Embellishments for Sewn Hats and a GIVEAWAY!

9781118131954_cover.indd

My buddy, Carla Hegeman Crim (aka The Scientific Seamstress), has just published her new book, SEWN HATS!  It’s an awesome book which contains 35 different hat sewing patterns by 29 different sewing superstars.

For some reason, Carla asked me to contribute my Downtown Hat pattern…go figure.  It might have been, because Carla and I became fast friends as we are both pattern snobs.  She understands there is more to drawing a sewing pattern than cutesy designs.  It’s about MATH and SCIENCE.  You can have an adorable design, but if you don’t use the skills you learned in school, it doesn’t work.  Pattern pieces won’t fit together properly.

djhat

photo by EMA Photography

Then you have the issue of grading (increasing/decreasing size).  You just can’t enlarge a pattern to make the next size.  This is especially true in children’s sizes.  And Carla has gotten it all right.  There’s a reason they call her, “The Scientific Seamstress.

No patterns are included in the book.  Nope.  Instead you download them from the internet as many times and as often as you want!!!  How cool is that?!  I wish all book publishers did this.

hat1 

My Downtown Hat can be found on page 129.  Although it was originally created for boys, there’s no reason you can’t make it for girls.  There are so many ways you can embellish the Downtown Hat.  What about some leather trim with grommets?

hat2 

Or perhaps some vintage velvet ribbon and an embroidered flower or a silk spider web rose?  (My tutorial is also included in the book.)

hat4 

Or even some sequin trim.

hat3 

You could simply add a sparkling rhinestone brooch or pin if you’re lazy.  The possibilities are endless!

Get your book on Amazon.  Better yet, I’m giving away a copy of the book, so just post a comment here!

Check out the Sewn Hats Blog Tour for more chances to win a copy of the book:

9/4 –  Scientific Seamstress

9/5 –  ModKid Boutique

9/6 – French General

9/10 – Pink Chalk Studio

9/11 -  Lulu Bliss

9/12 – The Domestic Diva’s Disasters

9/13 – Green Bee Patterns

9/14 – Goosie Girl Boutique

9/17 – Melissa Lilac Lane

9/19 – One Girl Circus

9/20 – Tie Dyed Diva Designs

9/21 – Figgy’s Patterns

9/25 – Craftiness is not Optional

9/26 – Bari J.

9/27 – Confessions of a Craft Addict

9/28 – Sis Boom

10/1 – Sew Mama Sew

10/2 – Aesthetic Nest

10/3 – Blue Nickel Studios

10/4 – Betz White

10/8 – Yummy Goods

10/10-  Wiley Craft

carlacrim 

P.S. – I finally got to meet Clara this Summer at my big BBQ in NYC.  And she just informed me she’s moving to NY soon!!!  We are already planning our fabric shopping trips in the NYC Garment District!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. Love it. You’re hat caught my eye before the others! Keep up the good work!

  2. Looks like a good book. I love hats.

    melodyj(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. Love the hat, Lisa. So nice to be able to make things for boys, too.

  4. I love designing and sewing clothing – I think hats would be the perfect accessory! Would love to win a copy!

  5. Love all of Carla’s patterns so I know I will love this book!

  6. I’d love to own this book. Thanks for the chance to win.

  7. Laughing to my self imagining what an outfit would look like where someone just used a photocopier to increase or decrease the size. Cute hats! I need the racoon cap… I have to make one for a costume next month.

  8. #4 Cara is the winner of the Sewn Hats book! Please email me at domesticdiva@si.rr.com or post here!

  9. Hi, I am currently making your downtown hat, but I’m a bit confused about the final step. it seems like I will be left with a fold of fabric inside my hat. Is that correct? What is the purpose of the fold?

    Thanks :) Kylie

  10. Hi Lisa
    My wife has this book and she LOVES it. She printed your Downtown Hat pattern from the Wiley website at the end of May but the link isn’t working anymore. We’ve contacted Carla Hegeman Crim and Wiley to see if it will be fixed. In the mean time I don’t suppose you could direct us to a digital copy of the pattern.

    Thanks,
    Aaron

  11. Hi Aaron! Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. The patterns can now be found at http://www.turnerpublishing.com/sewnhatpatterns.zip Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,087 other followers

