Name My Serger Contest–Win FREE FABRIC!

All fabric are now folded…just need to store them.  I’ll do that the day after Christmas–well, after I come home from the After Christmas sales…LOL!

allfolded

I’m thinking it’s time once again to get rid of many of the fabrics that no longer put a twinkle in my eye.  My tastes have changed as have my sewing business needs.

 clean

It feels good to have my cutting table clear again…oh, how I missed it!

By the way–do you name your sewing machines and sergers?  Of course, I do…from Left to Right:

1- Rosie (Viking Rose)

2 – newer nameless Viking 936 serger (set up for 4 thread)

3 – Lulu (old Viking 936 serger set up for coverstitching)

4 – Martha (Viking Designer 1)

5 – Bertha (Viking 905 which I finally pushed it to the back of the table to make room for the other machines)

6 – Iris (Viking Iris).

So here’s a little contest to win some free fabric from me–NAME MY SERGER (#2)!  You can post as many names as you’d like.  I’ll pick a winner on December 31st!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and really enjoy it. This is my first post…what came to mind is Pinky (Tuscadero). Pinky was the Fonz’s girlfriend, if you recall and she drove a hot rod. Well, the 936 is the “hot rod” of the Viking serger line-up and I KNOW you love pink🙂

    – Jen B

  2. Since the serger is a Viking…how about Ingrid? The name is of Scandinavian and Old Norse origin and its meaning is “Ing’s beauty”.

    Love reading you blog daily! Take care & happy holidays!

  3. Nancy Sue is amazing. She whirs along at lightening speed, creating beauty and function from bits and pieces of fabric. Nothing daunts her – she is dependable and indomitable. More than a machine, Nancy Sue is an artist’s dream.

  4. I always name my machines, I mean it’s like a friend, our friends have names, I have a slack Susie Singer and a Jenny Janome. Now for your serger. Hildegard such a strong name, or Alfrun which means secret, hidden knowledge. It’s late and my brain doesn’t function well at this time of the night. I’m sure you’ll get a good selection to choose from.

  5. I read your blog through my RSS feed and you’ve always got some pretty cool stuff going on. I always wish I had more time for crafting/sewing.

    My name idea is Adena, it sounds like it goes well with the other names when you say them all together, and it means “decoration” in Hebrew.

  6. astrid – norse, meaning “divine strength”

    val – short for “valkyrie.” the valkyries were norse goddesses who took the slain warriors off to valhalla. strong female deities.

    teri

  7. I suggest “Violet” for your Viking. It just seems to go with the names of your other machines.

  8. I am thinking about Veronica as a name for your serger. The name means bringing victory. Completing a sewing project gives one a sense of victory. Merry Christmas!

  9. Myrtle… It was my grandma’s name and she was a strong, scandanavian woman.

  10. How about Penelope? And you can call her Penny for short…hopefully whatever you make on her will bring in a “pretty penny”!

    Merry Christmas Lisa!

  11. I prefer Gertrude and Esther.

  12. My two are Helga or Ingrid.

  13. i vote for bessie

  14. I haven’t named my sewing machine but I do think of it as having a very distinct personality. I like Greta for your Viking. Or Hilda. Or Connie. Or Cassie. Or Debra. Or or or…

  15. I think sergers needs to have a name with attitude. Since Bertha is already taken my suggestion is Rizzo.

    go

  16. (above) that as supposed to say “good luck deciding on a name!”

  17. Very fun contest – I’ve been reading your blog for a bit, and quite enjoy it. I think Claire is a good name for your serger. Not sure why, but I think it fits with your other names.

  18. Serging Suzie or Bethany,

    Traci

  19. You girls are the BEST!!! I see at least 5 possibilities!

    Still time to my more name suggestions!

    Hope everyone is all ready for tomorrow!

    Happy Holidays!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  20. Here’s my first post thou i’ve been reading for a bit, here’s a list of names hopefully to tickle your fancy and win me some fabric! LOL Flattery and Laughter helps right?

