Everyone Went to Quilt Market, But Me. However, you can WIN a FREE SEWING BOOK!

CONTEST CLOSED!  WE HAVE A WINNER:

Enter a number:

I want a number between 1 and 87

Result:  17

AUSTINA BOSCO WINS A COPY OF MARY’S NEW BOOK!  (Austina – please email me your mailing address so the publisher can get your copy out to you!)

Thanks to everyone for your kind words and playing along!

dressg

I really wanted to go to Quilt Market.  My Mary premiered her new book, Little Girls, Big Style and I wasn’t there.

mary2

With just 4 patterns included in the book, you can sew 23 little girl boutique garments!  How clever!

marya1

I may have missed Quilt Market…BUT then last week, two packages arrived from Mary.  The first, some Bangerang Cupcakes in a Jar!  YUMMY!

marya2 

But even better, an autographed copy of the book from Mary!  I thought I’d died and gone to Heaven!

marya3 

Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, I see Mary has mentioned ME, “Acknowledgements:  The amazing Lisa Carroccio (aka The Diva) was with me every step of the way.  Her guidance, input, and advice were invaluable, and I am blessed to have her as a mentor and a friend.”  Awww!  Love You, Mary!

dressf

I immediately knew exactly what I was going to sew first—a hot pink Silk Shantung party dress!  Seems she knew I would make the party dress, too…LOL!  Mary primarily works in 100% cotton fabrics, but I was up for a challenge.  Anyway, nothing screams “party” like Silk Shantung and tests the accuracy of a pattern.  Silk is not so forgiving.

dressa 

I used the pattern for the Perfect Party Dress.  However, instead of cutting just 23 inches for each skirt panel, I pushed the limit and cut 53 inches for each.  Yeah, I’m a rebel.  That gave me a skirt circumference a whopping 106 inches!!!

dresse

I made some citron green silk spider web roses (tutorial HERE), attached them to a matching sash (which ties in a big honkin’ bow at the back) and added sparkly rhinestone button centers.

dressc 

The sash was easy to make.  I measured the width of the entire bodice, added the length of the skirt and then doubled that measurement.  I took that measurement and cut a 3 inch wide strip of silk.  I interfaced the center of the sash to give it strength to hold the roses.  Then topstitched the entire sash and added the roses and rhinestone buttons.

dressd 

The dress went together so easily.  I think it took me under 2 hours!  What a simple pattern.  The instructions were a breeze to follow! 

marya4

Whether you use silk, cotton or a flat bed sheet like I did for another dress I made, you are only limited by your own imagination and creativity!

Ok…you’ve been patient letting me ramble and gush over Mary and her new book.  Now for the good news—C & T Publishing/Stash Books is giving away a FREE COPY of Mary’s book EVERYDAY until December 15th!

To win a copy, just POST IN MY COMMENT SECTION BELOW.  I’ll pick a lucky winner’s name on Thursday, December 9th!

And if you don’t win a copy on my blog, be sure to do a little blog hopping to enter to win a copy at the following blogs:

 

12/7 Susan http://wwwbluemoonriver.blogspot.com
12/8 Jessica
http://juicy-bits.typepad.com
12/9 Penny
http://sewtakeahike.typepad.com
12/10 Daria
http://boutiquecafe.com
12/11 Rashida
http://iheartlinen.com
12/12 Kristin
http://sewmamasew.com/blog2
12/13 Jona
http://jonag.typepad.com
12/14 Kim
http://trueup.net
12/15 Bari
http://barij.typepad.com

If you aren’t one of the lucky book winners or your just too impatient, you can BUY the book from Stash Publications/CT.

Happy Sewing!

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. Lisa, the dress is STUNNING! A friend showed me Mary’s book the other day in person, kudos to her!

  2. How cool is that?! I bet your knowledge was invaluable, and your party dress is gorgeous!!!!!! *smooches!*

  3. Lisa, the dress you created from Mary’s book is AMAZING, love the colors, the fullness, the fabric and the Diva touches!
    Carol

  4. Beautiful dress! I’d love to win a copy of the book! <3

  5. I would so use this book. Love the fact Diva had a part of it. A definite must have.

  6. I would soooo love to win this book. It looks amazing and I can’t wait to make a party dress as well.

  7. Cool. Love the book and would looooooves to try some patterns from it and omg love the dress you made Lisa. What size is it?

