Sew Hoping for a Miracle

PLEASE SEE MOST RECENT UPDATE:

>>>>>>>>CLICK HERE<<<<<<<<<<

ambulence

On Thursday night, we had to call an ambulance to get Marielle to the local emergency room as her condition was deteriorating quickly.

dialysis1

Marielle’s kidney blood numbers were climbing fast.  Her creatinine was 10 (normal creatinine is 0.5 to 1.1), and her BUN  was 119 (normal BUN is 8-20).  Surgeons where called to place a tunneled catheter in her chest and start emergency dialysis.

dialysis2

After her 2nd dialysis treatment on Saturday, she got some color back in her face.  She passed the time by reading a book on my Kindle book reader.

dialysis3

However, she was just too weak to finish more than a chapter of George Orwell’s 1984.  She easily fell asleep for the rest of her dialysis treatment.

dialysis4

Although we were able to get her kidney numbers down a bit, her blood pressure (178/107) continues to be a major problem.  This morning her blood pressure is even higher and they’ve started rescue blood pressure medicine to try to lower it.

Marielle will be hospitalized here in Staten Island until Monday night and then have her kidney transplant evaluation at NY Presbyterian-Columbia University on Tuesday morning if we can stabilize her.  She will get to come home between Monday night and Tuesday morning.  Not sure what will happen after that.  If we can stabilize her, she’s be able to get outpatient dialysis until we can find her a kidney donor.

If you are interested in being tested to see if you are a possible match for a living kidney donor, you can find more information on my previous blog post.  I can’t tell you how grateful I am for all the outpouring of support and prayers.  I wish I could reply to each and every email, but my time on the computer is very limited.  Please know I read each post and email and am touched by all the love from friends and strangers.

I will update everyone as soon as I can.

lisa

Comments

  1. OMG! I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes. I’m Canadian – is there anything I can do? I’m praying for you and your family, but somehow that doesn’t seem like enough.

  2. Oh, Lisa! I feel so helpless and wish there were more I could do.

  3. Lisa, my prayers continue to be with you, your family and your beautiful Sunshine Girl.

    {{{HUGS}}}

    Jacqueline

  4. Lisa, I am so sorry! Like the other posters, I just feel helpless and wish that I could do more to help as well.

    I am glad that you are keeping us posted and we’ll all continue to pray that Marielle gets a kidney.

    Hugs to you, Marielle, and your entire family.

  5. I know this is a rough journey for you right now, but know that God is with you and Marielle, and your entire family. My thoughts and prayers are with you this morning!

  6. Lisa, I continue to keep Marielle in my prayers hoping they will find a donor soon. I’m so sorry for her and your whole family to have to go thru this.

  7. You are in my prayers and thoughts today. I have not read your blog in ages (well anyone’s for that matter) and something made click on it today – I did not know why. Please take care.

  8. Every time I check in I hope to read some better news about your brave girl. I hope the new hospital move goes well and that a kidney donor can be found for her very soon. Thinking of you and sending positive thoughts and wishes from across the sea in the UK. Bx

  9. Lisa, I know how scared you must be. I just wish there was something I could do to help. You are a brave woman. I would have probably fallen apart by now.

    My prayers are with you and your family.

    Love you my dear friend, Lynn

  10. Lisa, I ran across your blog last night looking for some great gift ideas (which I found, thanks) I posted your sight and your ideas on my blog and one reader emailed me and asked if I had looked further into your blog. I didn’t but soon did and posted your story on my blog. My prayers are with you and your family. Stay strong and have faith.

    Love,
    Julie

  11. Lisa, I ran across your blog last night trying to get ideas for christmas. I posted my fabulous finds (of yours) on my blog and a reader emailed me and asked if I had looked further into your blog. I hadn’t but did. I posted your story on my blog and hopefully if the word gets out, your prayers will \be answered. In the meantime, my prayers are with your daughter and your family. Stay strong and have faith.

  12. Lisa, I am thinking of you and your Sunshine girls just about every second of every day! I hope you get good news quickly. All my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Sending lots of positive thoughts your way!! (((HUGS))) to you!!

