Speed Sewing and Embroidery

Why is it that I wait till last minute to sew?  I mean, it’s Friday Morning and I’ve finished only one of the baby gifts!

BabyGarritano

My son’s class is throwing a Surprise baby shower for their teacher today.  There is also a Para (assistant teacher to a specific Special Education student).  The Para is not my son’s teacher, but is always there to lend a hand.  However, she’s not due with her baby until Fall.  So guess what?  I’ll work on her gift this weekend and send it in on Monday as to not take away anything from my son’s teacher’s party, right?

So you’re wondering what is my excuse for not getting everything done?  I mean, it’s not like I don’t have the necessary equipment.  It’s times like this that having 6 machines (3 sergers and 3 sewing/embroidery machines) comes in handy (not to mention the 3 industrial sewing machines in the garage).

I managed to make a twin-sized cotton and chenille blanket, an embroidered burp cloth, an embroidered bib, and put a quick applique on a onesie.  I added a plain pair of infant pants to complete the set.  My son’s teacher wants to be surprised, so she doesn’t know the gender of her baby.  Thus, the unisex baby gift.

As usual, I got sidetracked by my family.  Between getting Mr. Diva™ packed for a quick trip to Atlantic City (he thinks he’s the next Poker millionaire), dinner (via delivery, of course), and my son’s refusal to do his homework, the hours just slipped away.  Oh well.

Now to start my crazy day:

7:20 am – drive kids to school

8:15 am  to 8:45 am – Art Show at school

8:45 am – Drop off boxes to be shipped

9:15 am to 10:00 am – Plant Sale at school

10:15 am to 11:00am – buy birthday gift for friend

11:30 am to 1:00 pm – personal training at the Gym

1:30 pm – pick up son at school

2:00 pm – collapse from exhaustion

Hope your day is more exciting than mine!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. I think you forgot to schedule time for lunch!😉

  2. Oh those are totally cute!

  3. Someday, I swear, I am going to have an embroidery machine. Just look at all the fun stuff you can do with it! That teacher is a lucky little mama to get those gifts from you.

  4. iburp … idrool … ILOL! Too funny, and too cute!! Maybe I could make some for hubby and teenage sons that says ifar … uhhhh never mind😀

  5. Very cute! That’s given me ideas for what to do for my friend expecting twins in 2 months. If only you were in NZ with your 6 machines….

  6. Those are fab! I totally know what you mean about time getting away from you. It’s like, all of a sudden — wow! It’s May! School’s almost out. Gah!

  7. “he thinks he’s the next Poker millionaire)”

    made me honestly LOL

Leave a Reply

