Children’s Clothing Business, Web Site, Trade Shows and Fabric Sourcing

WEB SITE DEVELOPMENT

downtownjoeyskyline2

Ingrid continues to refine the logo for my new Downtown Joey web site.  So far, I’m loving it!  Can’t wait to see it once she adds the “grunge” effect.

FABRIC SOURCING

latexshow

Today I’m hoping to book my hotel and flight to California so I can attend the LA International Textile Show from April 14th to April 16th with Myrinda.  In hopes of finally finding some good boy knits, I will also be visiting all the fabric wholesalers in the LA Fashion District.  It will be nice to go away without Mr. Diva and the Rugrats…LOL!

CHILDREN’S CLOTHING TRADE SHOWS

I’ve been trying to decide on which children’s trade show to launch my boys’ clothing line.  There are several I am considering for August of this year.

I’ll be “walking” the Bubble and ENK Children’s trade shows next weekend to reacquaint myself with each show:

logo-bubble-new

Bubble New York

March 9th – March 11th at 269 11th Avenue (between 27th and 28th Streets) in NYC.

This is the smaller of the two shows with less than 100 companies and only 4 or 5 boys’ clothing lines.

enk

ENK Children’s Club

March 9th – March 11th at the Jacob Javitz Center (11th Avenue at 35th Street) in NYC.  This show is much larger and also much more expensive.  Not to mention, there are more than 60 boys’ clothing lines.

Both trade shows will do the Spring / Summer 2009 launch from August 3rd – August 5th.  I need to make a commitment to one of them.

Then there are two other trade shows in Las Vegas August 25th – August 28th which are interesting:

Magic Kids

magickids

The cost is VERY high…currently $3,995 for a bare bones 10′ x 10′ booth and $5,300 for a booth with hanging rods, shelves and lighting.

KIDShowLVLogo

Kid Show in Las Vegas is being held the same time as Magic Kids.  I’m sure the cost is much less, but it is a much smaller show from what I understand.

kidsshow2

Kid Show also has a trade show in Atlantic City, NJ (about 2 hours from me in NYC) on August 21st and August 22nd.

I’m hoping after next week I can make my decision and then work toward preparing for the show.

Hope everyone’s day is off to a great start!

lisasiggie2

 

 

Comments

  1. Wishing you much success. This is so exciting🙂 Rosie

  2. Lynn (47cats) says:

    Good luck Lisa! I will be able to say “I knew her when…” LOL

  3. I can not recall where you are located – if I may, go to the closest location – that costs you the least amount of money. It will cost you some, but find the most economical way to go. Congratulations on the new line of products – I can not WAIT to see the line!! Have you considered the ABC Kids Expo? Or a smaller venue like Atlanta (which is quite large – but may be cheaper). Or have you considered sales reps? So you can get your products in other parts of the country?? Just food for thought….best of luck, I know you will be a huge success!

  4. Personally, I think you should come to Americasmart down here — but there might be a bit of selfish motivation in that.🙂

  5. A trip by yourself to find fabric for your own line…it sounds like heaven to me!

  6. Very exciting! I would love to attend any of those trade shows! The new logo is looking awesome as well!

  7. Lisa, your new website has a fantastic look so far! I am really excited for you. Congratulations!!

    Have fun shopping with Myrinda🙂

  8. thanks girls!

    Oh, I’m coming to Americasmart…don’t you worry, LOL!

    Fabric shopping with Myrinda is always a HOOT!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  9. bridgene graham says:

    I am currently doing a project on the Premier KIDS trade show that takes place in nov and july in the NEC Birmingham. you should check the website out as it is a great show that attracts visitors from all over the world and is the biggest show in the UK. bridgene

  10. Hi…Kim From Corky & Company here..here’s my 2 cents on shows. October & March Children’s club shows are the “biggies” august and jan are secondary(jan is a must for us because of outerwear). Not sure if you are familiar with our line, but we’ve been in the kids business for 15 years and have 4 labels. We skip the august show in new york and do the kid show in Las Vegas for a couple of reasons. The new york show is too early for the buyers to buy spring, and too late for fall unless you have immediates for them to fill in with. It is also “back to school” season which sometimes makes it harder for the stores to attend. It seems buyers are shopping for “itemy” things i.e. hair bows, plush toys, novelties, christening dresses, etc. Not their Main line “buys”.
    We used to do Magic show, but we got lost at that show….it is a sea of Licensed apparel ….barbie, sponge bob, Nick jr, etc, etc. and draws that type of customer…ie: Sears, Walmart, JC Penney, etc. The specialty stores & catalogs shop at the Kids show and that is where the higher end & boutique lines show.
    I would recommend you show your line at the Children’s Club NYC and the Kid show Las Vegas & Atlantic city.
    Our sales reps also do their own regional shows…which they pay for…YAY…LOL…
    Good luck, let me know if I can be of any help….Kim

  11. Congrats and welldone. I am opening an online lingerie shop for kids in september, if your prices are good, I can introduce you in my target market. I cannot disclose this information here. Until I hear from you.

  12. I would definintely check out the ABC KIds Show in Vegas. It completely blows the other shows away. But dont take my word for it. See for yourself at http://www.theabcshow.com It was worth every penny to me. Great booth cost and a ton of fun to attend,

  13. Im sitting here with lots of inventory and no outlet. Had a bad experience with a shop last summer wher we did a great business , but the owner was not honest and i had to get to get out ,,So I know i have a great line but do not know where to promote it . Someone mentioned i look into trade shows ..And here i’m,,,What do you have for advice . I live in Saratotga ny so im interested in the nj ny area…Linda
    tlfishhouse@aol.com

  14. Linda…sorry to hear of your bad experience. Not sure what advise to give. Trade shows are expensive–and probably not the venue you need to get rid of existing stock. You could try contacting local children’s boutiques to see if they are interested. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. […] marketing endevour for first time exhibiting can be quite frustrating, I recently read a post at Domestic Diva that brought to light the struggles of exhibiting for first […]

  2. […] I am currently doing a project on the Premier kids trade show that takes place in nov and july …https://thedomesticdiva.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/childrens-clothing-business-web-site-trade-shows-and…What do think about the leash that some people use on their kids?… think it’s horrible and it just […]

Leave a Reply