    Love,
    Trudi

  13. Still praying. My DH got an email back from Joann Kelly and said the coordinator would be contacting him within a few days. I am hoping that means he will be tested soon. I hope Marielle is stable soon and able to go home. HUGS

    Love
    Brenda

  14. You may have already listed this somewhere on your blog but I was wondering if you need to have a specific blood type?
    My heart breaks for you. You’re in my prayers.

  15. I’ve printed out the form and faxed it to Joann.
    Keeping you and Marielle in my prayers.

  16. Oh no!!! Lisa, I’m weeping. I missed this post the other day, I’m so sorry. I’m calling you today. Love you tons and tons sweetie.

  17. Lisa, I just read about this on the FI forum. I will be praying for you and your beautiful daughter.

  18. Lisa,

    My heart is pleading with God to help your precious daughter. I pray everyday for her. I wish I could apply to be a donor but i have a heart condition that own’t allow me too. All I can do is pray!

  19. I just turned iin my donor application today! I’m praying hard for your sweet Marielle!

  20. Constant prayer…I have Faith that a donor will be found soon…

    LOVE and ((HUGS)) to you and that beautiful little girl of yours,

    Clara

  21. I’m praying, Lisa!!!

  22. Lisa~As a mother, I absolutely cannot imagine what you are going through, and I am sobbing uncontrollably as I type. I am thinking about you my diva girlfriend, and miss Marielle. I know that I am not a donor canidate due to the seizures, but trust me if I could I would in a NEW YORK MINUTE!!!!!!!!! I am thinking about you and have added the Pint Size Diva to our prayer list at church and you are always in my thoughts!! Big hugs to you both~
    Cammie

  23. Lisa – I just want you to know that our family will be praying for your daughter and for a donor to be found. As a mother, I can only imagine the agony and – where are the words? – emotion that you’re going through. Please keep us posted. If I weren’t pregnant in Texas, I’d be seriously considering getting tested. You are such a strong, talented woman and I know that that must also give Marielle the strength she’s had through all of this.

    Love and Hugs,
    Dana :)

  24. My heart goes out to you and your family. I will keep your precious daugher in my prayers as well as your family. I wish that I could be a donor but my living in GA is a problem. I can help though by keeping my prayers lifted up for you. May God place his healing hand upon your child and bless your family beyond measure.

  25. Anthony and I returned our blood kits today. When will we know if we are candiates?

    You, Marielle, Ron and Joey are in our thoughts and prayers daily.

    Miss you, Kelli

  26. That little Sunshine girl has been through so much. I hope a donor will be found soon. My prayers are with you and your family. I don’t know how you do all that you do Lisa. You are a very strong woman and to be admired.

  27. I wish I could donate, but the MS rules that out. Thinking of you in MN and hoping you get your miracle soon.

  28. Still praying and hoping for a miracle! Sweet girl….

  29. Praying for God’s love and his will to see all of you thru this trying and worrisome time. I have a saying that I live my life by. It is “There will be years that ask and there will be years that answer. In the end, God never wastes pain!”

    Hang in there and be strong. Stay tough, stay faithful, stay fierce. Your daughter will ride your wave. Just know that there is a family praying incessantly for each of you here in Indiana. May God bless you and fill you with peace in your days ahead.

    Big hugs. In his grip,
    Angie Seaman
    http://www.angelicagracedesigns.com/blog/
    http://www.angelicagracedesigns.com

  30. I just wanted you to know that i sent in my living donor application to this email address: kellyja@nyp.org That way you know and can follow up if you need to. I am so sorry your family is going through this and i hope they find a match soon!

  31. I ask Our Lady, St. Joseph, St. Jude, St. Anthony, St. Michael, St. Raphael, her Guardian Angel and yours to ask without stoping to our good Lord for mercy and to help your daughter.

  32. Thinking about you.

  33. I hope Marielle is now home and stabilized in her care. My prayers are with you and your family for strength and peace. i’ll also be praying for the donor.

    Big hugs to your entire family.

