Stitchin’ Up a Storm…Sewing and Embroidering Baby Gifts

 

Well, when it rains, it POURS!  Out of nowhere, babies are being born all around me…

Since Monday, I’ve added 4 new babies to my list:

2 boys, 1 girl and 1 surprise.  Now this wouldn’t be too bad except for the fact that 2 sets of gifts are due by Friday morning, 1 set is overdue (baby is now 3 weeks old!) and 1 is due next week.

Well, creating for the boys is easy enough for me.  It’s the UNISEX NO NAME baby gifts that always baffle me.  This unisex gift is for my son’s teacher.  They are having a surprise baby shower for her on Friday morning.

I searched “unisex baby gifts” online and came across two usable prints (which, of course, I have in my stash–act surprised..LOL):

mmbaconeggs

OOP Michael Miller’s Sunny Side Up

chopsticksplease

Robert Kaufman’s Chopsticks Please

I’m curious if any of my sewing buddies have the same problem as me…see, every time I need to make a baby gift, I go a little overboard with my thoughts…oh yeah, let me do one dozen burp cloths, 6 bibs, 2 blankets and heck, at least 3 onesies.  And it gets worse if it’s a girl…that darn Bowdabra gets the best of me.

Then as time slips away and reality hits, I come to the realization that I am no Domestic Diva, just a Domestic Disaster who dreams big.

You know what I mean.  You want to give the baby gift that gets all the “oohs” and “aahs.”  The one every other person only wishes they gave.  You are so past the bottle warmer and the cheesy plastic play mat gifts.  You’re much clever and can make anything with your sewing machine (or at least you tell yourself this).  But between family, home and your real business, there’s only so many hours in the day.

While on the subject of baby gifts, it just occurred to me burp clothes are shaped wrong.  I got a brilliant idea.  What if I changed the shape of a burp cloth to encompass an adult’s shoulder and add a curve at the side of the neck?  Something like this:

burpcloth

But that’s something for another day.  Now to see how much I can get done in my sewing room by then…UGH, UGH, UGH.  And crap…I think I’m down to just a few sheets of medium tear-away stabilizer…figures!

With friendship,

Lisa

divadisasterkey

Comments

  1. OMG, I just about choked on my Frosted Flakes. I am totally the overachiever when it comes to baby gifting. My SIL and I make it our personal goal to have the best gift at the shower. (we like to gift together as to not compete with each other…haha!)

  2. Okay, start designing that burp rag RIGHT NOW! Not to distract you from your clothing line, but that makes such good, practical sense. How come no one has thought of that before??

Leave a Reply

