs.

    I just joined the FI forum and somehow learned of your plight. I am praying for your daughter and I know I’ll be reading the good news we all are waiting for here soon.

    Jimmy from Houston

  9. Hey Lisa,

    Just dropping in to say I’m thinking of you and your daughter. And saying lots of prayers and sending all my good wishes and positive vibrations your way. There are so many people behind you and that’s a lot of prayer power!! Hang in there and keep believing in your miracle.

    I’ll try to spread the word as much as possible too.
    Much Love,

    Amber Star

  10. Brenda Erickson says:

    Lisa I am still praying Marielle finds a match soon. My DH took down the information for Joann Palmer and is going to try and call her tomorrow to see what it would/will take to be tested. I will let you know what they say. He would love to be able to help and thinks and asks about Marielle daily. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

    HUGS

  11. So sorry to hear your sister is not a match. I did contact the hospital requesting information about the testing process. I was advised that at this time they were still in the process of testing family members but that they would send me an information package.

    I’ll be praying that your nephew is a match!

  12. I had the same response as Geri did. I am still waiting on the information package. It has been about a month since I requested it.

    I am hoping that perhaps someone can be a match, hopefully your nephew will be the one for you all!

    Thank you for keeping us posted.

    ~Lilith

  13. Brenda Erickson says:

    My DH called and didn’t get a return phone call, so he called again and the woman was not in that day. So he left his name again and is still waiting for a call back. He said he would call again and try to get more info. Since he donated bone marrow 2 years ago all his blood work, etc is still in the system and maybe they would be able to determine if he were a match from that? Anyways just letting you know we are still thinking of you and Marielle and hoping that a match is found soon.

  14. I just wanted to send you my love and let you and Marielle know that you are in my prayers. You are one of the kindest, most thoughtful people i’ve ever met (even if it was only online) and I really want you to know you hold a dear place in my heart.

    God Bless!

  15. Just wanted to let you know that you and Marielle are in my thoughts and prayers. Though we’ve never met I think of you and your daughter daily.

    God Bless

  16. I love all the piccys on the blog it brings it to life🙂

Leave a Reply