  34. I am adding my prayers for your daughter’s improved health.

  35. Hi Lisa! I am new here at your blog site, but nevertheless feel awful about what you and your family must be going through. I will gladly be tested as a donor if you think I can. I live in Georgia, but if you think thats not a problem (I would not think twice about traveling to save a childs life), than I will be happy to help any way that I can. I am a mother of two girls ( and a very young grandmother, I might add) and I can’t even imagine ANY mother having to go through something like this. Marielle is beautiful and seems very strong and will fight for what ever it takes to make her better. Don’t you worry, God is watching down on her and we all have her in our prayers! Please let me know ( I realize I am a complete stranger, but we are mothers together) how I can help! With love, Erin

  36. Years ago, I donated my right kidney to a stranger. I was the first in Arizona to do so and one of the first in the U.S. Since then, it has happened more and more. If I still had a spare, I would do whatever I could to give it to Marielle.

    I’m not a saint. I’m just a former drunk who was herself given a second chance at life. I saw there was a need and did something.

    Keep asking. Trust the process. Miracles do happen.

    Love,
    Dharma Kelleher
    http://www.dharmakelleher.com

  37. Lisa,

    3 years ago I donated a kidney to my cousin, so this post hit home with me. You can’t put a price on life, and I know that the road you are on is a rough one. Your family is in my thoughts and I wish you all well during this hard time.

    Living kidney donation dramatically increases survival rate. The waiting list for organ transplant can be very long – years. The quality of life when in need of an organ transplant just isn’t the same. Think of the things you take for granted everyday in your life – even maintaining a full time job is a luxury.

    Anyone and everyone should reach out and get tested to donate.

    -Bob

  38. For anyone scared of donating, the removal of a kidney is now made through laparoscopic surgery. Pain and recovery time is greatly reduced.

    I live a very healthy life with one kidney. My quality of life is actually better now because I have a great appreciation for living.

    Best wishes in your search for a living donor. I have a great feeling your search will end soon. :)

  39. my thoughts and prayers are with marielle

  40. I am so sorry your daughter is having to go through this. I am 27 and in a similar situation. I have been on dialysis now for seven months and they are just now starting the testing to find me a transplant. I hope they find a donor soon so she won’t have to stay on dialysis long. (Let her sleep through it. It is so boring otherwise.)

  41. Get well soon, Marielle.

    Best wishes from Goa, India

  42. You must be a phenomenal individual because I could never write something like this so calmly and beautifully.

    I will definitely spread the word.

    Thoughts and prayers are with you.

  43. *warm hugs*

    I wish you good luck in your search, my younger brother needed a transplant when he was 17, thankfully my dad and I were perfect matches and he’s been healthy for 10+ years.

    You and your family will be in my thoughts.

  44. My prayers and best wishes to you and your daughter.

    I can’t imagine what your family is going through but please know I am thinking of you and keeping my fingers crossed that a perfect match is found quickly and your daughter stays strong and healthy enough to have the transplant as quickly as possible.

    Hugs.

  45. My prayers go out to you and your family. I wanted to give my dad a kidney but i’m borderline diabetic and have had kidney stones in the past so they won’t take it!

    I hope someone out there is a match!

  46. My prayers and those of my family & friends are with Marielle, you and your family.
    I truly sympathize.
    May you have the strength required for this journey.
    Hug Marielle with your arms & your thoughts. Think positive. Accept hugs from others. Cry when you need. Exult the outcome.

  47. I’m filling out the donation quesionnaire form today and I just tweeted it to others. I wish there was more I could do. Sending my thoughts to your little girl.

  48. Deep love, prayer and concerns for your daughter and your entire family. Have tweeted and will continue to do so. May God provide

  49. What a beautiful daughter you have…I have two girls myself and I cannot imagine the heartache you must feel. I will pray and pray for your sweet girl.

    Blessings,
    Melissa

  50. Hi Lisa,
    I’m one of your twitter followers (@SellingOmaha) and found this post via Twitter. I donated my left kidney to my cousin 12/17/7 so I don’t have a kidney to donate but if any of your potential donors have questions about the process, I would be more than happy to talk with them about it and answer any questions they or their families may have.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Connie

  51. I came across your blog via my friend. She had emailed it to me. I can almost feel your pain. See, my son has one kidney that has failed and the other if failing. He is CKD III. He is 4 1/2 years old. He is my youngest of 3 boys. It is so hard to watch his numbers and lab results. I keep spreadsheets on him of everything. At the rate he is going, he may be on dialysis this time next year (last year this time, he was CKD II). He has been through several surgeries, so I can feel your pain to see your beautiful baby laying in a hospital bed, wondering, thinking…Even more sad is that I cannot give my son my kidney. I cannot even donate blood. I have a blood disorder where my red blood cells are about half normal size. My thoughts and prayers are with you, your beautiful daughter and your family. I can only imagine how difficult it is.