    1. Margaret
    2. Peggy
    3.Noelle
    4. Tweety
    5. Anita
    6. Merry (since you got it around the holidays?)
    7. Keisha
    8. Laura
    9. L’Kia (pronoucned either like the car or like KI-te)
    10. Martha

    Yay for names!!

  21. my computer won’t go to name my serger….if ok like this: Betsy gail gailcsir@verizon.net thank you

  22. Several have suggested Susie which is okay for a serger but doesn’t Suzette give it an extra zing!

  23. I have to go with Grace or Chloe.

    Merry Christmas. I really enjoy your blog. It’s so inspiring!

  24. Okay, I know its a mainly female vibe happening…but downtown joey needs some hip male happenings…thus I present to you…

    Sven

    Sven is a trusty and loyal companion. He will plow throw many many layers of hip and cool fabrics with ease and wrap it all up with the right amount of tension. Plus, he promises to only whisper sweet nothings and keep going when you need him too.

  25. Dalilah!

    Oh Eileen, you’re good!🙂

  26. I’m a junkie for your blog. Thank you for posting such awesome stuff.🙂 Merry Christmas.

    Anabelle
    Elizabeth
    Bethany
    Geraldine
    Opal
    Pearl

  27. I think the new machine should be called Sergia. Get it? It’s a serger….so call her Sergia. Okay, I have eaten lots of food over the past few days, and perhaps its starting to affect my thinking, LOL

  28. some scandinavian names I like are:
    HANNE
    KAIA
    NISSA
    BRITTA (UNLESS IT REMINDS YOU OF A WATER FILTER!)

  29. I really like eileen’s idea of adding a man into your mix!

    How about Elvis –just because it’s ELVIS–

    or Oscar…that name seems to fit with the ones you already have!

    Keep blogging! You entertain and inspire me!

  30. LOL! I thought I was the only one who did this. My machine is Martha too and my serger is Ella (the Elna).

    I think Eileen has it totally wrapped up with Sven but that photo of your stash has me drooling so I’ve just got to give it a shot.
    And I agree it just has to be a Viking name.. soooo….
    I humbly submit:
    Frigga – Odin’s wife, and “mother of all”..

    And this is my irreverant Irish coming through, but that’s a heck of a good name for when you get annoyed with those ineveitable serger-stop-ups… “Oh FRIGGA frickin, frappin…..!!”
    ;-D

  31. How about Venus – The Goddess of Love and Beauty. For the love of your craft and the beautiful things you create.

  32. Vicky the Vicking?

  33. What a lovely sewing room!

    My suggestions are Mabel or Ruby. I just love those names!

  34. Oh, she is an Audrey for sure! Rosie, Martha, Lulu, Bertha, Iris and AUDREY! Perfect!

    Or how about Ruby, a good old fashioned name, strong but beautiful, Just like my little girl!

    Merry Christmas!

  35. Boy name – Thord
    Girl name – Svala
    Thord is strong and ready to battle. No matter what project you throw at him he’ll fight to the finish!
    Svala is pretty and ready to work hard. She’ll stand by you to get the job done.

  36. Gosh…seems you girls have been racking your brains…LOL!

    I’m seeing several I love!

    Still time to make some more suggestions! Keep the names coming!

    Hope everyone is recovering from yesterday!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  37. I found my notebook with my favorite names so here’s some more!

    1. Branwen
    2.Neala
    3. Dalila
    4. Lorrella
    5. Nealie
    6. Gizela
    7. Moswen
    8. Naeemah
    9. Avarona

    On a side note, Neala, Dalila, and Gizela do not come up on spell checker as misspelled words…how odd.

  38. I found my notebook with my favorite names so here’s some more!

    1. Branwen
    2.Neala
    3. Dalila
    4. Lorrella
    5. Nealie
    6. Gizela
    7. Moswen
    8. Naeemah
    9. Avarona

    On a side note, Neala, Dalila, and Gizela do not come up on spell checker as misspelled words…how odd.

  39. I love your blog…here are my suggestions…

    1. Isabeau (Izzy, for short)
    2. Orla
    3. Lomena
    4. Mira
    5. Vivica

    … The first one is my daugther’s name and the second is what I wanted to name her…the third is her middle name….

