Fun with Friends in the NYC Fabric District

Every year after the big BBQ, no matter what, we go to the Fashion (Fabric) District to score some fabric and trim!  Our mission was to invade Pacific Trimming (my absolute favorite trim, buttons and findings store).

pacifictrim

You’ll know you’re at the right place when you see the big arse orange button in the front window.

connie

Connie has been helping me find the best goodies in town for several years.  Years ago while shopping at Pacific Trimming I accidentally left behind one of my big bags full of trim.  When I realized, I called and Connie said she had it and would hold it for me until I was back in the city.  For that, I am beyond loyal.  Whenever I bring my out-of-town friends on a fabric shopping adventure, the first place we stop is there!

ladym

Lady M™ (aka Myrinda of Fabric Hound) has never missed a trip in the last 5 years!  Here she is special ordering a top secret item.

jennyc

My dear friend, Jenn (aka Peppermints and Petticoats) recently moved from Canada to New Jersey.  This was her first time to the big BBQ and also her first time out shopping the District with me.  I think she might have been a bit overwhelmed with all the choices.  But the good news is now that she lives closer, we’ll be able to go fabric shopping in the city often!

Ok…now for the loot!

fabricdistrict 006

I used to go to MJ Trimmings and really loved all their stuff.  However, I can find a lot of the same things at Pacific for a lot less.  Some of the rhinestone and glass buttons were only $1 each!

fabricdistrict 010

Of course I needed to restock my rhinestone buckle supply.  And with Pacific’s selection, I felt like I hit the jackpot!  You can get them for $2 (standard ones) and even the fancy Chez ones for $10!

fabricdistrict 013

I found some awesome trims at great prices!  I had to get the polka dot pleated ruffles with black lace edging, a hologram ruffled elastic, chiffon elastic with orange tinsel edging, some soft sparkly pink trim, a double gathered net trim and some pink/brown zebra ribbon.

fabricdistrict 014

And check out these beautiful velvet ribbons I couldn’t pass up!

fabricdistrict 003

After leaving Pacific, we stopped into a few other stores where I found some beautiful silk shantung in bright pink and aqua.  I even scored a $3 a yard black textured net with rhinestones!  But the biggest find of the day was this gorgeous silver metallic open-work fabric encrusted in sequins and crystals for less than 1/2 price (originally $26/yard which I talked the seller down to just $10/yard)!

Definitely a successful adventure!  Especially when I can do it with my friends!

P.S. – I know many of you are waiting to hear about the big BBQ which was held Saturday, August 1st!  Let’s just say, I’ll need two blog posts to fill you in with all the details!  Stay tuned!

lisasiggie2

Comments

  1. I’m totally drooling over all that gorgeousness!

  2. I could spend days here. Fantastic Place !!!!!

  3. ONLY in my DREAMS!!!!
    Now that I know places like this exist, I will continue to dream til one day it because my reality!
    Jane

  4. How fun!

  5. Oh my God. I´m so jealous. “Fabric district” just might be the one and only reason I might stand the loooong flight to NY :D

  6. I am jealous! Since I’m in Michigan I only get to visit a couple of times a year. Looks like you had a blast!

    Ellen

  7. ~sigh~
    I can only covet wistfully from afar. If I come to town, I hope you’ll take me for a tour. I’ll buy you a great lunch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,087 other followers

