NYC Style Italian Sausage and Peppers

sausagepeppers8

Nothing is better than some Italian Sausage and Peppers on a cold New York City Fall weekend!  I’ve had so much going on in my life, but I desperately needed to get back to my kitchen and share another one of my favorite recipes with you.  Thanks for pushing me!

sausagepeppers3

First let’s talk about ingredients. It’s real simple—everything will taste better if you use FRESH ingredients.  Fresh pork sausage from your local butcher will ALWAYS taste better than some frozen sausage crap from the supermarket.  Peppers you roast yourself have a much better taste than those you get in a jar marinated in vinegar (yuk!).  Same goes for fresh herbs.  Now granted, I might not have fresh oregano on hand at all times, but I try to use fresh whenever possible…and you should, too.  Don’t be a loser.

Oh and on a side note…many Sausage and Pepper recipes use Tomatoes of some type (sauce, chopped, peeled, etc.).  I prefer mine without tomatoes.  The choice is yours.

Prep and Cooking Time:  35 minutes

Feeds about 6 Hungry People.

Ingredients:

  • 8 – 12 Sweet Italian Sausage
  • 4 – 8 Bell Peppers (Red, Orange and/or Yellow—NO GREEN)
  • 1 Large Onion (I prefer the White Spanish variety)
  • 3 cloves of Fresh Garlic
  • Fresh Basil (5 leaves)
  • Fresh Parsley (10 leaves)
  • Fresh Oregano (pinch)
  • White Wine (big splash)
  • 3 Tablespoons of Butter
  • Olive Oil (big splash)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Hot Red Pepper Flakes to taste (optional)

sausagepeppers1 

Fire up your outdoor BBQ, indoor broiler or stovetop and burn the heck out of your peppers.  Don’t worry…you really can’t overcook them.

sausagepeppers2 

Once burnt, put them in a bowl of cold water to loosen their skins.  Remove the skins and seeds from the peppers.  Rinse.  Tear peppers into strips.  Set aside in a bowl.  (Note:  you can prepare your Roasted Peppers a day or two before to save time  Just keep them in the fridge until you are ready to use them.)

sausagepeppers4

Brown your Sausage in a big frying pan with some Olive Oil over a medium to high flame.  Remove sausage and set aside.  DO NOT CLEAN FRYING PAN.

sausagepeppers5

Add Butter to your frying pan and loosen up all of the brown caramelized gunk sausage fat in the pan.  Slice your Garlic and Onions.  Chop up your Parsley and Basil leaves.  Throw it all in the same frying pan you used to fry the Sausage.  Sautee until transparent.

sausagepeppers6

Add roasted peppers, oregano, salt and pepper.

Stir in some White Wine.  And have yourself a glass or two while you’re at it.  You deserve it.

Cook until everything is tender.

sausagepeppers7

Cut browned Sausages on the diagonal and add to frying pan.

Lower heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Make sure Sausage is fully cooked.

Serve with fresh Italian Semolina Bread!  Enjoy!

P.S. – Yes, you can double this recipe and freeze it if you’d like.  However, It doesn’t matter how much I make…there is NEVER enough left to freeze…LOL!

With friendship,

Lisasig

Comments

  1. The qualities of a great thank you

  2. That looks SO good! I can smell it right through the computer…oh, no, that’s the sausage and peppers on MY stove I’m smelling. I made mine w/ some tomato sauce, because that’s the way DH likes it, but I like it better w/o the tomatoes. I never thought to roast the peppers first, tho I roast them for lots of other dishes. Good idea – I’ll have to try that the next time, but I won’t rinse ‘em. I think you rinse too much of the flavor off that way.

    If you want to freeze some, you have to get it in the freezer BEFORE dinner, and before anybody finds out that there is more somewhere, hiding in the house. It’s the only way, or, like you said there won’t be any to freeze. Ask me how I know… I look forward to trying your version. Do you ever use Italian frying peppers? That’s the name I know them by, from Philadelphia. I doubt they are unique to that city, but you never know. Gotta go eat…

    Joan

  3. LOL Joan! Ironically, I ended up roasted some yellow, red and orange peppers last night to go along with the fresh salted Mozzarella cheese we had as an appetizer. You’re right…you shouldn’t rinse them too much or you’ll lose a lot of the pepper’s juice.

    I was going to freeze some for my daughter to take back to college. Unfortunately, they were gone in 5 minutes…LOL!

    No, I never make Italian frying peppers…I had them made up the street and put them on my husband’s pork chops when I make them.

    Happy cooking!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,084 other followers

