Crab Cakes with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

crabcakes1

I’ve been putting off making my first batch of crab cakes, because the price of Jumbo Lump Crabmeat here in NYC is about $30 a pound.  Crazy.  And I was paralyzed by fear…thinking what the heck if I BURNED THEM?!  Well, I did it.  No.  I didn’t burn them…LOL.  I mean, I made awesome crab cakes with my first attempt.  And I’m going to show you how you can, too!  Thanks to my big Sister, Linda for sharing her recipe!

CRAB CAKES

makes approximately 10 patties

Ingredients

1 pound of Jumbo Lump Crabmeat (fresh or canned)

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon Fresh Lemon Juice

1/4 cup Mayonnaise

1/4 cup Dijon Mustard

1/2 Onion finely chopped

1/2 Red Pepper finely chopped

1/2 cup Saltine Crackers crumbled

1 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce

1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning

Fresh Parsley

crabcakes2

Mix all ingredients well except Crabmeat.

Break up lumps of Crabmeat and gently incorporate into other ingredients.

Form patties and refrigerate for at least one hour.  If you don’t do this, the patties will completely fall apart when you fry them.  I was running a little late, so I put them in the freezer for 30 minutes.  It worked!

crabcakes3

Heat up some Olive Oil and Butter.

crabcakes4

Brown both sides for about 4 or 5 minutes or until crispy brown.

crabcakes5

I went a little overboard by doubling the above recipe and made 21 Crab Cakes.  I have a tendency to do that with everything.  Whatever.  I’m sure they’ll all be gone within an hour.

Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Ingredients

1 large Roasted Red Pepper (just burn the skin off)

Parsley

1 clove of Fresh Garlic

Sprinkle of Old Bay Seasoning

1/2 stalk of Celery

1/2 Onion

Dash of White Pepper

Dash of Sea Salt

1/2 cup Dijon Mustard

1 cup Mayonnaise

Puree all ingredients except Dijon Mustard and Mayonnaise in a food processor or blender.  I used my nifty little Ninja chopper/blender thingy.  Love that thing!

Mix puree with Dijon Mustard and Mayonnaise.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Drizzle on Crab Cakes.

Enjoy!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. Ok, you need to come down to Maryland and teach these arrogant chefs how to do it right!

  2. Oooh that loooooks nummy! I’ve never thought of using canned crab. :) Thank you for the recipe!

  3. I can’t wait to try this recipe for myself! :) Thanks Lisa!!!

  4. You can use canned crab, but use the good stuff (Super Lump Crab) from the fish market.

  5. Ousa…maybe if you come to the big BBQ again this year, I’ll whip us some…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