  52. Lisa, I just saw this through Twitter. No child should ever have to suffer physical afflictions like this and no parent should ever have to suffer the emotional and spiritual afflictions that this causes. But these things happen and we don’t know why. We just know the Lord will be with us and comfort us, if we allow Him to do so. I will be praying for your beautiful daughter, for a donor, and for full recovery. Blessings of peace to all of you…Lynn

  53. Hi. We are praying for you and your daughter. I have retweeted your information, however some are frustrated that your twitter account is locked and they can’t get to you. It would be easier to get people involved if you’d open that up and let everyone see and support. =) My heart goes out to you and your family. Prayers for a fast find of a new kidney.

  54. Just saw this on twitter. Our prayers are with your daughter. We will keep retweeting it, posting links on our blogs, and make announcement on our shows.

  55. Lisa, I just saw through the tweet stream about Marielle. My heart just aches for the both of you. Praying for Marielle and your family. Praising God for the testimony Marielle will be able to share as she receives her transplant and her health is restored. Praying for peace and strength in the journey. Noelle @TakeRoot

  56. Just saw this thanks to Blockhead Rod…..my heart goes out to you and all I can offer you is my hearfelt prayers to you and your family from across the Atlantic.

  57. Due to my own medical Issues I cannot be a donor, but your and your family are in my prayers.

  58. I wish I could donate since I’m in the area, but unfortunately being a type 1 diabetic puts my own kidneys at serious risk and I need all the kidney I can get. I’m praying for you. Hope you find a match soon.

  59. What’s the twitter address? I’d like to follow updates…

  60. I am so sorry to hear this; your family will be in my prayers.

  61. keeping you and your family in my thoughts & prayers

  62. You and your daughter are in my prayers. Sadly due to certain conditions I can not donate medically, but I would love to donate some cash if that would help with the medical bills, etc.

    Please email me and let me know if this is an option. There are a few of us willing right now. I know it’s a tough time and I don’t expect a response anytime soon. I’ve also attached my cell # in the email field if you’d rather call regarding this (remove the @vtext.com)

    Keep your head up.

  63. First off I would like to say you and your family are in my prays. I would also like to see if I could help your daughter, I tried to get the link to work and it wouldn’t let me. Please contact me with a way to see if I could help. I can do much eles but pray. I don’t know if she and I would match but I’m willing to give it a shot! Have a great weekend.
    Jess

  64. Just found your blog. So sorry to hear about Marielle. I’m 27 years old and had my kidney transplant nearly 5 years ago. I had a living donor and am doing great today.

    I hope your transplant center continues to test anyone who is interested/willing (I think it’s ridiculous the one you were at wouldn’t!) I will continue to pray for your daughter’s health and for a donor to come forward.

  65. Just sent in my donor information. I am a O- blood type which is compatible with all blood types and would be compatible with your daughter’s blood regardless of her type. Hopefully I will hear back and be able to submit the blood tests ASAP.

  66. read about this on twitter and have been retweeting often. i will do my best to help within my network.

  67. Lisa, I heard about your plea for a kidney donor for Marielle on Twitter from @sugarrae. As a parent, it brings tears to my eyes and an ache to my heart. The Twitter community is re-tweeting like crazy. I sent email pitches to the three NY network TV affiliates and the NPR affiliate. The more people who hear Marielle’s story, the greater the likelihood of finding a donor. So, this is just a note to let you know that hundreds of people are communicating your request throughout Twitterville today. @MaryFlaherty