  8. thanks girls! It’s a size 6 for my niece, Josie!

  9. The dress you made is beautiful! I’d love to have a copy of the book.

  10. You always have the must wonderful finds :)

  11. 2 hours to make that dress!!!! What! I need that book if she makes it that easy.

  12. The dress is gorgeous, Mary is fantastic and a giveaway too?! Does it get any better than this?

  13. I found your site through the Stash Books Blog. I look forward to looking around more during DD’s nap times. Love the dress you made. Thanks for the chance to win the book! I keep seeing it pop up on various sites. I would love to leaf through the pages and plan my daughters summer wardrobe!

  14. I would {LOVE} to make something from this book….how cute is the cover?

  15. I would die to win this book. I love making wonderful girls outfits.
    Xfingers crossed.

  16. Wow! the link you have to the ‘other dress’ you made is fantastic! Please, please provide details on the white dress, did you use a sheet, is that a petticoat underneath or did you add the tule to the bottom of the dress? And what fabric did you use for the bodice? The whole dress is just fantastic – I love it and so want to make one for my little princess.

  17. You out did yourself again Lisa. This dress is Drop Dead Gorgeous.!!!
    I mean Absolutely Gorgeous.. I LOVE IT..!!
    The colors are amazing and the detail & craftsmanship is, as always, immpeccable.!!!!

  18. Yours turned out beautifully! I love it!

  19. Wow – the dress you made is amazing! The book looks amazing too – and so do-able! Thx for the giveaway!

  20. I love Mary’s stuff! And I would love to get my hands on her book!

  21. I would love to win this book. I have four girls who all like to wear handmade items. The book looks wonderful.

  22. What beautiful dress! Thank you for sharing with us and inspiring us to give it a try. After having 4 boys in a row, I’ve been blessed by having two girls in the past two years. I’m so excited about sewing for them, and this book looks like just what I need :) my husband is getting me a sewing machine for Christmas, I just can’t wait to get crackin! Thanks again for inspiring us!
    -Susana

  23. I absolutely adore your dress. I think I will wait to see if I win the book. If not I am definately buying it.

  24. How cool is that, to be acknowledged in a book!!
    Beautiful dress by the way, love the colors.
    Kris

  25. Carrie (Punky*Fae) says:

    Love the Dress Diva!! I got Mary’s book last week and will begin my own Party Dress this week for Jordan’s Holiday Concert :)

  26. Lisa, that dress is just gorgeous!! And I would definitely want the fuller skirt too. Must be twirly no matter what!! Mary’s book is just wonderful!

  27. I would love to win a copy of this book!

  28. LISA! It’s gorgeous…and I’m not surprised. You’re SUCH a good seamstress. I didn’t go to Quilt Market, either but I have informed my husband that I am going next year. And I have a good friend in Houston who will put me up and drive me around, You’re invited to stay with me. :)

  29. That gorgeous dress in your profile pic got me here. You always did make a beautiful party dress!! Congratulations on being a part of this book. I am dying to have a copy!!!

  30. I am dying to get my hands on this book! I can’t wait to use ALL of the patterns for my little one!

  31. The dress is beautiful!!

  32. What a lovely little book! LUV your little dress too!

  33. I would just love to win this book!

    Your dress came out beautiful and the sash is lovely as well!

  34. Beautiful dress from such a simple pattern. I can’t believe you made it in under 2 hours especially with those flowers on the sash. Gorgeous!

  35. THat is a beautiful dress – and looks like a beautiful book too….

  36. Love this dress. Still can’t believe you made it in less than 2 hours especially with the flowers.

  37. helga "ya ya" Williams says:

    Lisa, I love this dress, I can’t wait to try the flower sash tutorial you have on here. I’d love to make one for my niece as well. Merry Christmas to you and your family
    Helga

  38. What a talent your Mary is…I was sold on the book, but then I popped over here from Blue Moon blog and saw this beautiful RED shantung silk dress. Don’t blame you for adding the fullness, that makes the dress so much MORE!!! You must have one of the little girls model it for you! Oooo la la! It will be BEAUTIFUL! The citrus green roses and waistband is so adorable! Great garment!

