SEW Busy and Then Some

afterbbq1

Another successful Diva BBQ is behind us.  But oh my–the clean-up is overwhelming.

afterbbq2

It will literally take me WEEKS!

DIVA’S NYC CARAMEL APPLES

caramelapple3

Lots of people have asked about my delicious caramel apples at the BBQ…so I’ll spill:

First, hop on over to Instawares and get yourself some Midway’s Finest Caramel Apple Dip.  I purchased apple bubble trays (buy the bigger size) and candy apple sticks from Sugarcraft.

caramelapple

Next, tip your local produce guy a $20 bill at the supermarket and instruct him to hand select 100 big red delicious apples which MUST fit inside the provided apple bubble trays and stand straight (no lop-sided apples) or else…LOL.

Then go your friend’s Bagel Store (Diana has the BEST bagels in town).  Tell her you are swamped with BBQ preparations.  She’ll then ask you what she can do to help and it’s at that moment you hand over all the apples and supplies.

Next, have her employees wash and dry the apples.  Then put the sticks in.  Use their huge metal trays and line each tray with wax paper.

midway

Since we didn’t have a electric candy apple stove or an awesome gas apple cooker, Diana (not to be confused with Diana from Louisiana) used a huge stock pot (much bigger than I have at home) filled with water.  She then set the opened can of Midway’s Finest Caramel Apple Dip in the water to boil.  Something tells me we should have used the Quick Serve Apple Dip.  It took no less than 3 hours to melt each huge can of caramel..ugh!  Lesson learned.  There’s always next year.

appledip

Anyway, just dip the apple, swirl and set it on the wax paper.  When the caramel apples firm up, just put them in the bubble trays.  Let’s hope Diana is still my friend!  Seriously, a HUGE thank you to my buddy!

FABRIC SCORE

Yesterday I was able to order a particular of a fabric I’m dying to use in my upcoming boys’ clothing line.  I’d seen a preview of the fabric at TALA (LA Fabric Show), but didn’t think the first printing would be ready in time for my salesman’s samples.  I wasn’t going to show you, but I just can’t help myself:

AHexclamblackwhite

Not sure if I’ll incorporate this colorway, but I ordered it anyway:

AHexclamblue

Last month the fabric manufacturer showed it to me in these colorways, too.  But they aren’t sure if they are going to get enough orders to go into production.  Keep your fingers crossed:

ahexclamorange

AHexclamgreen

MACHINE EMBROIDERY

kaceybags2008

Got lots done yesterday in the sewing room (Lady M™ and I are some team…LOL). Spend most of yesterday finishing up an order for 15 personalized tote bags for Kacey‘s new students.

G.O.A.T.S.

34001_ft

In the world of garment manufacturing, G.O.A.T.S. (graphics on a t-shirt manufacturers) are at the bottom of the fashion feeding pool.  Lots of people say they are “fashion designers” when all they are really doing is slapping some graphics or wording on a pre-made t-shirt.

When I set out to design my first season of boys’ clothing, it was important to me not to take any shortcuts on t-shirts.  I hate cheap t-shirts prefer a medium-weight cotton interlock over jersey knit.  I feel interlock is more substantial and holds up nicely to repeated washings.  Another reason I decided to create my t-shirts from scratch is fit.  I wanted a comfortable fit and a rib knit neckline which laid around the neck nicely…not all wonky.

My patternmaker is in town, so we’re going to meet up in Manhattan tomorrow morning.  It will be nice to put a name to a face.

Ok…I had better get back to work!  Have a great day!

With friendship,

lisa2 

Comments

  1. Those apples look divine! Yummmmmmm! Love the fabric you’ve picked out.

  2. LMAO at the way you are ten steps ahead of everybody ……..I can just see Diana asking what she can do and you whooshing over a big huge bag of apples .

    And the dude at the supermarket …..the apples MUST fit in the container , no lopsided apples ?

    Im howling with laughter.

    ONLY YOU .

    How is the beautiful one ?

  3. the apples were delicious (I had 3!!!!). Definitely going to do them again next year!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  4. Oh- I hope AH prints those too. 🙂

  5. I found your name on IT WILL FIT blog site. I also have a children’s’ line of clothes and have had a very difficult time finding good quality knits. I will be in Los Angeles later this month and was wondering whether you were successful in obtaining any knit fabric suited for children ages 2-12. I have used The Fabric Fairy, Sew Baby and Sewzannes for all of my knits so far but would like to explore the California area. On some of the fabric I have purchased I have noted the name anatex of California but cannot seem to find them on the web.
    any leads or ideas you could send me would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