  68. Just wanted to let you know that I am praying for your daughter and that a match will be found soon!

  69. Lisa,

    Why did your daughters Kidneys fail? Is it a Heredity? Or is it Because of her High Bp? I Am Just curious, Because I worked in Dialysis in an Outpatient Clinic for 9 1/2 years as a Patient care Technician.. 94-2003. If you have any questions i would be happy to answer! The main things to watch on dialysis are Diet, Diet, DIET! you have a fluid restriction( 1 ltr) Including water and things that are fluid at room temp. Like Ice cream, popcicles, soup, etc! if she follows her diet and doesnt gain too much fluid in between tx’s she should be able to lead a mostly normal life until she gets her Kidney :) also, Have her stay away from High potassium foods, No orange juice most fresh foods, gatorade.. because if her potassium level gets too high . it will not be good. Take care and you can follow me on twitter:) Scrubbybubbles.

  70. I am currently on dialysis and have been for several years. It is intimidating, but not too scary.
    A portable dvd player, big bag with blanket and pillow, and snacks all help.
    I do dialysis at home now, by myself.
    You guys are in my thoughts.

  71. Lisa, praying for you and your sunshine girl! Got the word on Twitter and will do my part to spread the message in an effort to find a donor. Know that there are strangers far and wide who care and are trying to help.

    Karen

  72. I am praying for you and your family, Lisa, and spreading the word in hopes it gets out to someone, somewhere, who is able to help.

  73. Tracy Lynn,

    Are you on PD? or Hemo? sounds like PD. I allways said that if i needed to be on dialysis, I would strongly favor PD. You have ALOT more freedom on that then Hemo. ( for anyone that doesn’t know PD stands for Peritoneal Dialysis)

  74. I’m sending off my form right now. I live in Portland, OR and just heard about you on Twitter.

  75. Lisa, my heart and prayers are with you and Marielle. May the Divine bring a miracle to your door, and your daughter receive the transplant she needs very soon.

    Love and blessings,

    Hiro Boga

  76. Lisa,
    My prayers are also with you and your sweet daughter. I can understand where you’re coming from re: philly, and much of the rest of your story. I’m also a renal pt. I was born with NPS, and only one functioning kidney–that in the past 5 yrs or so, is deciding it’s tired. I don’t blame it. :) I had to stop working 4 yrs ago due to both the renal and severe orthopedic probs. Unfortunately, no insurance co. would cover me and I had no choice but to go on disability and medicaid. Because of this, and the horrible nightmare with the malpractice crisis here in PA, I have to travel for 2 hrs to Philly to see my ortho and a nephro. MC will only pay for one trip/YEAR!! My situation is getting worse..a nephro in Scranton WAS seeing me, but now that I’m having more probs, he’s basically told me he can’t treat me anymore unless I’m on “real” insurance..or self-pay. Barely surviving on $664/mo right now, THAT is out of the question. I’m TRYING to talk my family into helping me move–as my docs say thats my only chance at decent medical care. I’ve been in a renal crisis twice in the past 6 months, the last time I barely made the transfer to Philly,..mainly because of red tape.
    Anyways, I wish you and your daughter all the best, and Thank GOD it seems you’ve found some real professionals in New York!! God Bless!!
    elaine

  77. Faxed over my donor questionnaire this afternoon. Hope you find a match very soon.

  78. My thoughts and prayers for a match and full recovery are with you and your daughter. I’ll be linking to your site and putting out the word as much as possible. Keep the faith!

  79. I’m sending lots of good vibes for a holiday miracle your way! I also sent it out to my 100+ followers on Twitter who in turn sent the message out to their followers – for what it’s worth!

    I don’t know you but I don’t have to. Keep up the good fight girl and know that there are people out there who are pulling for you :)

  80. I am praying for you right now. As I call him again and again and he will come with a Kidney gift this Christmas. I pray for a swift recovery from your transplant operation because my prayers are heard.

