Sewing Room Expansion

sewingroomexpansion1

WOW!  Talk about a lot of work!  I decided to expand my 13’ x 16’ sewing studio in the unfinished basement dungeon to 13’ x 35’!!!  You know, because I didn’t have enough on my To Do List.

sewingroomexpansion2

First, I moved my Wall of Fabric (3 black storage cabinets) that once sectioned off my office from my sewing studio.sewingroomexpansion4

Now the cabinets line the side of the sewing room dividing it from the laundry area.

sewingroomexpansion6

Here’s the other side of the new sewing studio.  I still have to move my massive desk, internet cables, etc.  Then I can set up all my industrial sewing machines along the 35’ wall.

 sewingroomexpansion5

Here’s the other side of the basement which will soon become my new office.  But before I can set my desk up, I have to figure out how in the world I’m going to move those huge industrial cutting tables into the sewing studio.

I also have to cover up the unfinished walls.  Luckily I still have some pink pleather fabric like I used on the existing sewing studio walls.  I even found some gray pleather fabric for the office area.

This is turning out to be more work than I had thought.  But I WILL get it done.  Come on over if you’re not doing anything.  I’ll even pay you in fabric!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. WOW! It is going to be fabulous!!! You have so much incredible space!!! I can’t wait to see photos of it all done. How lucky are you!!!! Happy renovating. :-)

  2. thanks Silve! I love that I have all this space. Only wish it was a finished basement. But the thought of removing everything from there to do construction is just too much…LOL! Hopefully I won’t lose steam and I can get it presentable in time for the big BBQ (August 6th).

  3. Who needs exercise?! Just re-arrange a massive sewing space instead ;) LOL

    Looking forward to seeing this as it develops – espesh the industrial cutting tables :)

  4. LOL Claire!

  5. Instead of moving internet cables, why not get a wi-fi router installed upstairs (or wherever your modem is)? If you install a wireless access point in the house you’ll be a techie hero to the family. If you already have wireless upstairs you can buy a card for your computer to get a wireless signal if your computer isn’t wi-fi ready. It’s simple enough that you can follow the directions in the box and fairly inexpensive. HTH!

  6. I have both wi-fi and wired. The wi-hi doesn’t get good reception in the basement.

  7. A lot of work is a bit of an understatement, I think. I can’t wait to see the results.

    I think the poor wireless reception in the basement is fixable. It might require adding a repeater upstairs closer to your room, maybe even set it upside down, so the signal is sent down, not out and up as is usually desired. Or just run a wire to a wireless router in the basement. Although wires do have their advantages.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,084 other followers