    I usually just call her Princess Izzy with her big blue eyes and blonde curls that seem to form a halo of rings around her head.

    Here’s hoping her name brings many creative inspirations.

    Deta

  40. Leona

    because she’s a take charge lean mean serging machine.. she kicks butt and makes it happen..🙂

  41. How about Samia or Inga or Edita?
    Or if you go for a boy’s name: Thore, Nils or Malte.

  42. I’d call her The Callas or Callie in short because that’s a true Diva’s name for a magical 4 thread serger! Following the same idea/person ;o), I also like Maria. Isn’t Maria a perfect name?

  43. How about:
    Fifi
    Or perhaps:
    Grace
    I name my machines too. I also have named my sewing dummy.

  44. Ok….

    How about …

    Silky
    Mei Ling
    Mater (had to say it – my little boy loves the movie Cars)
    Hollygolightly
    Deta
    Lady

    another list to add…

    Denise

  45. Sunny is bright & shiny

  46. I have a suggestion for the name of your serger…how about Florence and you can call her “Flo” for shorts…
    Because projects would just flow right out of her! LOL

    Have fun! (Wishing for fabric)

    Sandy

  47. WOW!!! You girls ROCK!

    BE SURE TO LEAVE YOUR URL OR EMAIL IN CASE YOU’RE THE LUCKY WINNER!

    Keep the names coming…still a few more days to post your suggestions!

    Have a great one!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  48. haven’t read to see if this is a duplicate but:

    Sergio

    Who says all your machines have to be girls?

  49. Hanna….
    I don’t know why this name is ringing in my head, but it is….
    Good luck with the name and I love your room!!

  50. What about Shawna or Charlotte. How about Scottie or Augustus. LOL. Abigail or Dolores. LOL.

  51. well, when I saw you already had Martha and Rosie, I thought of two other famous women with talk shows: Oprah and Ellen.
    But for a boy, it made me think of “Lyle the kindly Viking” from veggietales.

  52. What fun!
    I think maybe Bella for that big old girl. or perhaps Helga.
    Mirilla, Portia, anything with some heft would be really fine…what a workhorse…oh I know how about Philomina…Philly for short!
    This is fun…hate to stop but its time for sleep.
    Good night ladies and happy new year to all!

  53. Sven says…

    I vunt to wrap your cloth wif my threads baby.

    Vrosie…move a little closer darling.

  54. I haven’t named my sewing machines, but I do have names for some of my furniture! Saves confusion, when you can tell the children to look in Mrs. Svensen or in Paul or Paulette for something, instead of “in that cabinet, table, etc.”!

    For the serger, I like something of Norse origin:
    Freya – after the goddess of love & fertility
    Gunhilde – battle maiden
    Astrid – divine strength
    Lene – distinguished
    Hildegard – armored fighting maiden
    Truda – strong

    or here is a good one: Ginnungagap – “The abyss that births all living things. Suitable only for girls. It is not so popular name.” (I wonder why!)

    Have fun! 🙂

  55. How about Sergio?

  56. Here’s another round……

    1. Anya (means “splendor)
    2. Gormlaith (gorm “illustrious” or “splendid” and flaith “queen,
    princess”)
    3. Isadora
    4. Kiera
    5. Poplin
    6. Faith
    7. Hope

    OK…I guess, I really, really want that fabric…so here is round 3…lol

    Denise
    bband40s@gmail.com

  57. I DON’T KNOW BOUT A SEWING MACH. BUT I NAMED MY HARLEYS SWEET ILLUSIONS & ELECTRIC SILVER BULLET. OF COURSE I LOVE THE NAME PRINCESS ABARIE & PRINCE ELEGANT OR STAS. GOOD LUCK ***SIM’ARIA*** AKA ****SPARKLES***

  58. how about ” Sophia ” for a name
    its sounds very sophisticated- (wise) which you are and am sure the new sewing machine will prove to be

  59. ok now for a boys name..
    ” Moses “

  60. I can’t think of a better strong Norwegian name than Norma. This also happens to be my grandmother’s name so I’m a little biased about it. Good luck with picking a name for your new baby. Take care, Cory

  61. Eleanore
    Kieran
    Colin
    Dannon
    Lightening
    Dita
    Frida
    Picassa
    Cat

    I love thinking of names….it’s a wonder it took me so long to name my little ones.