  81. Wishing you and your family strength & courage during this difficult time. I’m praying for you…& hoping God sends an angel your way, that will be a perfect match for your beautiful daughter. God bless you…

    Collette,
    San Diego, California

  82. I’m so sorry that you & yr family are going through this. I too, feel helpless & do not know what else to say. I will pray for you. -xue

  83. Sending BIG HUGS to
    (((((LISA))))) and ((((MARIELLE))))

    Hope your Sunshine Girls is feeling bettter… How is the dialysis going for her? You’re in our Thoughts and Prayers as always… :)

    *HUGS*,
    Heather =)

  84. momtastic stitcher says:

    Put the word out here in New Mexico, USA to our homeschooling community. Wish I could donate but poor candidate due to my own kidney issues when I was a child even if I was a match. Even though we are strangers I will send positive vibes that a match can be found.

  85. Sending prayers and hugs….

  86. hello. i am a mom who came across your blog through some of my contacts on twitter. i’ve reposted through all of my social networks and f&f. it’s what i can do and i hope it helps. sending prayers and thoughts to you, your daughter and family. peace…

  87. Lisa,
    found your website while designing a sewing room, I have been praying for you and your precious daughter. I am medically not able to donate, I am praying you will find a donor soon.Thank you for your posts, you all have been on my heart.

  88. My prayers are with you, your daughter and your family. My mother was on dialysis and watching someone you love with all your heart go through this is sheer torture. I’ll help spread the word in the hope it helps.

  89. Lisa, it is hard to know what to say…
    You and Marielle and your whole family are in my prayers. I hope you will have good news soon. Many blessings to you… stay strong.

  90. Lisa, your daugter is so lovely. She must be a brave lil spirit. I know your heart is breaking. My father was on dialysis for (3) years (3) times a week. It took alot out of him. I will see how I can be testd in my area if that is at all possible. (California) Have some friends in the NYC area and will forward the informatioto them also.

    My heart, prayers and positive thoughts are with you and your precious daughter.

    God Bless You!

  91. thoughts with you and your family.

  92. dear Marielle,…we’ve no words for this…just h♥ping for a miracle.

    Here in Holland this ♡ly boy Ingmar http://www.niernieuws.nl/?id=47&loc=&cat=11 got a kidney from his grandm✿ther.

    “Klokhuis” is a very famous & favorite Kids’ tv show in Holland & this program about ‘Ingmar’, got also a nomination by Cinekid Festival

    Marielle…we {hug} you & for your entire family thoughts & ☮

  93. I was tested and am not eligible for donation :(

    You’re in my thoughts and prayers, both of you. I really wish I could help – I know that statement gets over used and becomes cliche, but I really do mean it. A match will be found soon, have faith.

  94. I’m so sorry to hear of your daughter’s struggles at this time. I pray for peace and solutions and a healthy 2009 for her! ((HUGS))

  95. Lisa,

    My thoughts, heart and prayers go out to your daughter and your family. I originally found this posted on Twitter by @jessicaknows and I will be reposting links this entry on Twitter with hope that someone will read it and be able to help your daughter. I wish all the best for you!

    In hope,
    Lauren Murley
    @laurenmurley

  96. still praying! hugs to you and your daughter.

  97. Prayers for your daughter and your whole family. I pray you find a donor SOON!

  98. Can you please contact me at onlineauthor at gmail.com I’d like to pass your story along to a local newspaper who can cover your story, she’s one of our mommy bloggers.

    I’m good with viral.

    xoxo
    Jessica

  99. Your daughter is beautiful. As the mom of two girls myself, and someone who has passed a kidney stone so is sensitive to kidney issues and pain – my heart just goes out to you.
    I have retweeted an alert for a kidney donor for your daughter and will continue to check in. Please do let us know how she is doing.
    I am praying for her.

    Dionna

  100. Sending positive thoughts to your daughter. I’m out of the kidney donation pool due to hypertension issues, but I hope a perfect match is found soon.

  101. I’m so sorry to hear about this. Sending positive thoughts and praying for your daughter and your family. I pray that she will find a perfect match pretty soon.

    God bless

  102. I’m a NJ mom blogger and want you to know that I forwarded your plea to everyone on my list. I want you to know that my prayers and thoughts are with you–I believe it is possible to find a donor. I really care and I’m sure others do too! ….

  103. All my thoughts and prayers are with you. You have some amazing women reading your blog I am sure something will come thru. I will post about your daughter on my blog also.

  104. I got a email back from the lady that took the donor information and she said that she would have someone contact me about having a blood test done. Maybe it won’t take along time to do.

