Launching a Children’s Clothing Line as your Child Undergoes a Kidney Transplant

yellow

Today we are supposed to find out whether my Sunshine Girl will be transported to the kidney transplant center in Philadelphia from our current hospital in NYC or if I will take her on an outpatient basis for kidney transplant evaluation.

Based on her current kidney function levels, on a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the most severe), my daughter rates approximately 4.7 (about 18 GFR).  So basically, there is no turning back–no cure other than kidney transplantation.

I accept this.  I’ve been mentally preparing myself for this over the last year when we were first made aware of her progressing kidney failure.  I wish the same could be said for Mr. Diva.  He’s having a real hard time with this.

So with all this, the question of whether or not to launch my boys’ clothing line needs to be answered.  Do I put everything on hold until her health is restored or do I continue with business as usual?

path

Now I’m sure most of you my feel I need to focus on my daughter’s health.  And yes, I agree.  However, I also need to have something to keep my mind busy when it is too painful to think of the reality of our situation.  I’ll need something to fill my days.  Sitting in a hospital room with beeping machines can drive you crazy.  Having a reason to keep going, no matter how slowly, might prove to be a good thing.

I’m on my way to Manhattan to meet with a label manufacturer.  I need to select the leather and woven labels for my line.  If I have enough time, I also plan to visit an embroiderer to see if it’s feasible to add embroidery to the garments.  It’s raining, so I canceled my appointment in the city (and we know how I don’t like to drive in the rain or snow).  I could always go another day.

I’ll do my best to update everyone as soon as I know more about our plan.  As always, my sincere thanks for all your support and good wishes.  It means the world to me.

lisa

Comments

  1. Hi Lisa,

    I’ve been reading your blog from time to time over the past couple of months. I really appreciate all of your candidness about what goes into producing your own line of clothing. I had no idea you were going through such an ordeal with your daughter. As a parent, these are the things you hope & pray you will never have to encounter. I believe in the power of positive thought & prayer, & I will keep your family, and your daughter especially, in my mind over the next few weeks, etc.
    As for whether or not you should proceed with your launch at this time, I believe that when the time comes, you will know what’s right for you, and no one will judge you for your decision… and if they do, then they clearly do not understand what you are going through.

    Take care.

  2. Hi Lisa,

    I am sending prayers and well wishes for you and Marielle and will be calling my friends here and asking them to add her and your whole family onto their prayer chains.

    I have always admired your strength while dealing with Marielle’s illness over all these years. I can honestly say I don’t think I would have the strength. But I know God sent you Marielle because he knew you could handle it, he knew your strength. So know that we are all here praying and lifting you up as you care for her and help her. I have faith that she will be okay. She is an Angel and a true fighter. She is so beautiful and such a special girl. I will call you later today. It has been a long time dear girl. Drop me a line and let me know when is a good time for you–remember I am 6 hours ahead of you!

    Sending you the biggest hug and loads of love.

    Sheree

  3. Lisa, I can completely understand how you feel you might need something a bit more “normal” to keep you busy during this extremely difficult time. I agree with the first poster here–you will know if it is better to keep trying to launch your boy’s clothing line, or to put it on hold. I would encourage you to do what you think is best and to remember to take care of YOU right now, too! Just don’t put too much additional stress on yourself right now.

    We’re all here pulling for you and Marielle! I always marvel at your strength in dealing with your daughter’s health problems.

    I’m still thinking of you every day.

  4. I know how you feel hon! It was hard seeing my baby boy in the hospital with all those machines. So tiny even at 6 months old and having the doctors tell me he’s not breathing anymore. I had such a hard time dealing with that. That’s why I started blogging. TO keep my mind off what was happening to my baby boy. It really did help. Prayer works and he’s three now . A tad small but he’s here! As always, we are keeping you and your family in our prayers! Keep us updated!

  5. Our thoughts are with you.
    Planning and building a business is not easy. We’ve had a construction one for years. I found that sometimes just working on the plans mentally not always physical seems to be good therapy.
    Take a pad and pencil work on details but be there for your daughter. Business comes and goes but children do not.
    Don’t stop your plans just modify them.
    You’ll find away.
    God be with you and your famiy.

  6. Lisa, I will be praying for you and your daughter. Whatever you decide to do, I know it will be the right thing for you. Your heart is filled with love and goodness, so you can’t go wrong either way. I will also pray for your husband. I can’t even imagine how a father might feel seeing his little girl not well and looking at major surgery. Your whole family is in my thoughts today. Be good to you.

  7. Hi Lisa,
    You and your family are in my thoughts. I think it’s important for you to have something that you can do for yourself. You will not be able to be there to support your daughter and husband if you’re completely out of balance. Please do not keep yourself from following your heart. Your daughter, I’m sure, wants you to continue to live your life.

    Warm, healing hugs to you and yours,
    Fran

  8. There are no words I can think of that adequately convey what I want to say – I cannot imagine what this is like for you, and I’ll be praying for you & your family & your daughter.

  9. Oh, Lisa. I know what you mean about needing the work to keep your mind off things. It’s so easy to dwell and obsess. I wish I could wave a magic wand and make everything better. Know that you and that sweet girl are in my thoughts and my heart.

    xoxo,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

