Halloween Crafting in Diva Land

halloween1 

I was a Crafting Fool™ last week.  I couldn’t get enough of sparkly glitter and pumpkins.  Seriously.  This is only half of the madness…LOL!

I took an orange pumpkin from The Dollar Tree, spray painted it Silver first and then with silver glitter.  I added adhesive rhinestones, some cool black glittered metal spiders from HomeGoods and topped it off with a bow made out of sparkly orange tulle and black deco flex tubing.  It was my favorite, so of course, my daughter claimed it and brought it back upstate to her sorority house.  Ugh.

halloween2

Then I bought a faux black pumpkin from Michael’s (using my 1/2 price coupon) and spray painted with my new favorite product, Krylon Glitter Blast in Black.  I then made an orange Deco Poly Mesh bow (found at A.C. Moore) with a diamond mesh ribbon wrap in the center.

halloween3

Next up, I bought a Paper Mache hat from Michael’s for a mere $2.49.  I spray painted it black, added some diamond mesh ribbon wrap and some orange silk spider web roses (here’s my tutorial).

halloween5

I found 3 cheap-looking white skulls at the Dollar Store and knew I needed to do something with them to make them look more authentic.  So I painted them light gray and then “dry brushed” them with some raw umber, dark gray and black craft paint.  I hot glued some cheap bugs, spiders, snakes and reindeer moss on them.

halloween6

I painted one of my old faux pumpkins and used bright orange glitter.  What was I thinking?  What a mess.  Everywhere I look, there is glitter.  It’s even on my puppy.

halloween7

After two failed attempts, I finally managed to get this Deco Mesh wreath to look half normal.  I used a 16” wire wreath, two rolls of glitter Deco Mesh, a bunch of bugs, snakes and spiders, a black feathered crow from the Dollar Store and an orange glittered “Trick or Treat” sign (also from the Dollar Store).  By the way, Deco Mesh is also the same thing as Sinamay.

halloween8

This Summer I found an awesome vintage bird cage at HomeGoods.  I painted it white, added two rubber rats (from the Dollar Store), some reindeer moss and a big black crow on top (also from the Dollar Store).

halloween9

I had these two gold ceramic urns laying around from last Christmas.  I spray painted them Gloss Black and added a thick band of rhinestones.  I purchased white faux pumpkins from Michael’s, added some cool glittered orange tape with a scroll design and then topped them off with bows made out of glittered orange Deco Poly Mesh, black Deco Flex tubing and chunky rhinestones from an old piece of jewelry.

I’m not 100% happy with them.  I’m thinking they need some orange foliage or flowers for the pumpkins to rest on.  Right?

halloween10

Oh and I wanted to show you a little trick I do to make my glossy black Dollar Store roaches, snakes and scorpions look more believable.  I just dry brush or wipe a little white paint on them.  It gives them more dimension.

Now get those last minute Halloween crafts done!  Happy Halloween!

With friendship,

Lisa

BEWAREDIVA

Comments

  1. You are ready for Halloween! Great projects, I love them all!

  2. Thanks Vickie!

  3. The Skulls are definitly my favorite!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

