SEW Thrilled to See NEW Michael Miller Fabrics and then some

Nothing is more exciting to a seamstress than when fabric manufacturers release their new fabric designs.

I must say Michael Miller Fabrics is my favorite fabric manufacturer by far.  I do love Robert Kaufman and Alexander Henry.  And once in a while, I’ll come across a neat Timeless Treasures fabric I must have.  However, Michael Miller is always fresh and hip.  And it’s tough when you’re designing a boys’ clothing line…especially since my line, Downtown Joey, is all about being cool, not grungy or babyish.  Kaufman has a tendency to make their skulls look scary…whereas Michael Miller’s skulls are almost cute (i.e., goth baby).  And then there’s the fabric quality issue–Timeless Treasures’ quality just isn’t as impressive as Michael Miller’s IMHO.

2008 is an exciting year for me as I launch Downtown Joey to the wholesale market and do my first trade show.  I almost always get my design inspiration from the actual fabric print and then add coordinating solids and stripes.

I’ve already got my eye on these ones for the boys:

Michael Miller’s Latest Fabrics

C3382_Red

Red Guitar Solos

C3343_Retro

Retro Paddle Ball

C3389_Sky

Sky Sailor Swirl

C3390_sky

Sky Sailor Symbols

C3390_Black

Black Sailor Symbols

C0886_Sky

Sky Crib Check

C0886_Black

Black Crib Check

C0886_Turq

Turquoise Crib Check

 C3584_Keylime

Keylime Clown Stripe

C3584_Espresso

Espresso Clown Stripe

C3584_Sky

Sky Clown Stripe

C3584_White

White (Black) Clown Stripe

Robert Kaufman Fabrics

kaufmanAPA-7707-199

Blue Toys

kaufmanjunglepatriotsAKC-7555-48

Jungle Patriots

kaufmanblackpatriotstartsESK-7557-2

Black Patriot Stars

kaufmantanpatriotsAKC-7555-13

Tan Patriots

kaufmanpistachioripstopUPC-7744-52 kaufmanbrownripstopUPC-7744-16

Pistachio and Brown Rip Stop…actually I’ve already ordered this durable rip stop fabric in both colors…it should be here any day!

Timeless Treasures Fabrics

ttdaisy-c2937-brown

Gatsby Brown Daisy

ttdaisy-c2940-cream

Gatsby Cream Daisy Stripe

ttdan-c3107-lime

Dan Norris Lime Bugs

tttoulesseera-c3114-aqua

Toulouse

ttera-c2973-chartreuse

Young, Fresh & New Chartreuse

ttyoungfreshnew-c2972-turq

Young, Fresh & New Turquoise

ttera-c2973-lime

Young, Fresh & New Lime

ttgm-c2411-navy

Navy Handcuffs

Enjoy the view!  Happy Sewing!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. Greatest of luck with your line! Could you tell me what sizes you have in the Downtown Joey line? I have a grandson who is going to get one of these outfits for Christmas if you’ll have any available.
    Thanks for the embroidery pointers on my blog!!! I’ll be checking out those bibs from Loveable Friends.
    Mary

  2. thanks Mary! currently I do size 12 months – size 8. I have a few up on Etsy under thedomesticdiva if you are interested.

    Good luck on your embroidery!

Leave a Reply