  39. I love the dress you made – the colours are fabulous!
    I’d love to win a copy of this book
    Gill

  40. My own little girl is all grown up and has been for a long time! But I adored sewing for her and would have loved this book then.

    For the last couple of years, I have been itching to make little girl dresses again. Not sure for whom but some lucky little lass.

    Love the silk party dress but I would bust my cotton stash!

  41. Cynthia Douglass says:

    I have a very special 3 year old grand daughter I sew for all the time. For the Nutcracker Suite ballet I made her a white dress with sequined overlay and a big bold blue floral coat. This book would be just up my alley. I love your blog and look forward to reading it every time it comes to me via email. I have followed your posts about your beloved daughter and am so very happy for her good health. How you have been blessed by God!

  42. Your dressing is strikingly beautiful! It looks red in the photos! I’d love to make one just like it so having the book would be an awesome addition to my sewing arsenal!

  43. I am feeling the love in this blog post. Well done Mary…and I absolutely LOVE the dress Lisa. I don’t know that I’m to the challenge of silk..I think I would royally booger it up. Well, and I’m Lazy. LOL I’de rather just buy it.

  44. I would love to win this book because it would be so sweet to be able to make these dresses for my all 4 of my grand daughters!

  45. What an awesome book!! :) The dress is beautiful, nice job!

  46. I would love the book! December 9 is my birthday what a great present.

  47. Beautiful dress! I have two girls, ages 15 and 3. My 15 year old is getting into the whole sewing thing and I love to sew for my 3 year old. Making lots of handmade Christmas gifts this year. I also teach natural childbirth and love to sew gifts for my students! I own a Singer sewing machine that was my Great Grandmothers. She taught sewing for Singer and Great Grandpa sold Singer Sewing machines. Wish I had her amazing talent but I don’t. I do what I can. LOL The machine I have is 95 years old and beautiful! Works like a champ! LOVE it! Have a wonderful day and keep up the beautiful work.

  48. I would love to win this book. I sew for my 3 year old granddaughter and this book would be the perfect way to expand her wardrobe! :)

  49. I would luv to win the book. I found your site by the goosie girl. I have 3 daughters and love making them clothes, a memory from my past as my mom did the same, and they luv wearing boutique style clothing.

  50. Hi Lisa……..
    Thank you for the BOOK reminder! I know when you first talked about the book, it was one of those I ‘Had to have’. I will go out to my local book store to see if it is there, if not, I will be ordering from the link you posted (like to support local when possible)…..
    For you…I felt your inspiration……..how can one not be inspired to create when written about in such a loving and kind way! I wonder just how many women you have inspired and unknowingly mentored over the many years you have been sewing? Personally, since I have been reading your blog for the past 2 years….you have inspired me to continue sewing outside of the 5/8″ allowance! LOL

    I will be calling the book store today……I forgot to mention that in the past 3 days we have shovelled almost 2 feet of snow…and today another almost 2 feet…..I am on day 2 of ‘snow day – no work day’! I couldn’t drive out of my neighbourhood if I wanted to…..the plow hasn’t been around to the side streets, yet and with the convenience store just 2 blocks away, I am fine if we have ‘snow days’ for the rest of the week!

    Thank YOU for the inspiration you share to all those who read your words!
    Valerie
    London, Ontario, Canada

  51. The silk party dress you made using the pattern from the book with modifications is FABULOUS! I would love to make a dress just like that for my granddaughter.

  52. Angel Zelinskifeeney says:

    Hello, I would love to win this book for my mom for Christmas. She has not been sewing for very long but just made my sisters and me Apron Knot Dresses and we love them. She would love this book.

  53. I love the red dress! and the sash with the roses is over the top cool. I have a great time sewing for my dd’s. This book looks awesome. Winning this would be a fantastic Christmas gift (first for me, then for dd and a friends grand daughter!) Multiple benefits!! Thanks for the opportunity. See ya on FB :) And I have checked out the sewing room organization ideas you suggested. thanks!

