Production in NYC Clothing Manufacturing Workshop

 sweatshopNYC

Well, I’ve been dying to tell you about Liza D’s Fashion School in New York City.  On January 19th, I gathered my boys’ clothing line sewn samples, my fabric and trim receipts, my favorite book and a blank pad of paper.

I couldn’t have been more excited.  Finally, I was going to meet others who were about to embark on the journey of producing their own clothing lines.

Nine other individuals attended the Production in NYC workshop with me.   Each one was so different from the other–one had a women’s lounge wear company, another was about to product a women’s clothing line, and my favorite was a sweet lady who made the most awesome women’s high-end creations.  Then there was little old me with my boys’ line.

redskate1

I was smart to bring a bunch of sewn samples from my line as our vibrant teacher, Liza, used them as examples when figuring out costs of production.  Both my snap down shirts and pants were cost-effective.  They can be manufactured to easily make a profit.

camotest1

However, it seems I’m going to have to figure out how to decrease the production costs of my knit shirts.  The cost of applique is the problem (approximately $2 wholesale).  I could do the applique myself as I have 3 embroidery machines.  However, that defeats the purpose.  And what happens if I get several hundred orders for appliqued knit shirts, KWIM?

We learned about Cut Tickets, Costing Sheets and Margins.  I was surprised to learn there is a $100 cutting table fee in Manhattan in addition to regular cutting fees.  I wonder if those same table fees apply in Brooklyn (another suburb of NYC).

Liza also discussed patternmakers, cutters, markers and sewing contractors.  I’m thinking I want to do both my cutting and sewing in Brooklyn–it’s just a few minutes from my home and would be much more convenient than going into Manhattan (not to mention the tunnel toll and $40 parking costs).

757px-Garment_District_NYWTS

The workshop was definitely worth the price for the amount of information I acquired.  I so enjoyed interacting with Liza–she’s a down-to-earth gal with a spunky personality.  I couldn’t help but like her!

I’m awaiting to hear the date of her NYC 2-Day workshop (I attended the mini workshop) as I’m definitely going!  There are several upcoming classes throughout the country.  Check it out!

Speaking of clothing manufacturing in Brooklyn, I spent 4 hours last night googling sewing contractors.  I found tons of them in Brooklyn, but will have to call each one to find out if they are what I’m looking for.  I’m hoping to find a “cut and sew” contractor, so I don’t have to go to two separate contractors.  If anyone has a reliable sewing contractor who does children’s wear in Brooklyn, NY, let me know.

Happy Sewing!

With friendship,

Lisa

divashirt

Comments

  1. Wow sounds like it was indeed worth it. Best of luck with your search for all you need as you continue to fulfill your dreams.

    BTW, love the couture pieces by your classmate.

  2. The class sounds awesome! I am jealous you live so close to so many contractors!

  3. How exciting!
    Can you believe it’s actually happening? Does it feel surreal at all?

  4. I’m glad that was such a good class! Good luck finding the right people to work with.

  5. Wowee! Sounds too exciting! I’m happy for you.

  6. Wow, that’s a whole lotta good information! I would have thought you’d have to go overseas for production – I had no idea that it would be cost effective to have things made in the US. And no, I guess you wouldn’t want to be responsible for any of the process yourself – that’s WAY too much pressure! You’re moving right along – thanks for posting about the process – it’s definitely interesting!

  7. Did you find someone to sew your clothes?

  8. Hi my name is clive and i’m looking for a job as a machine mechanic,i have ten year experience.Looking forward for a reply,thank you.

  9. ALICIA JOHNSON says:

    HI I AM TRYING TO GET SOME INFO ON MANUFACTURING OF MY OWN CLOTHING LINE I HAVE MY OWN DESIGNS TO BUILD MY LINE FROM. CAN YOU PLEASE SEND ME SOME INFORMATION

    THANK YOU VERY KINDLY

Leave a Reply