  105. I don’t want to seem critical, but I’ve read some of what you’ve posted about your daughter, and I think you may be jumping the gun a little bit. I’ve been on dialysis myself for about 4 and a half years, and it’s not my first time on dialysis. I’ve had 2 kidney transplants. Unfortunately, neither of them kept more than a few years.

    From what I can tell, your daughter has only been on dialysis a few months. That’s not really a huge amount of time. From what it sounds to me, she isn’t responding well to hemo dialysis. I think you should ask her nephrologist to think about peritoneal dialysis. It’s easier on the body and can be done in the home on your own schedule. I started dialysis the first time when I was 12 years old, and have always been on peritoneal dialysis. If it wasn’t for peritoneal dialysis, I wouldn’t have been able to go to school with my friends, or even live at home.

    From what I’ve read, it seems that your daughter is the same as I was, young and relatively healthy if not for the kidney disease. Someone like that would most likely be transplanted within 2 years, because the chances of rejection are not as high.

    I will say that I don’t like looking for donors online. I live in Canada, and that’s pretty much illegal here. If I were to find a donor that way, the hospital wouldn’t perform the operation, because there’s no way to prove that payment wasn’t made for the kidney, and well, purchasing organs is illegal in both our countries.

    It’s my opinion that you should get as many of your friends and family to be tested that want to, and talk to the nephrologist about peritoneal dialysis. Even if she doesn’t get a match right away, at least it could make life a bit more bearable for her.

    Oh, and remember, a transplant is still a treatment, it’s not a cure.

  106. Natasha Guillory says:

    Riki,

    Please know that everyone’s situation is different. What may seem “not as urgent to you” can mean something completely different to someone else. I admire you wanting to share your story, but please note that everyone on this blog are sharing what we call Hope and Faith. To say that someone is “jumping the gun” is down right disrespectful. Fortunatley we live in America were we can make that choice to have strangers help one out in a time of need. Also, as a Christian women, I believe in God! and how I was raised and taught is that God will decide your fate, not a doctor or a machine. For you unfortunately, a transplant was not a cure, but for Marielle it may be!

  107. FYI….Her daughter had a liver transplant as an infant. She doesn’t have the same likelihood of finding a living donor due to severely decreased compatibility due to her own antibodies and the donated liver. She has not been a well child for quite some time, not just the past few months.

    As Natasha stated we are graced by living in the USA and can search and yell from any mountaintop we choose. As far as the payment goes– I’m quite certain the payment will be supreme feelings of triumph for helping someone’s child. I’m sure many of us do consider ourselves friends of Lisa even if we have never met her face to face.

    I applaud Lisa for not sitting in a chair and curling up in the fetal position as many would do. (maybe myself-frozen from the angst) We cannot criticize someone taking action for someone they love, especially a child.

    God Bless your family, Lisa!

  108. Hi,
    My mom went into renal failure at 38 due to type I diabetes. Her Brother gave her a kidney and she has lived to see two grandchildren arrive in the world. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.
    Best,
    M

  109. honey, i hope things work out for you!! get on EVERY transplant list yourself, don’t wait for your doctors or social worker. i know what you mean about being tired all the time!!i had my transplant 6-7-07 age 31. drink only the amounts of water(no soda, lots of salt) they say, CUT back on your salt intake, and don’t eat any foods that are white!! i found that worked best for my blood pressure!! i had my transplant as presbyterian too, Dr.Mark Hardy (head surgeon) Dr. J. Dube (nephroligist) are the best!!
    the daily news did a story on me and my brother( donor) and PKD (form of kidney failure) if you have any questions or concerns or just want to vent about what your going thru, just email me, I’ll help out the best i can. best of luck to you hon

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Special Needs Sunday is about saving a life.  The Domestic Diva’s daughter, Marielle, is in desperate need of a kidney transplant.  Because she had a liver transplant when [...]

  2. [...] Here is a link to her story and the how to get tested for donation information. If nothing else, please go over and offer this lovely girl your prayers and best wishes. [...]

  3. [...] condition continued to deteriorate but we later learned from Lisa that a donor match was found and an update earlier this week reports [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

