Fabric Hall of Shame™

fabriccollection5

Now you have all drooled over my beautiful organized fabric cabinets, right?

sewingcleanup1

And my tidy sewing room?  Well, this doesn’t tell the whole story…not even close.

See, this part of my sewing room is a mere 1/4 of the space in my dungeon that holds all my fabric, trims, sewing machines and other notions.  The rest of the space is like my dirty little secret and it makes me feel like a fraud.  Seriously.

So I decided I’m just going to come clean.  And I know I’m not alone, because I watched two Hoarders episodes, both of which “collected” massive amounts of fabric and other crafting supplies. fabricdisaster1

Here’s my Fabric Hall of Shame™ which includes fabric, trims and notions that have yet to be organized.  Some of them are sitting there for more than 2 years now.  And of course, there’s even more fabric in all those boxes.

Seems I make way too many purchases, stack them on the pile and leave them there for “another day.”  And when I do use fabric, I don’t refold the remaining fabric from a project.  I just throw it on the pile.  LAZY.

fabricdisaster2

Around the other side are the 16 feet of industrial cutting tables I bought more than 3 years ago—-laying unassembled up against the wall.  Next to that is the 30 yards of batting that I just had to have during one of Joann Fabric’s blowout sales 5 years ago.  Oh, did I mention, I’ve only used 2 yards of that batting since I purchased it?

fabricdisaster3

To the side of that are several mannequins (4), dress forms(5), empty storage bins (20) and shelving (10).

fabricdisaster4

And tucked in the corner are 4 industrial sewing machines which I HAVE NEVER even turned on!!!!  They’ve been sitting there for almost 4 years now.

I know I’m going to Sewing Hell™.  I know they say, “Whoever dies with the most fabric wins!”  But it’s not working for me.  I simply have more stuff than I will use in two lifetimes and I’m not using the stuff that would create my ultimate sewing room.

My entire basement dungeon is approximately 25” x 35”.  There is a small laundry area and office.  The rest is all sewing and craft stuff.  So, it’s not like I don’t have the room.  I just need to get it all organized.

I’ve spent the last two days trying to make a dent in the Fabric Hall of Shame™.  I’m making some progress and hope I don’t give up before it’s organized.  Ok…now show me yours!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. If you need a place to put some of that, might I volunteer some space ;-) LOL! I remember when you bought those industrial machines and tables :-) Has it really been that long? In all seriousness, your 1/4 looks much better and more organized than most (and you have been a bit preoccupied with kids ;-))

  2. I’m also in the process of culling my sewing stash. Here’s a post I did back in December, showing just how bad my space was:
    http://thereshesews.blogspot.com/2010/12/where-did-i-go.html
    It’s much better now, but I still have far, far too much. This month I started a “reboot” of my sewing area, and have decided that much of what I own is more of an impediment to creativity than it is an inspiration. So I have been getting rid of a LOT. The most painful was to give away 5 yards of faux mink I bought a few years ago; I had wanted to make a Donna Salyers fur coat, but had to admit to myself that it just wasn’t gonna happen.

  3. Oh my! I would love to take a dress dummy and an industrial machine off of your hands! lol!

    My fabric hall of shame is down stairs, but I keep it in check by donating what I don’t use. Usually before I do my taxes so I can say “HA!” to the IRS when I take a deduction for the space that the hall of shame lives in and for the materials that I just donated. :)

  4. I think we all have some of this somewhere in our house – I know i do. I’m still envious of your sewing space because you have room to spread out your machines! I wish. Mine are all on the floor w/ the 2 currently in use rotating between the floor and the table. But it works. Cheers!

  5. Now I don’t feel so bad. My stash of fabric looks more like I have a chance of organizing it before I die after all. rofl I am in the process of finally having a room to put mine in after
    8 years of raising three grand daughters. They took their mess to their moms, so now I can
    organize my mess. Never could create in chaos. I wish I could blink my eye and have my
    stuff move from upstairs in our 1860’s cabin to downstairs. Not being allowed to lift more
    than 5 pounds is slowing the process down………Have fun organizing and looking at all
    your great stuff you have forgotten you have. Can’t wait to see your room as you progress.

  6. Jan…how exciting to finally have a room of your own! Can’t you find a local teenager aspiring “fashion designer” to give you a hand? You could pay them in fabric…LOL!

  7. Lisa I am right there with you – my beautiful studio space my husband built for me has become the dump for everything that is not wanted in the house in addition to all of my sisters wedding stuff that I need to sell and get rid of. I cannot even get to my machines… and yes I also have 2 brand new machines I purchased right before I left eBay that have never been turned on – ones a coverstitch. My fabric has been pulled for one project or another and not put back – UGH! You can do it!!! Baby steps and a little bit at a time…. slow and steady wins the race!

  8. oh no Spendy! I love your sewing room! What a shame! You really need to get back to sewing–you’re only of my favorite designers!

  9. Is it bad that I want some of the fabric that I see in your pics? My husband moved most of my fabric and notions and I can’t get to them, since he piled his stuff in front of it. That means I get to buy more, right?

  10. Sew… My recommendation to you is to start a sewing co-op where other divas pay a co-op fee to come in and utilize your machines and then pay “co-op price” for some of your stash! Or you could sell your extra machines and cutting tables to me to start a co-op :)

  11. LOL! I wish I had other divas to come sew with me….I can’t even get them to come for free. And no, I could never part with my machines…they’re my babies!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

