Sew….What about Another Round of the Encyclopedia of ME?

In an effort to keep myself blogging, I thought I’d revisit the good old Encyclopedia of ME…you know, the blog meme where you do a post for each letter of the alphabet?   It’s based on the book, Encyclopedia of An Ordinary Life, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

However, instead of using nouns like I did in the past, I’m going to try to use verbs and adjectives.  Anyone want to join me?  Post a link in the Comments section below!  So, let’s get started…

 image0-12

A is for…

Audacious

au·da·cious [aw-dey-shuhs]  –adjective

1.  extremely bold or daring; recklessly brave; fearless: an audacious explorer. 2.extremely original; without restriction to prior ideas; highly inventive: an audacious vision of the city’s bright future. 3. recklessly bold in defiance of convention, propriety, law, or the like; insolent; brazen.  4. lively; unrestrained; uninhibited.

Oh, yes…that would sum it up.  Looking at the above photo, it’s imperative to note the child harness which is used to strap me into the carriage.  See, to say I was a difficult child would be an understatement.

From the moment I was born, I hit the ground running.  There was so much for me to explore, siblings to torment, and rules to break.

My Mother was foolish to think a harness could tame me.  One day she parked my carriage outside the local bakery and went inside to get me cookies.  When she returned, she found me hanging from the harness on the side of the carriage.  This was just one example of my audacious personality.

lcpiano

In recent years, I’ve become less audacious.  Real life has a way of knocking it out of you.  Things that were once a breeze to accomplish now seem difficult.  Often I lack the courage to tackle what is ahead of me.  But little by little, I’m taking baby steps.

dynomite

Whether it has to do with my daughter’s upcoming kidney transplant or the launch of my new boys’ clothing line, I’m just putting one foot in front of the other and going through the motions.  I was always known as a real firecracker.  Slowly but surely, I’m rekindling that spark!

Wishing everyone a Happy 4th of July!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. This sounds really cool, can I join in too?

    Hope everything goes well with your daughter’s transplant, I’ll be thinking about her and your family and wishing you all good thoughts🙂 x

  2. Oh Lisa ….life hasnt knocked ANYTHING out of you . You are still totally rocking your bold personality ……..you just no longer need to swing by harness straps !

    From an outsiders point of view , if you ever lack courage its not something ANY Of us see , we all see an IMPOSSIBLY strong woman , who goes above and beyond …and then back over again for her family …and ESP for the beautiful one .

    You never lost your spark …your still a firecracker ……you just have to remember not all firecrackers have to go ” boom ” ….some are quietly beautiful …and the true gift is when knowing to be which .

    Its a good thing you and I didnt grow up together …cuz your mamma would have left us to go inside to get cookies and she would have come out to find you swinging by the harness straps ….while I was pushing you top speed down the street and body surfing on the hood of that carriage !

    Sue

  3. Lynn (47cats) says:

    Lisa, you’re still one of my favorite fire crackers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Lynn

  4. I haven’t visited your blog in awhile, and I’ve missed it. I think you have a way of spicing things up and this post proves it. I wish your daughter well in her transplant and you with your upcoming line. I’m glad to see that you’ve realized that you have a spark!

  5. You amaze me on a daily basis – you are amazing (did I say that?) Can’t wait to hear about the line…..I need to post you in my blog roll…so sorry I have not done yet! Wait till next week – will give you big send off!

    Hope all is well – the line looks great!!!

    Jamie Lentzner
    http://www.jpd.typepad.com

Leave a Reply

