D is for…

Downtown Joey

downtownjoe.jpg

sketch1.jpg

I remember when I did my first sketch for my boys’ clothing line, Downtown Joey, and sewed up my first sample.  Since then I’ve done at least 20 other sets (most in multiples) for sale on both on eBay and privately.  Now I am gearing up to go into manufacturing this coming year.  It’s going to be an exciting time for me:  having professional patterns made, sourcing fabrics, going to market (tradeshows) and finally see my boys’ line in boutiques (hopefully nationwide).  I’ve spent the last 2 years learning as much as I can to prepare me for this upcoming adventure.

fast6.jpg fast3.jpg fast1.jpg

Most of my recent education is accredited to Kathleen Fassanella, the genius behind Fashion Incubator. If you are considering producing a clothing line, I strongly suggest you take a look at her book, The Entrepreneur’s Guide to Sewn Product Manufacturing.  This book has surely saved me from making costly and unnecessary mistakes such as not purchasing fabric prior to market (why buy fabric if you haven’t sold the line?) and having patterns graded and markers made based on only the styles and sizes sold.  I’ve learned the importance of having production-ready patterns–how it can make or break your line.  Oh, I could go on and on…but better you buy the book!

D ii V A

Ummm…that would be ME.  Check out this cool letter image generator: ://metaatem.net/words.php 

Design

fashion6.jpg fashion31.jpg fashion1.jpgfashion2.jpg

These sketches above where done by my 13-year-old daughter after getting her this Fashion Sketchbook.  If you’re into fashion illustration, this is the book for you!  Great for both the beginner and seasoned artist.

Diaper Covers

dcdb7.jpg

I cringe anytime I have to make another embroidery diaper cover…it seems so long ago when I spent my days producing dozens of them.

Desperate Housewives

desperatehouse.jpg

Season 4 starts Sunday, September 30th at 9pm EST on ABC TV…don’t miss it!  I hope Jesse Metcalfe makes some appearances again this year!

lisasiggie.jpg

Comments

  1. Interesting article. Gave pleasure.

Leave a Reply

