Sewing Pattern Reorganization

pattern4

Why is it that I can’t seem to ever put away my sewing patterns?  I mean, I even wrote a huge blog post about organizing your sewing patterns.  You’d think I’d have this Sewing Room Organization thing under control.  No such luck.

pattern1

I have turquoise binders,

pattern2

pink binders,

pattern3

and some more pink binders.

Did you count all the pattern binders?  Yep…there’s 18 of them! 5 Turquoise binders and 13 Hot Pink binders.

And that’s it.  I’m not buying anymore binders.  The bookcase where I keep my sewing pattern binders has 3 shelves which neatly fit 6 binders each…I’m maxed out at 18 binders.  There simple isn’t anymore room for patterns.

And I’m not buying anymore sewing patterns either.  Seriously…I rarely use any of them.  I buy them to read the construction details.  I’m always looking for a quicker way to do a sewing technique, etc.  Tell the truth—you do it, too, right?

pattern5

I had dozens and dozens of patterns, some old, some new, laying around all over my sewing room.  It was time to finally reorganize and try to consolidate my pattern collection.  I was able to part with a whole box of patterns and will give them away on my local Freecycle website.

pattern6

I used my Silhouette SD Electronic Cutter to make some vinyl labels for the pattern binders.  How cute!

 pattern7

I was tempted to paint my ugly old faux wood bookcase, but I’ll have to save that for another day (or year).

pattern8

I keep the patterns I use most often on professional pattern hooks for easy access.  They hang from the basement rafters next to the sewing pattern bookcase.

I feel so much better now that I’ve reorganized my sewing patterns.  Only problem now is my fabric pile of shame.  Don’t laugh…you have one of those, too!

Happy Sewing!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. *giggle giggle* actually, except for the stacks of scraps I’m plowing through, my area are all tidy right now. See? I have time to sit around and read blogs, heehee.

  2. I love the organize excellant

  3. Dear Lisa – how reassuring it is to know that sewists at all levels deal with similar issues! I’m a returning to sewing advanced-beginner. When my son was little and I had no room for sewing, I took all available space in spare closets and never really had a grasp of what I had – stash and patterns. Now that I have a room dedicated to sewing I’m “trying” to reform and keep a tight reign on my fabric and patterns. Your examples of organization will be very helpful!
    Cheers,
    Jen

  4. Congratulations. It looks like you accomplished a lot. Good luck with the fabric now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,086 other followers

