Sew…What is Everyone Up To These Days?

ON MY DESK MEMEsr15

Saw this simple On My Desk Meme over at Jenny’s of All Sorts and figured I’d jump in…

As you can see, there is NOTHING on my desk…ROTFL!  It’s because I don’t know what to do next!  And then there’s this:

DISCONNECTED

unplug

Am I the only one feeling disconnected from my blog readers?  I guess what puzzles me is I get about 1,500 visits a day from different people…yet the same dozen bloggers leave comments.  Say HELLO–don’t be shy!  I like making new friends.

Anyway, I’m in a really weird place…feeling disconnected from my sewing room (umm, it might have something to do with having no heat in the sewing dungeon) and my nervousness about the upcoming launch of my boys’ clothing line.

To say I’m scared to death about the next few months would be putting it mildly.  I spend my days on the Internet checking out all the upcoming children’s trade show web sites, searching for pattern makers, cutters and sewing contractors, and then staring at my blank sketchpad.

CHILDREN’S CLOTHING TRADE SHOWS

I have the babysitter all lined up for Sunday so I can walk both the Bubble Show and ENK Children’s Club.  I really need to decide which of the two I want to launch at.  Although the Bubble Show is more appealing as it is smaller and less chaotic, the Children’s Club will give me much more exposure (or so I think).  While I’m at the show, I need to pay close attention to booth displays…to figure out what works and what doesn’t.  The one thing I have decided is I’m not going to get the smallest size booth…I’m shooting for the medium one (think it’s 5′ x 10′ at Bubble and 10′ x 10′ at ENK Children’s Club).  And then I need to make a deposit to secure my booth–it will make it “real” for me….KWIM?

displayrunnerLR

I was looking online at trade show booth displays and the cheapest one I can find is about $500.  Then there’s the graphics and/or posters…$$$!  Come to think of it, I have a table top display like this in my attic…perhaps I’ll have to make due until I can justify a 10′ x 8′ display.

SEW IT GOES

josiesetI FORCED myself to do a little sewing yesterday.  I finished up this peasant top to match the skirt for my niece.

It needs something on the shirt or perhaps a belt.

Any ideas?

 

 

 

MARCH OF THE TOOLS

MarchofToolsClover

Jumping on the bandwagon with Heather Bailey’s March of the Tools.  I just love tools…anything to make my life easier!

labelpt80

Hands down, my favorite and most often used tool is my Brother P-Touch Labeler.  Not only is it great for labeling every darn container in my sewing room, but I use it throughout my house.  The people at Staples must things I’m nuts…I’ve bought over 30 label makers during the last few months for Christmas gifts (they were a hit with the teachers).

cereal

I get excited when I manage to label every Tupperware container in my pantry.  It’s a sickness, I tell ya.

 

GOOD MAIL

Look what came from Sandy!

nailfile

A sewing themed nail file to smooth out the rough spots!

minisewingstuff

I’m thinking she’s been watching my bidding history as I’ve been trying to win these miniature sewing goodies on Ebay for over a month!

 

minithread

Check out this miniature thread rack…OMG, it’s so tiny!!!

 

 

 divasticker

 

She even sent me this big honkin’ DIVA sticker!

Sandy, you’re the best!

Thank you so much! 

GREEN GOODNESS

greencupcakes

Whipped up some Green Frosted Cupcakes.  Never know when a hungry leprechaun will stop by.

DON’T FORGET

There’s still time…join in the fun!

What is Your Favorite Thing You’ve Ever Made?

Another Contest – Fabric Giveaway

Hope your weekend is off to a great start!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. I guess since you called out your lurkers, I’ll go first. I love your domestic divaness. You are very talented, therefore I love your blog.🙂 There I did it..lol I’m Trina by the way.

    P.S. I love the leopard print cupcake paper.

  2. Hello Domestic Diva. I just found your blog two days ago. I stumbled upon your pictures in Flickr while looking for inspiration for my new craft room/office. Your sewing room is fabulous. I am just starting to learn how to sew. I look forward to seeing more of your posts. Good luck on the Downtown Joey launch.

