Step Away from the Sewing Machine…

dangerous_www-txt2pic-com

It all started last night while completing my pincushion for the Sew Mama Sew Handmade Holidays’ happenings…

Decorated the top of the pincushion fabric, sewed it up leaving a 2 inch hole for turning, ironed it, stuffed it (wow…I couldn’t believe how much batting I needed to make it plump!) and then the real fun began.

First let me say I am a hand sewing disaster.  I’ve attempted bullion roses, french knots, silk ribbon embroidery and heirloom hand stitches…and each one was worse than the last.

divapincushion

For some reason, adding 150 feet of tulle onto a skirt hem by machine is no problem for me.  However, sewing a simple running stitch to close the darn pincushion was difficult.  Perhaps I overstuffed the stupid thing…and once I finished stitching it closed, I added the black embroidery floss (which stained my fingers black).  Trying to keep the floss taut used all my strength.  And yes, I drew blood twice sticking the needle into my fingers.

So when it came time to add the pretty PINK rhinestone button in the center, I thought it would be wise to pull out the handy dandy glue gun…DONE!

I have a new respect for April aka Momosclothes.  She’ll be making all my future pincushions for me.  I surrender.

The Force is With You

Question:  Can you guess what my son had me making this morning?

pattern

Answer:  The smallest darn Star Wars’ Jedi robe for his 5″ Anakin Luke Skywalker figurine…complete with sleeves and hood…ugh!

luke

All was going well until I thought I was smarter than my sewing machine…THUMP…my thumb got caught under the needle bar severing a small chunk of flesh.  Now when I’ve done this in the past, I automatically pull my thumb from under the evil force of the machine…but no, I must have not had enough coffee as I let the needle bar hammer down on my thumb 5 more times.

I Should Be Up for Sainthood Any Day Now

Today’s plan was to sew up a quick St. Joseph’s costume for my little hurricane, Joseph.  He and his fellow 1st Grade classmates will all be decked tomorrow in their Saint costumes in honor of a belated All Saints Day celebration.  I had hoped to “leisurely” sew it throughout the day.

Wouldn’t you know it–Mr. Diva™ got the bright idea to bring a two of his Sunday morning Bowling Buddies and one of their kids over to my house for lunch unannounced.  Lovely, just lovely.  To top it off, he and his friends decided to go for a ride and leave the kid with me…WTH?  I don’t watch kids…I never pass up an opportunity to pay some unsuspecting babysitter to watch mine…think what you want…that’s just the way it is.

stjoseph

So after I finally got rid of our “company,” I got to work on the St. Joseph costume.  I could have easily purchased a store bought robe and been done with it…but no, I have to show up the other class mothers (admit it, all you seamstress mommies out there do it, too).  Will my son remember in a year from now that his costume was made with his mother’s bruised fingers?  Probably not, but I did it anyway…

Finally finished the dumb costume tonight…just in time to put my little Sinner Saint to bed and watch Desperate Housewives…LOL!

lisa

Comments

  1. Thanks for the organization ideas! I definately need all the help I can get LOL! Your pincushion looks great, I love black and pink.

    I’ve never had my machine eat my fingers but reading your description just makes my thumbs hurt, you poor thing! You are such a great mom, my son asked me to make his stuffed hamster a cape and I threw him some fabric and a pipe cleaner and told him to have at it!

  2. LOL Bridget! Ironically I made that child on mine 2 capes last week…but he insisted this one have sleeves and a hood this time…

    Wish I would have thought of the fabric scrap and some pipe cleaners…BRILLANT…haha!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  3. My pincushion was also more difficult than I expected. I am actually making two – one for me and one as a gift. I desperately needed a new one and I wanted to test it out. Let’s just say it’s definitely not a Martha! I hope today is a better day!

  4. LOL Esther…”misery loves company”…so glad I’m not the only one who struggled with it!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  5. Yeouch! I actually gasped reading your description of the thumb incident. Me, I’d have taken that as a hint to stop and treat myself to chocolate and whine.😉 Good for you for completing the costume…I’m sure it was much loved!

    Angie

Leave a Reply

