Some Painting and Redecorating

Last week I had a 2nd painter finish up what the 1st painter didn’t paint.  Truth be told, painter #1 was a meticulous painter…except one problem, ok, several problems.  Painter #1 first quoted us a rate of $200 a day.  Fine.  Then he changed his mind 3 weeks into the job and raised us to $250 a day.  By week 6, he states he’d prefer $300 a day…GO TO HELL, I told him.  So we kept it at $250 a day.

Well, that’s all good and fine, EXCEPT Painter #1 is the slowest painter in the world.  My house interior is 3,800 square feet.  We’ve paid over $7,500 and he still was not finished…WTH?  And mind you, he didn’t paint my bedroom, garden room,  hallways, stairs or garage!

I finally got fed up and told him I had to replace some furniture before he finishes painting.  Needless to say, I never called him again.

Painter #2 finished the hallway, stairs and some trim in under 2 days!  Never again will I allow Mr. Diva™ to hire one of his dirt bag friends.  Never.  I think Mr. Diva™ would agree.

In The Pink

0531b

I did have Painter #1 paint my dining room ceiling PINK (Benjamin Moore #1325 Pure Pink).  Everyone thought Mr. Diva would get pissed, but he didn’t seem to mind.  Happy Wife = Happy Life.  And guess what?  Everyone who comes into the house notices the pink ceiling and loves it.

0531c

I scored these awesome pediments at HomeGoods for a mere $12.99 each!  I’m thinking of painting them ivory and draping pink organza curtain panels behind them.  They’ll be perfect over the two dining room windows and add more Pink to the room!

I know I have at least 10 yards of pink organza which I bought for the dining room curtain panels at least two years ago.  Now to figure out what box I stashed it in…UGH!

candelabra

And yet another SCORE at HomeGoods!  I found two of these huge candelabras–one silver and one white.  And on my next visit to HomeGoods, I found the matching cake stand!

cakeplatter

After having a friend remove all the crystals, I spray painted them all white.  And then I had the same friend reattach all the crystals.  I’m going to use them for the food table at my big BBQ this weekend!

All That Glitters

Now before you start rolling your eyes, have you ever gotten an idea in your head and took it one step to far?  I have a habit of doing this more often than not.

paintbath2048-50

Thank you Benjamin Moore!  Benjamin Moore’s Tropicana Cabana #2048-50 was the closest match to Tiffany Blue.

tiffcll1

But the truth is my inspiration came from this beautiful custom boutique set made by Lisa of Lyndsay Leila Designs.

0531a

When I saw this glass container at HomeGoods, I knew I had to have it!  Love anything with Bling!

tiffbath3

Found this awesome canvas of Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s!  Added some hot fix crystals to her necklace and hair comb…PERFECT!

tiffbath5

Even my shower curtain rings are bejeweled…LOL!

bigdiamond

Got me a big ROCK!  Found this giant crystal paperweight at HomeGoods!  Perfect!  To clean it, I just throw it in the dishwasher along with the glass shelves!

tiffbath4

Found these aqua bath sponges at Target for only $1.99 each…and of course, I added more bling!

tiffbath2

Picked up a simple white shadow box for $8 at HomeGoods (of course). Then I covered the background with some Michael Miller aqua dumb dot fabric, added long black satin gloves ($4), fake pearls ($2), cheap sunglasses ($3) and my fancy crystal brooch (which is removable if I need it).  Smashing!

tiffbath8

Since I didn’t have enough Michael Miller aqua dumb dot fabric, I opted for another print of which I had 2 bolts on hand.  I sewed up a simple window scarf.  Not bad.

tiffbath6

I embroidered my aqua towels.  Instead of “Tiffany & Co.,” I thought “Diva & Co.” was more fitting.

tiffbath7

 tiffbath9

tiffbath10

Go over to HGTV’s Rate My Space and give me a few stars…pretty please?

toiletbling

OMG!  Hot Fix Suzy™ had to show me the rhinestone toilets from Jemal Wright!  I’m not going to even inquire about the cost as I’m sure it would be out of my price range…LOL!

rhinestonehandle

Think I might have to settle for these rhinestone drawer handles.  But I really want that toilet.

A Bright Idea

chandelier 005

Marielle’s new chandelier is finally installed!  Just in time for the big BBQ this past Saturday!  This fixture is HUGE.  The photo doesn’t do it justice…it’s a whopping 27 inches wide by 30 inches high!

Now I know you are all dying to hear about the big Diva Q…stay tuned, I have lots of pics and details to post…LOL

lisasiggie

Comments

  1. ohhhh I am so glad that you added the paint chip # for your bathroom. I wanted to ask you the other day, but with so many things going on at the time, I thought it best to wait and bug you on line, but forgot until now….WOOT….thank you, that color really just rocks and is perfect….and I never got to see Marielle’s room…dratz…looks spectacular :)

  2. I think I want to live in your bathroom. Really, everything looks just amazing and has so many wonderful, personal touches. Love it!

  3. Awesome!!!!

  4. I love that canvas with Audrey Hepburn. she was so gorgeous :D

  5. I love the pink ceiling! What a fabulous idea! It gives the room a beautiful glow. Love the aqua and black bath and the huge chandelier.

    Cathy ♥

  6. I LOVE the bathroom!! I did my 17 year old’s room in Audrey Hepburn 3 years ago and she is still crazy about it. But I just may copy your shadowbox. It is darling.

  7. thanks girls!

    Everytime I look at my pink ceiling, I giggle!

    And the Tiffany Blue bathroom was so fun to put together!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  8. Thank you it’s very nice

  9. please do tell where you bought those amazing diamante handles from

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

