Scenes from the Fashion Sketching Session

designing6

Two weeks ago, I had moved all my drawing supplies up into my bedroom, but I never touched any of it.  Out of sight, out of mind.

Spring has finally arrived in NYC!  It’s finally warm enough to use my second desk in the Garden Room.

 

 

 

Thank goodness for the invention of the iPod.  My kids don’t need to hear the bad lyrics their mother listens to…

designing1

Reading over my pattern making requirements, I’m wondering why all children’s clothing designers don’t use buttonhole elastic in their waistbands.  It would make life a whole lot easier to fit so many different children’s body types and would extend the use of the clothes…

designing3

Out came the colored pencils, the color trend sheets…

designing2

and the fabric printouts–I “think” I’ve narrowed it down to 6…

designing4

And so, the sketching of my boys’ clothing line begins…

designing5

Wish me luck!

lisasiggie2

 

Comments

  1. This is so great. I will be following your progress with eagerness. I wish you tons of success!
    🙂 Rosie

  2. Good luck! Can’t wait to see!

  3. Hi Diva🙂

    Where do you get your color/trend forcast from?
    Good luck with the skectches, I know they will be fabulous!!! and thank you for including the elactic buttonhole in pants, that is my biggest issue when buying my lil boy clothes, the wait is always too big😦

  4. I really, really want buttonhole elastic in my stuff too. I just wish I could find some that was affordable. Good luck with your sketching!

  5. Good luck..can’t wait to see!!!! What age range are you targeting? I was telling my husband how the older our son gets the harder it is to find him “cute” clothes. Of course his response was “I hope you aren’t finding “cute” clothes at his age” LOLOL

  6. I love the sneak peek into your creative process!

  7. Oh HOW FUN, Lisa! I am LOL at your iPod selection. hee hee. And I am loving your patternmaking pictures. I gotta get me some button-hole elastic… cool!!

  8. It is so fun to see your progress. I LOVE buttonhole elastic. I don’t think that I could dress my skinny children without it. It is the best thing since sliced bread. I agree that you should try to get it in your clothing. I do not buy anything that does not have and adjustable waist.

  9. Good luck with this venture! It is fun to watch you in action as you develop your boy’s clothing line.🙂

  10. Looks great – your sketches and the fabrics – congratulations! I can not wait to hear how it goes!

  11. Wishing you all the best dear girl!! Can’t wait to see the final designs.

    Hope you all had a wonderful and happy Easter!

    sheree

  12. Oh yes! Buttonhole elastic is a must! It’s so clever by enabling pants to last so much longer.

    I’m excited to see the process and progress of your boys line. I love your logo. It really stands out.

  13. OH! Good luck! How exciting! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! xo, Fran

  14. Can’t wait to see all those darling boy clothes. I also want to thank you for adding my blog to your blog roll. It is really appreciated. You have an open invite any time.

  15. i LOVE your blog and all the wonderful organizational tips I have found. i’m in the process of designing my own sewing area in the loft and am looking for every single way to utilize and organize a small space. thanks for all your tips🙂

  16. How exciting!! Good luck – can’t wait to see the designs.

  17. luck to you!
    Buttonhole elastic is truly a wonderful thing!

  18. Just a question, but isn’t the adjustable elastic waistband a design patent? Are you able to include that adjustable waist into your pants or do you need to obtain permission from the designer of that concept? I am just curious about fashion patents?

Leave a Reply