    Denise
    bband40s@gmail.com

  62. Dear Diva

    How your fans adore you. I think your serger is the baby sister of all those big boys and girls and so her nickname should be Sis. My grandmothers name was Sis not for sister but for Agnes. It has always been in the back of my mind. Keep on blogging you always give me a lift.

  63. I’ll give it a shot, but you have a lot of great names posted here. How about Stefania, Reliable Rose, or Victoria? Just found your blog and am really enjoying it.

  64. Helena – pronounced with the H silent
    Caire
    Kayla
    Lucky
    Philomena
    Morty
    Ellis – my grandfather’s name (his bday was New Year’s Day)
    Lambchop
    Gwen

    ok…enough from me…Happy New Year’s in NY…one day we will be there…here’s to a great 2008!!!!!

    Denise
    bband40s@gmail.com

  65. Eileen Ostrowsky says:

    Serger Name: Big Bertha
    (It’s my Mom’s name so I am only ofending her!)

    Eileen Ostrowsky

  66. Henrietta
    Penelope
    Maude
    Frannie
    Hortense
    Georgia
    Those are a few I could come up with!! I love your sewing room!!! I hope to have one soon (once my youngest boy moves in his brother’s room.

  67. Hmmm I’m going with Simone, after Nina Simone. They’re both classics and she’s the original diva, very fitting for a diva’s machine😉 Plus Simone is just one of those *wow* names

    I’m so old school lol

  68. Gloria!
    Or my second nomination would be Trudi

  69. I think you need a man in the group…how about Sven? Tryg?

  70. Mona? Lucia? Gertrud? The last one would be a good name for a serger; it means ”force of a lance” in ancient german🙂

  71. A serger needs a good sturdy name. How about Hester, Hildi, or Bettina?

  72. 4 horse Viky, 4 love cones, 4 love, Sew with 4, Cute worker, SEw horse, Sew molly

  73. Here’s some more!!! I can’t help myself!

    1. Vi
    2. Brietta
    3. Moya
    4. Efia
    5.Larissa

    Ok, that’s all I have, I swear!!!

  74. I’d go with Thor. And don’t hide the mead!

    Sheila

  75. Isis
    Rhiannon
    Dharma
    Athena
    Flora
    Aine
    Psyche
    Pele
    Cailleach
    Pax
    Inanna
    Minerva
    Laka
    Harmonia
    Hi’aika
    Arianrhod
    Luna
    Ginny
    Patches
    Snowflake
    Frostie
    Sean
    Tinker
    Shrek
    Fiona

    This is it…I promise…..LOL…..

    Denise/Deta
    bband40s@gmail.com

  76. Like others, I do think that you should have a male in the midst just to help the girls out with their workload and I vote for Leif. Strong name for a strong machine that has character and like the explore will take you in new directions in 2008 especially with your Downtown Joey line. 🙂

    Happy New Year!!!

  77. ******TIME IS UP***********

    WOW! You girls are a RIOT!

    No more submissions…I’ll announce the WINNER today!

    Thanks to everyone for their awesome names!

    Wishing you all things good in the New Year!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  78. Wow – what a neat post! I believe I got to your site through etsy.com or through someone that’s on etsy…anyway, you have so many wonderful organizational ideas! I’m definitely going to add you to my RSS feed!!!! Take care and have a great 2008!

  79. thanks Dana! wishing you all things good in 2008!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  80. I would name her Sally – the name flows….Sally Serger…

  81. OMG! I loves the fabric that u had. I wish i can get the similar like that on my country. whare are u? fashion designer?

  82. Deb…contest ended…LOL.

    Rinisoe…thanks! I’m a clothing designer per se…I prefer to call myself a Designer Entrepeneur…

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Trackbacks

  1. […] Name My Serger Contest has now come to an end.  I received over 200 name suggestions for my 2nd Husqvarna Viking 936 […]

Leave a Reply