  3. I am posting to tell you that I am here… reading.. or checking out your crazy life! You know I don’t even know how to sew a button on my pants but I still like checking you out for all your great ideas :o)

  4. I’m venturing out of the shadows to leave you a comment. I like making new friends too! I love your blog! The skirt for your neice is adorable! From now on I will be better about commenting on all the blogs I subscribe to. Everyone likes to hear a positive word. Thanks for saying something! Have a wonderful, lovely, creative day!

  5. How about a flower of sorts on the waist of that adorable top?

  6. I love your blog, too! The peasant top is darling. (sorry for not posting before)

  7. Hey Lisa,
    Always lurking here…thought I would say hey!

    hehe

    Amy

  8. Hi Lisa. My name is Adriane. I have been lurking on your blog for a while now and I love it. You are a permanent member on my feed list. I came across you on Fashion-Incubator (I love Kathleen). I am a former fashion student who dreamed of being a patternmaker, but shit happens. I think you are very talented and wickedly funny. I’m hoping I will be inspired to dust off my sewing machine and start making myself clothes that fit my body and stop wishing all manufacturers, who only seem to make size 2s (IT’S NOT EVEN A REAL SIZE!), would die. Anywho…sorry I tend to ramble. Just wanted to say hello.

  9. Hellloooo! (waving frantically from the other side of the world). Don’t stress – I’m sure you’ll be fine, whichever show you choose. My parents used to do shows and DM mantra was ‘you can never have too big a stall!’
    (and thank you for putting my blog on your sidebar!🙂 )
    Love the green cupcakes!

  10. Hi Diva, regarding the little skirt and blouse…needs the pink near the face too. Neck ruffle…little bow..Maybe at the waist too.

    Regarding the booth….any plain black background will do you well. You are just trying to create a clean slate for your show. blocking out the “theme” colors of the event. Also…the more open your booth is the more people will come in and look around. I’ve done a lot of trade shows….If you make your displays interesting you are home free. Compete with the “big guys” with your line…not your booth.

  11. I know I have lurked here for awhile and have only reached out to get a name/website info from you, but I do love reading your blog and think you are really brave for jumping in with both feet and pushing your line. I takes guts! I was running my own cake decorating business for awhile and got tired of ungrateful customers and bridzillas so I decided to find a better cratetive outlet (with less calories!) and refreshed and increased my sewing skills. Now I have upgraded to a digital sewing machine and have my very own embroidery machine. Reading blogs like yours help me to remember to not just create for others but for myself as well. I stumbled onto your blog while searching for sewing room organization ideas and have stayed to laugh and learn. Thanks for the info and the chuckles.

  12. I got the book today!
    https://thedomesticdiva.wordpress.com/2008/02/04/free-sewing-book-giveaway-and-a-quick-serger-gathering-tutorial-because-the-ny-giants-rock/

    I’ve already found several crafts I want to attempt. Thanks so much, Lisa!

  13. My tummy would be full of butterflies thinking about launching my own line. I am so excited to see how your display ends up, I am sure it will be amazing!

  14. Even as nervous as you are, don’t forget to “live” every moment of the adventure. You will be having your 25 year anniversary for the line before you know it. So try to remember to enjoy and embrace every second.

    The favorite thing I ever made was the first real outfit I ever made. My mom helped me to make a pink, double knit pantsuit. I wear it in my eighth grade fashion show and the commentator announced I made it and the crowd gave me a thunderous applause.

  15. Hello! I love your On my desk… shot. Your desk & creative space look so inviting. Hope everything goes well with the upcoming trade fair.

  16. Janice Mercieri says:

    I had to post. I spent about an hour going through your site and love it. I’m in the process of converting a walk-in attic into a “penthouse sewing/craft room”. There is lots of natural light and super convenient. I can leave projects out while working on them. I can’t wait until it is finished and use some of your and your bloggers great ideas!.

    Thanks again,

    Janice

  17. Socialite Sister says:

    Josie’s outfit looks adorable. How about a tie belt with a big flower that has some bling in the center. That might work…

  18. Waving to all my friends…new and old! Stick around! I love the company!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  19. Hi, Diva, great blog. That fabric on your ironing board(??) looks like the fabric I made my daughter’s dorm room pillows from. No?
    Dorm Room Decor

Leave a Reply