  54. I am absolutely going to need a copy of that book. So precious!

  55. I’m always looking for new things to sew for my granddaughters-love the idea of changing patterns around for different results

  56. This book looks like it is full of great ideas! thank you C&T and happy holidays!

  57. Your dress is beautiful, my daughter would love something like that to twirl around. I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll be lucky enough to win the book. Looks sensational.

  58. I would love to win this book. It looks truly amazing and with granddaughters it is just the ticket! I love the illustrations.
    Laura T

  59. looks like a fun book!

  60. Love, love your dress!

    And you don’t know how much I want this book! I’ve had it in my cart at Amazon for a couple weeks now. Here’s hoping I win!

    Hugs,
    gina

  61. Looks like a great book, would love to win it!

  62. That dress is GORGEOUS! The colors are amazing! I want to be able to make one like that, must win book!

  63. This book looks awesome. Also awesome: that you made a dress out of a bedsheet! Hoorah for upcycling!

  64. I’m not particularily lucky but would love to win the book. I have 2 little ones I could be sewing for.

  65. Oh this book looks wonderful! Thanks for the chance to win!

  66. The little red dress is beautiful. The book looks great!!!

  67. Oh your dress is beautiful! LOVE the roses on the sash. What great inspiration.

  68. Beautiful party dress! Thanks for sharing Mary’s book with us!

  69. I need to give your web roses a try. I have the tutorial, have studied it and now just have to give it a go. I did make a christening gown last year and tried making small ones, but i was all thunbs Maybe over the holidays when I am off I will have time to practice. I know of many pieces of little girls clothing I can make them for with matching hair band or clip!

    The local book store doesn’t have the book..will have to look else where. BUT I WILL NOT GIVE UP… I do not have my own little girls to sew for, all my children are adults and all of my childrens sewing is for charity (orphanages, women’s shelters, Haiti, Jamaica and Africa) The little girls are going to love getting these pretty little dresses and if I can accomplish the web roses, this will add to their princess euphoria!! Don’t we all love to feel and look special!
    Valerie

  70. I’d love to win the book! I have nieces I could sew for.

  71. I would love to win a copy

  72. This is fate! I was just looking at this book on Amazon. I’m in love! My little Beanie-girl would adore the clothes in this book and I would have SO much fun making them. What a fantastic giveaway!

  73. WOW I so want this book, a 2 hour dress that looks that good is certainly something I would want to sew.

  74. i love your party dress!
    3 months ago i became a grandma for the first time, now i find i want to learn to sew clothing so i can introduce her (bailey) to the funky fashion world and one day to sewing and crafts!

  75. Me, me! Book sounds wonderful and w/ 2 granddaughters and a young daughter still at home, I could use some new, inventive ideas!
    Thanks and I love ur blog!

  76. It’s so lovely to get a little background to this beautiful book.

  77. Would be so grateful to win a copy of this book. I have two quickly growing girls.

  78. That dress is TDF!!!! I NEED this book :D

  79. Your dress is absolutely adorable!!! I love the rose sash with it too.

  80. I need need NEED this book!

  81. Your dress is gorgeous and winning this book would fill my head with new and fabulous inspiration. Thanks for the chance.

  82. Oh my! That dress is AMAZING! I can’ t wait to get this book and start on a few of my own. Thanks for the give-away!

  83. Would totally love to win a copy of Mary’s book!

  84. Me, me, me, pick me!!! :)

  85. Wow, those colors of silk are amazing…I have your rose tutorial up too, I can’t wait to try that.

  86. WOW, I really love that dress! Would make a great Christmas dress!

  87. Gosh!! the dress is gorgeous, the sash is stunning and I love the white one too!

  88. I see the comments aren’t closed – hope I’m not too late to enter your giveaway for this book. The dress you made is stunning!

  89. CONTEST CLOSED! We have a winner:
    Enter a number:
    I want a number between 1 and 87
    Result: 17
    Austina wins a copy of the book! Send me your mailing address so I can have the publisher sent your copy out to you!

    Thanks everyone for the kind comments and joining in the fun!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  90. Congratulations Austina!!!
    YOU are going to love this book.
    WE want to see awesome little creations from you for a special little girl!

    Thank you Lisa for ‘stirrin’ the pot’ and giving us some visual incentive!
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

