My Sewing Mojo is Hiding in the Banished Place

Way back when I was an active participant in the Ebay custom boutique world, my friend, Jen of Olives Pearls, wrote a piece, The Banished Place, which stuck a cord.  Seriously, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve reread it.

chimeneria

There is so much work to be done in my sewing room.  Like the chiminea cover which needs to be repaired.  When you can sew, you’re hesitant to purchase another vinyl cover for $50 when you know you could easily repair the old one or even make a new one.  But you don’t.  Instead, you join your neighbors in turning your upper middle income neighborhood into a trailer park.

I am distracted by many things these days.  Or perhaps I am just overwhelmed.  Mr. Diva™ has decided we are having the Big NYC BBQ on Saturday, August 2nd.  Oh crap!  Why does this man put such pressure on me?  I need to sew, not host a party for 200 people.

See, it’s simple for him.  He just pays for everything orders the food.  Me…well…I’ve got to get the house and yard in order.  Now this may seem doable…but it’s not that easy.  I’ll need to enlist the illegal day workers to clean the pond, scrub the BBQ grills, clean the huge coolers, and pick weeds, etc.  Then the Expensive Gardener™ will need to plant a zillion annual flowers so I can fund his trip to Italy this Fall.

brokenangel

Oh and then there’s the garage…I’ve got 4 industrial cutting tables and 4 industrial sewing machines with tables, motors and attachments renting more than half the space in there.  So for the last year, we haven’t been able to use our garage.  I’ll have to hire the illegal day workers for a second day to have them carry all this sewing stuff down into the unfinished basement Banished Place.  I have yet to renovate it (even though Mr. Diva™ has given me the go ahead to have it done 2 years ago).  I just keep putting it off…guess I’ll never get to it.  However, I’ll need to first clean the basement in order to fit everything down there.  There is stuff everywhere!

Anyway, in order to host such a big party, it would be wise of me to get the invitations designed, printed and mailed.  Guess I had better get moving…

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. Hi Lisa, I haven’t stopped by your blog in a while (I just added you to my google reader so I won’t miss anymore, lol) but I think I am caught up after reading at least 10 posts😉 There is always something in every one of your posts that makes me giggle. Thank You! Now I’m off to my Banished Place
    ~Patricia

  2. YEA!! Glad to hear you are having the BBQ again this year! I still wish to come one of these days.. for nothing else but to see the famous candy cart that I have heard so much about!

  3. Nothing like a little bash to make a dent in your to-do list. I’m sure the party will be worth it, and at least you’ve got more than a month to prepare. (I’m trying to be a glass-half-full person; is it working?)

  4. OK, you have shamed into sewing–for the first time in 6 months! my Artisan had actual dust on it. I’m so embarrassed.

  5. Better than a diamond.
    Roxanne

Leave a Reply

