Cake Push Up Pops and a Prom

CAKE PUSH UP POPS

pushuppops

Had to get together a quick dessert for the Pre-Prom party.  Quick like as in within an hour.  I had ordered some disposable plastic push-up pop containers a month ago and figured it was time to test them out.

pushpop3

Here’s a list of places to find them in larger quantities.  However, head on over to Etsy.com or Ebay.com if you just need a dozen or two.

JB Prince

Laguana Wholesale

Culinary Direct (I think they have the best prices)

Martellatousa

Cake Deco via Amazon

Push Pop Containers

Pastry Chef Central

cakepops

Now you can bake little cupcakes in mini muffin pans, but I took whatever shortcut I could.  I went into my local supermarket’s Bakery department and asked them to give me a small vanilla sheet cake without frosting.  I also picked up Jell-O Vanilla and Chocolate Pudding, some fresh Strawberries and a few cans of Whipped Cream.

Brought it all home and used my cake leveler thingy to slice the cake in half.  I then used the round part of the plunger of the push-up pop as my template to cut out small circles from the sheet cakes (got the idea from Kathy).  Worked like a charm!

I was about to put the pudding in a Ziploc bag and cut a hole at the end to fill the push-up pops.  But then I remembered I had a nifty Pampered Chef Easy Accent Decorator in my arsenal.  Yeah me!  You could also just use a disposable pastry bag.

I alternated layers of cake, pudding and strawberries.  Then I put them in the refrigerator for 20 minutes.  Right before I was walking out the door to the party, I added a little whipped cream on the top and some sprinkles.  Done!

Pushup01

Here’s some ideas for your Push-Up Pops:

Triple Rainbow Push-Up Cakes

Gourmet Mom on the Go Fireworks

Sugar Bee’s Frozen Yogurt Pops

More Gourmet Mom on the Go

Firefly Confection’s Watermelon Pops

Party Animal’s Rainbow Jello

Party Animal’s Hot Fudge Brownies

Cupcake Project Cupcakes

Cupcake Project’s Key Lime

Love From the Oven Peeps

Brandy K’s Rainbow Push Cakes

Laguna’s Recipes

holder2

Now you could buy expensive push-up pop holders like these:

JB Prince

Culinary Direct

Pastry Chef Central

But unless you are really fancy, there just no need!  You can have your handy husband drill some holes halfway into a piece of wood.  Or if you don’t have a handy husband, just get a piece of Styrofoam and poke holes in it with a screwdriver (like I did).

If you have a lot of time on your hands, you could easily cover the Styrofoam with either shredded paper grass or wrapping paper.

The cake push-up pops were a hit!  Next time I will make cute decals for them with my Silhouette Electronic Cutting Machine and even tie some pretty bows on them.

Oh and in case you didn’t know, these push up pop containers are WASHABLE and REUSABLE.  But how do you stop guests from NOT throwing them in the trash?

PROM PRINCESS

marielleprom1

Grabbed a few quick pics of Marielle leaving for her HS Prom.  The dress fit like a glove.  So glad it all went smoothly.  Between her arguing with friends and dumping her boyfriend two weeks before the prom, I didn’t think it was going to happen.  But luckily, everything worked out and she’s having a blast down the NJ Shore over the next few days.

promzilla 

Between the dress, hair, make-up application, jewelry, prom tickets, limo costs, tanning, waxing, new teeth, NYC party, NJ shore party money and eyelash extensions, it’s lucky I didn’t go broke.

When I graduated high school, it wasn’t cool to go to the Prom.  My friends and I chipped in for a keg of beer and partied down at the beach.  How times how changed!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. Debbie Berenato Samutlson says:

    Jello shots????

  2. Lisa:
    With the difficult journey of Marielle’s health, this is a precious precious event. No matter the $$$, her life is priceless! Thank you for sharing pics of the beautiful young woman.

  3. She looks gorgeous! Is this her senior prom? Well, whatever the case, I’m sure they will all have fun!!!

  4. Oh dang, I had to come back and say how clever you are to make your own desserts! Awesome and thanks for the tutorial…

  5. Yummy yummy yummy!!!! And Marielle is just gorgeous…her dress is perfect! Good job mama, now get some rest!!!

  6. Oh, she is GOR-geous!!!! What a miraculous beauty!

  7. thanks JoLayna!!! Hope all is well!

  8. you can find Cake push pop containers at the cake decorating supply company TheCakeDecroatingCompany.co.uk they have them in stock and can shop worldwide. The prices are cheaper than anywhere else.

  9. Thanks! But I’m in the US. I’ll leave the info for myfriends in the UK.

  10. I make the cupcake pops for my local farmers market, and I have recently implemented a recycling program. When customers return (either that day or the next time they come to the market) the containers (they must be rinsed at least), I give them back a quarter. I know it isn’t much, but I tell them it saves them money, saves me money, and saves the environment. I don’t get back every container, but I average about a third of them back in the end :)

  11. Robin…that’s a great idea!

  12. Just found your site – love it!
    We make push-pops as part of our camp’s “chef” program. When they’re served (to 300+ kids), we put out specific garbage bins just for the pop holders. That way, we can rack and wash and reuse them. Sure, it takes a little more effort, but this is easy at small parties. If we can do it with 300 children with minimal loss, I’m sure it can be done that way everywhere! Decorate the bin, have a turnstile-type lid, and it’s attractive and fun for kids to use.

  13. Jessie…what a great idea for recycling the push-pop containers! Absolutely going to give it a try. The containers are expensive and when I can, I always try to reuse them!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  14. thank you the info….very helpful!

  15. Love your ideas and short cuts! I bought push up containers last summer. The heat is on and my grandkids will be out of school and here lots, so…this will be so fun! Thanks so much!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] cake push pops from the Unveiled event. Unveiled at Four Seasons – Denver Source 1, 2 Source Source Source 1, 2, 3, 4 Source This entry was posted in cupcake push pops, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,086 other followers

