Upcoming Silhouette SD Giveaway, the Bottomless Sewing Pit and a Little Water

Upcoming Silhouette Giveaway

fabricpennants

OMG!  I’m so excited!!!  Just received a Silhouette SD to test from Silhouette America to play with!  There are so many things I want to make.  From vinyl wall lettering to appliqués, the choices are endless!  And guess what?  Next week, I’ll be having a GIVEAWAY here on my blog!

vinylHeader

Yep…you’ll have a chance to win your own Silhouette SD digital die cutting machine!!!  Stay tuned!

Hemming Pants

hem

Am I the only one who has a bottomless bin of items that need to be hemmed, altered or repaired?

Most people know better than to give me things to sew.  But seems my immediate family hasn’t gotten the memo.

I like to create new things.  I don’t want to fix others’ creations.  There’s no creative process…no fabric to select, no trims to add, nothing to embellish…totally uninspiring.

My procrastination probably stems from the time several years ago when Mr. Diva asked me to hem his pricey velour sweat suit.  My serger literally ate a chunk of the velour in the middle of the pant leg.

However, I needed to get over my fear as my 9-year-old son is down to 2 pair of pants that fit him.  Like a good mother, I purchased 10 pair of pants in the appropriate size.  That was at least 2 months ago.  They all need to be hemmed at least 4 inches in length.

Last night, it took me no less than 2 hours to measure, cut and serge the bottom of each pant leg.  Perhaps next weekend, I’ll actually finishing hemming them.  Maybe not.

Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head

waterdamage

Oh, my poor Garden Room!  With all the snow melting, my Garden Room roof is shot.  Not only is the roof a loss, but so are the wood walls.

gardenroom2

We have to completely rip down the Garden Room and rebuild it this year due to all the water damage.

sunroom1

So now I’m trying to design a new 3 Season room without breaking the bank.  Whatever I decide, it’s going to have to have lots of big windows (like this one above)!  All I need now is to hit the Lotto.  Yep.

lisa

Comments

  1. I’m not sure why it makes me feel better knowing I am not the only one who utterly dislikes repairing/altering clothes – but it sure does. Thanks for sharing that with me. Sorry about your garden room, but I’m sure your three seasons room will be even better.

  2. Sorry about your beautiful room getting damaged like that but I’m sure the new one will be great.
    Just found your blog and am following,
    Susie

  3. Lisa, this is EXACTLY why I don’t like to tell people I sew! I sew… create… I do NOT mend or fix! I try to explain it as sewing backwards… so much to rip out to fix and make better… the seamstresses at the cleaners are so much better at that than I am… and FASTER! LOL

    So sorry about your Garden room – :( But that one pictured is TDF! I hope you win the lotto!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,086 other followers

