Happy New Year

Just popping in with a quick update…
Marielle is doing well. Her kidney function is perfect. However, we are struggling with the side effects of her medications.

My older sister has been here taking shifts at Marielle’s bedside. It is simply exhausting as she needs us 24 hours a day.

Today she was able to sit in a chair twice! I’m so proud of her. We’re hoping it gets easier as the days go by.

Thanks to everyone for their continued support and prayers.

Wishing everyone a blessed New Year!

With friendship,
Lisa

Comments

  1. Mary Ann and Eddie Garrison says:

    Lisa,

    We did not know of any of this with Marielle. Marielle and all your family will be in our prayers! We know things will go well for Marielle and please keep us on your update list. We would love to send a card if you have time to give us the address.

    This has to be a really hard time but it is going to turn out to be a very Blessed time for all of you at this wonderful Holiday season.

    We look forward to updates!!!!

    Oh, you probably do not know but after Eddie’s prostate cancer 11 years ago, eleven months later he lost a kidney to cancer and then 11 more months later he had a stroke and he is stil going so there is always hope but we all need prayers and hope. I am like you – I do not give up and I always think things will be good but it is a very hard road for all.

    We will think of you several times a day.

    Mary Ann and Eddie Garrison

  2. Lisa, my DIL’s son died at 10, and they donated his organs. She tells me all the time that she comforts herself in times of pain by remembering that her son saved so many lives.
    I will continue to pray for Marielle and the donor’s family as well. So good to hear of her doing this well. It will get better I am sure – the worst has to be over now!!

  3. Lisa,
    That’s such fabulous news! You don’t actually know me, but I’ve been following Marielle’s progress for months via Fashion Incubator. :-) I have a sixteen yr. old daughter as well, so your journey has been near and dear to my heart. I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled I am for you. What a wonderful start to the New Year!

    Marilyn Brandon

  4. M-A-R-I-E-L-L-E!
    M-A-R-I-E-L-L-E!

    What does that spell!
    What does that spell!

    MARIELLE!!!!!! MARIELLE!!!!!

    GOOOOOOO! MARIELLE!!!!!

    YAY!!!!!!!

  5. Praise the Lord!!

  6. YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great new!!!!

  7. Great news! Hope all continues to go well for her. Get some rest….she needs you to be strong for her.

  8. Congrats to marielle on sitting today! She is an amazing young lady who inspires me daily! I continue to think about your family and hope you are all doing well. Get some rest and know we are all here for you! XOXO

  9. I am so glad to hear that Marielle’s kidney is functioning well. But sorry that the medication is making her ill. I am rooting for her and hope she makes a very fast recovery. How amazing that she was able to sit twice today. Wow, she is a fighter.

  10. Still praying for Marielle and for you as well Lisa. You are such a fantastic mother. She sat in a chair twice today—let’s hope for 3 times tomorrow. Baby steps toward an amazing recovery…God Bless!

  11. What an ordeal this must be for your family! But thank God she got that kidney! And it sounds like you have some wonderful support from your sister. Your family will be in my prayers.

  12. Dear Lisa,
    I have been reading about you and your daughter for a few months but I didn’t comment yet. As I am Polish and my English is not perfect, it is usually difficult to start writing. In the beginning your blog was just interesting for me as I plan to start children clothing business in Poland. Now I am not only impressed by your knowledge about this subject but I am really involved and touched by your family problems, as I am a mother of two myself. I am always waiting impatiently for news from you about your daughter and reading it to all my family! I’m so happy for you and thank you for good news! All the best in 2009 from friends from Poland!
    Monika

  13. My prayers are with you guys. Happy New Year and prayers for a healthier New Year.

  14. i’m sending all the best wishes for your dd and your whole family!

  15. Glad to hear that the kidney is liking it’s new home. I hope that she is okay with her new meds soon!
    What a great way to start out the new year! Happy 2009 to you!

  16. Whooo Hoooooo!!! So glad to hear her kidney function is perfect! Will still be praying and sending good vibes that she fully recovers quickly, and that you get some much needed rest!

  17. YEAH!!!

    Way to go to our Sunshine girl!!! Get her that lobster tail as soon as she is able~ (I know you will! LOL)

    So glad you finally can take a breath~ and every small sit in a chair is worthy of a celebration~ hang in there~ call me if you need me. ;-)
    Jess

  18. I am new to respond but an avid encourager to all you do, and especially for your daughters recovery. God bless you all and may you have comfort in knowing so many of us love and care for you! Deep, deep prayers for you and all who are helping you and that precious girl of yours.

  19. praying in Texas – hugs and much love to you and Marielle.

  20. I am very relieved and joyful for you and Marielle….I can barely imagine how difficult it must be to maintain strength through this process. I hope that you both begin to heal minute by minute. I’m sure that once the medications are balanced, the moments of wellness will begin to overtake the difficult moments. I am praying for you.

  21. Hi I am new to your blog …and would just like to tell you my daughter Natalie at that time (27years old) had a kidney transplant and now 7years later doing well …it was the hardest time I think we all went through…and as a mum so sad …but its a gift from god ….I am so happy for you
    Jeni

  22. Lisa, I’ve been praying for your sweet sunshine since I found out about her needing a kidney…

    I know what you are going through, my middle DD will eventually need a heart transplant, for now, she is pretty well, praise the Lord!

    Keep believing and never stop praying… when your sweetie is healed, keep giving thanks! God is good and he does answer prayers…

    God bless you and your family through this tough time!

  23. i just found your blog and read your wonderful news. my brother was also blessed this year with a kidney and pancreas transplant as a result of his diabetes. the gift of life is sooo precious. congratulations and blessings

  24. I’m so happy for you. Just beyond happy. Words cannot describe what I know you have been through and what you must be feeling now. Happy New Year!

  25. i haven’t been able to read your blog for a few weeks. I am so happy with the past several posts. Your daughter is always in my thoughts and prayers.

  26. I am so happy for you and your family, when i read your blogs i was so upset for you i had to stop reading. thank god good luck this is wonderful. god bless and keep up your strength.

  27. omnidudemeandthebean says:

    Thank God! I am happy that your daughter received a kidney. I will continue to think positive thoughts for you and for your family. Happy New Year!

  28. Lisa, You, Marielle and your family are always in my thoughts. I hope each day brings her more and more sunshine. :)

  29. Hi Lisa. I am a friend of Delia’s and I have been following Marielle’s journey since I first heard about it from Delia. I am so happy to hear of her receiving a new kidney and the progress she has made so far. I have been praying for her (and the donor family).

    You are such a strong woman. Many Hugs to You!

    April – in Seattle

  30. Oh Lisa,

    We’re praying here!

    Chautona

  31. Lisa!!!!!!!!!!
    I am just catching up… Screaming my head off!!!! Thank God they found a kidney. I am so happy for you right now. Congrats!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,084 other followers

